We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A place to stay"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Radnor Barn B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Talgarth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham
1 review
“"A place to stay"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I had a gift voucher for a one night stay B & B.. We chose to stay at The Old Radnor Barn and were not disappointed. Steve and Lynne are so welcoming and their property is wonderful. We were just sorry we weren't staying longer. Could not fault anything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    44
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
61
108
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hook
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Myself and my famiy have just returned from our second visit to the Old Radnor Barn in Talgarth. Lynne and Steve are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them, you just have to ask. The rooms are clean and the breakfasts are made from home grown or local produce which are excellent. Talgarth itself is a very quiet village so don't expect much in the way of entertainment but the surrounding scenery is breathtaking and makes a great base for exploring the Brecon Beacons whether on foot or bike

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have just returned home after a three night stay in this B & B. We could not fault the cleanliness and overall excellent standards of this property in the stunning brecon beacons. We could not fault the cooked breakfast and have even left with the secret ingredient for the delicious grilled tomatoes! Thank you Lynne and Steve for providing such a warm welcome too! Julie & Richard, YORK

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Talgarth is a beautiful village at the foot of the Black Mountains in South Wales. The village has several good places to eat, including the recently restored mill which produces all the flour for the bread, cakes and pastries that are sold in their shop and coffee shop. And where better to stay than in the Old Radnor Barn, located near the old railway station. This barn conversion provides very good accomodation at a very reasonable price. The breakfast, chosen from a very flexible menu, is also to be heartily recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We choose the barn for or our Anniversary. As soon as we arrived we were made very welcome by Steve. Our room was on the ground floor which looked out to a pretty garden, the room itself was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was stunning, freshly made and really tasty. Lynne and Steve were very friendly and provided us with maps of local places to visit. It's a great place to take your bikes as there are so many tracks, one day we took our bikes to Talybont Reservoir which was a great. There are a few pubs and restaurants within walking distance of the Barn, so it was great to go out on our anniversary and enjoy a few glasses of wine with our meal. If you are looking for an accommodation that is clean, quite maintained to a good standard set amongst pretty gardens then we recommend you stay at Radnor Barn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Many people say how spacious and comfortable the bedroom are. However you will not find this is you are allocated a small room upstairs. Our room was VERY small and anyone over about 5ft 10 would find they cannot stand upright in the shower. There was no window only a skylight which made the small room very claustrophic. There was no settee and fridge (as advertised) and nowhere comfortable to sit to watch TV. The hosts had booked too many people into the B&B and we had to choose our breakfast menu the night before and be allocated a specific time to eat. They also made an error with the deposit we paid and we waited over a week for a refund. Sadly, when we later wrote to Stephen to voice our disappointment with the accommodation we received in return excuses and inaccuracies which we found very upsetting. How very sad when we had so looked forward to our visit based on the description of the rooms on the website. BEWARE - NOT ALL THE ROOMS ARE AS DESCRIBED ON THE WEBSITE

Room Tip: Before booking find out which room will be allocated to you and that it is as the pictures shown on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulinep426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolavington, Bridgwater
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Steve and Lynne are excellent hosts and provided us with very comfortable accommodation for our two night stay and with local information and directions for the wedding reception we attended. Breakfast was brilliant - all freshly cooked and very tasty. Their property is very well maintained, and whilst our bedroom could have done with a full length mirror, the bed was comfy and a good nights sleep was very welcome after the partying! We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B as excellent value and great service.

Room Tip: Good car parking on site and in the public car park just outside. Lovely gardens and very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave and San L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talgarth
2.8 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.4 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
7.5 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#5 of 44 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 7 in Talgarth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Radnor Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Radnor Barn B&B

Property: Old Radnor Barn B&B
Address: Station Yard, Talgarth LD3 0PE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Talgarth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Talgarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Radnor Barn B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Old Radnor Barn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Radnor Barn B&B Talgarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing