We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed for festival”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Radnor Barn B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Talgarth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Welcoming B&B in Talgarth (a bit hard to find on the satnav, you need to aim for the car park on the roundabout) with a varied breakfast menu and clean rooms. A short walk to the village which has a Co-Op, coffee shop and pub. Aboiut 25 mins drive from the Hay festival site. Our only problem was a bit of a saggy bed

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Buttonwoodwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 244 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had a 2 night break here to walk in the Brecon Beacons. It is an ideal location for touring the area. Talgarth itself is a lovely, quiet little town with swallows in the high street and trout in the little river that runs through it. There is everything you need here like a small supermarket and a couple of pubs.
The b and b itself was very high standard with good attention to every detail. The en suite was very high spec. Breakfast was made with good local ingredients. I would heartily recommend this establishment..
We completed a spectacular walk due to the 11 mile circular walk leaflet given to us by Lynn as we had left our map at home.
Thanks for that Lynn.

Room Tip: All rooms quiet and same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilaReigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this B&B over the early May Bank holiday weekend. Both Stephen and Lynn were friendly and welcoming, and made us feel at home. The accommodation was excellent and to a high standard as advertised. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious; everything was made with fresh ingredients and cooked perfectly, served piping hot from the hob!

The B&B is a great base for walking in the Black Mountains and in the surrounding countryside. Amazing views. It's also easy to get to Hay on Wye from Talgarth; we hopped on a bus and spent a nice day there walking along the river and visiting the town. On our last day, we were catching a late afternoon train, and wondered if we could leave our luggage at the B&B during the day. That was not a problem at all; they just said we could hang on to our key till our departure time as our room had not been booked that night.

Thank you for your wonderful welsh hospitality and for being so accommodating! It's probably the best B&B I have stayed in! We shall be back next year for another walking weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenlkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed from the 29/04/14 to the 01/05/14 . . A brilliant warm welcome!! Home from home but so much nicer!! Twin room. All excellent on arrival, very clean, tidy and fresh!! Everything and more!! Ask + hosts will help with anything!! They give their very best & more!! Grate stay!! Will be going back!! Sooner the better ï say!! The pictures don't do it justice as it's amazing!! Had a grate time!! It is SUPERIOR QUALITY!!!!!! B&B awesome!!!!!! Thanks Lynne & Stephen!! :-)

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank NRGittins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Made very welcome on arrival, comfortable bed, excellent modern en-suite, with shower
superb Breakfast.
located in town close to all amenities.
safe secure motorcycle parking.
will definately book again.

Room Tip: Room two has an excellent en-suite. well worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We wanted a quite weekend for some rest and relaxation for my birthday, and we got it here. We had a very friendly welcome and were made to feel very welcome the whole time we were there, to stay in a beautiful property well kept and in a beautiful part of the countryside. We had peace and quiet just what we were after. As for the breakfasts you could not go wrong they were delicious, and we highly recommend the full Welsh breakfast, this will set you up for the day. You are centrally located to many of the larger towns and of course the beautiful Brecon Beacons, where you can cycle or walk. A really enjoyable and relaxing stay would recommend to everyone. Many thanks Steve and Lynne.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the ground floor and was very quiet with a good firm bed, it has a wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRISH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

If you are looking for a reasonably priced and impeccably run B&B I would fully recommend Old Radnor Barn. We stayed in the luxury room which was spacious, comfortable and very clean with a luxurious private bathroom. The owners; Lynne and Steve are very friendly and welcoming and their Full Welsh Breakfast must not be missed. The location worked really well for us as you can access loads of different dog friendly restaurants and outdoor spaces easily by foot, a must to keep our collie happy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWV2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talgarth
8.6 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
538 reviews
4.5 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
658 reviews
7.7 mi away
Alltybrain Farm Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Aberllynfi House
Aberllynfi House
#2 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Gurkha Inn
The New Gurkha Inn
#4 of 7 in Talgarth
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 7 in Talgarth
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Radnor Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Radnor Barn B&B

Address: Station Yard, Talgarth LD3 0PE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Talgarth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Talgarth
Price Range: $106 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Radnor Barn B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Old Radnor Barn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Radnor Barn B&B Talgarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing