We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, just the best B&B ever.”
Review of The Granary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talgarth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Granary
Ranked #2 of 7 Talgarth B&B and Inns
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous, just the best B&B ever.”
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

What a find!!! The Granary is just gorgeous, we didn't want to come home, what a beautiful location. Joyce and Ray were the most perfect hosts, and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were beautiful, spotlessly clean, and brilliant showers. And I can't finish this review without mentioning the stunning breakfast, awesome!!!! We would definitely go back.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
40
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calne, Wiltshire, U.K.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Granary is a wonderful building, kept to the highest standards and offers those 'little touches' that make your overall experience extra special. Joyce and Ray are charming hosts and make you very welcome. The double room we stayed in was lovely and had a huge en-suite with a large shower and a roll top bath. The bed and bedding was comfortable and the room warm, private and quiet. Breakfast included fresh homemade bread and a choice of food sourced locally, all freshly cooked. The Granary is simply the best accommodation we have stayed at in the UK - 5* from us! Conveniently located for local interests. We will be back......

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I cannot recommend Joyce and Ray's place too highly. From the moment I arrived the hospitality was outstanding. The room I stayed in for a week was superb. The facilities were excellent and indeed better than many 5* hotels I have stayed in.
The breakfasts were spot on with local produce in abundance including home made bread !
Quite simply if you are looking to stay in the area of Talgarth- Look no further and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The room facing the courtyard was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Absolutely wonderful stay. Breakfast fabulous, rooms superb, shower excellent (none of those silly electric things!) and the hosts are marvellous.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2012

If you want a "Touch of Class", spacious, safe and secure parking within walled grounds and a decanter of sherry waiting for you in your room before your evening meal, then this is the place for you. The meals which can be booked by prior arrangement are to the highest standard and served in a most romantic candle lit setting. Joyce, the lady of the house gave us the warmest of welcomes followed by afternoon tea in a beautifully appointed and comfortable guests' lounge.

For those who appreciate good workmanship the restoration and insulation of the old granery is quite outstanding. In spite of the outside morning temperature being 3 degrees C, we never, ever, felt cold (and I'm a cold creature). Quite amazing really in view of the large and lofty rooms.

This is simply the best accommodation, equal to any five star hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are to the highest standard. The photogragh of the property in "The Little Green Bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for two night for a trip to a family wedding at Llangoed Hall.
Joyce & Ray were wonderful hosts and gave us everything we needed. The room was spacious, even with a travel cot for our little one, and was very comfortable. The bathroom was big with a large double shower.

We would not hesitate to recommend this B&B and may well be back when we re-visit the area

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davethenortherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talgarth
2.9 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
177 reviews
8.0 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
456 reviews
5.0 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Old Radnor Barn B&B
Old Radnor Barn B&B
#1 of 7 in Talgarth
228 reviews
0.9 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#4 of 7 in Talgarth
60 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 7 in Talgarth
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granary

Property: The Granary
Address: Wernfawr, Talgarth LD3 0DY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Talgarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Talgarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Granary 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Granary Talgarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing