We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed a lovely short break and would like to come back for longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Radnor Barn B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Talgarth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We enjoyed a lovely short break and would like to come back for longer”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The room was very comfortable, the breakfast was well cooked and there was a good choice. We appreciated the availability of a packed lunch on the Sunday and the friendly atmosphere. The B+B is ideally placed for both the Brecon Beacons and the Black Mountains. There are a number of good pubs in villages nearby and there is plenty of parking outside the house.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasper1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    45
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
62
108
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay yet again. We were well looked after and very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WenCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2011

we stayed for just an hour, and sampled the cream teas on offer, but we were made to feel very welcome. The atmosphere was comfy, homely, relaxing, and the service couldn't be better. We ate our scones outside, and had a really great time watching a spaniel playing with an apple! It was right by the car-park, but inside the garden we found it to be very peaceful. We will be bringing friends and relatives with us, the next time we visit, and blow the waistline!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georginaNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay, hospitality great and an excellent breakfast. Ideal location to be based for exploring the Brecon Beacons and a short drive to Blaenavon with plenty of scenery en-route.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seamus h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The charming owners were a little bit distracted with a family emergency but still provided what was expected in this pleasant B&B. As many others have said, the full Welsh breakfast was super - the bacon was most exquisite! We used the B&B as a base for exploring the Beacons and the surrounding towns and it was certainly more than adequate for that. The onsite parking was good to have but the type of surface was difficult to move my mother's wheelchair about. Very kindly Lynn put the heating on for my mum, and we could have no complaints about the B&B. We got what we expected. A little awkward to find - the postcode didn't show up in my SATNAV!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulSHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. The couple who run Old Radnor Barn are very friendly. The room we stayed in was a ground floor room with use of our own private shower room across the corridor (ours was not en-suite). This was however a minor inconvenience.
The Garden was great with plenty of space to sit outside and enjoy a drink or book in the sun. The garden also provided a very sociable area in which to mingle with the other guests. We had a very pleasant stay and would recommend Old Radnor Barn to anyone. Although we did not take any family, from what we observed it was very family friendly (including dogs!).

Room Tip: Ask for an en-suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stephen and Lynne were very friendly and welcoming. The Old Radnor Barn website reads very well, and so we had quite high expectations for our stay here. The breakfasts certainly lived up to the rave reviews, they were really delicious and a treat to look forward to each morning.

Stephen and Lynne were obliging and helpful. Stephen assisted us in carrying our considerable luggage upstairs (travelling with a baby you almost pack the kitchen sink!) One morning the baby was still sleeping during breakfast time, so Lynne very kindly provided room service breakfast for mum which was thoughtful and greatly appreciated.

As we were travelling with a baby we were allocated the family room upstairs, but would have preferred downstairs for easier access carrying a young child and all that luggage! On the down-side, the en-suite bathroom was shower only, which made it difficult for bathing a young child. A bath would be a good inclusion for a family en-suite. The heating and cooling is controlled centrally rather than guests being able to adjust the temperature in their room to their own comfort level. As such, our room became too warm and stuffy each night which was exacerbated by there being no windows we could open for fresh air (it only had skylights). The bed mattresses could be firmer (one bed was supported underneath with a wooden frame down the centre which appeared to be propping up the sagging mattress!). For a 4.5 star establishment, this was surprising and disappointing. Some large fluffy towels would also be nice. The ones we had were quite small and tired looking.

Having said this, overall Lynne and Stephen's friendly approach and willingness to help outweighed the down-side. They are knowledgable hosts who offer helpful information, provide brochures and suggestions on things to see and do in this beautiful part of the world. The food was great; the location was close to Talgarth town centre and surrounding attractions which was a plus for us; the garden surrounds were beautiful and car parking was provided which was a real bonus, and not something that is always available at B&Bs in the UK.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room for ease of access and windows you can open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talgarth
2.8 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
4.4 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
7.5 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#4 of 43 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 7 in Talgarth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Radnor Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Radnor Barn B&B

Property: Old Radnor Barn B&B
Address: Station Yard, Talgarth LD3 0PE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Talgarth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Talgarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Radnor Barn B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Old Radnor Barn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Radnor Barn B&B Talgarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing