We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Walkers Base Camp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tower Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Talgarth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tower Hotel
Save
You added Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talgarth
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Walkers Base Camp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Booked a couple of nights here a week before taking a trip up to Pen-y-fan with a novice walker mate of mine.

From the initial enquiry call to leaving this morning we couldn't have asked for a better experience. Just needed somewhere simple, clean and friendly (...with a bar!) to stay and really pleased with our choice on the Tower Hotel.

Excellent value for money and they were really accommodating when I needed an early breakfast before hitting the road.

Will be back again & already look forward to it.

Thanks Pip & Jan

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonbergenroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redditch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

The family had a weekend break in Talgarth and pre-booked the Tower Hotel for two nights. Not disappointed. Really enjoyed both Talgarth and the Tower Hotel. Great staff and recently refurbished family room. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We held out post-Christmas party at the Tower Hotel and I can't fault it. The dinner was lovely, the rooms were clean and warm, the bar was lively and the breakfast set us all up for the day! We will definitely be paying another visit to this place :-)

Room Tip: All the rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnyaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

The Tower Hotel is a great hotel as a base for walkers or cyclishs.. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are very clean and spacious, beds were comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was excellent and we really enjoyed our stay. Thank you for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Tower Hotel is located right in the centre of Talgarth in the Breacon Beacons. The bar area has a friendly local town pub type feel. Interestingly, the Tower Hotel has its own brewery actually located behind a small door in the bar area, sadly, I don't drink beer!

The reception at the bar for checking in, was very friendly and helpful.

I stayed in one of the Family Rooms, a large spacious room with Twin beds and 2 bunk beds. The family room had en-suite and the small attention to details makes you realise that the people who run the hotel genuinely care about your time at the hotel.

Breakfast can be requested for anytime and your orders taken the night before.

The experience of staying at the hotel is homely, thoughtful and friendly. The rooms were clean and nicely maintained.

For the money, you will not easily find hospitality better.

Room Tip: Room 2 is spacious and has a nice view of the town centre. But it is above the entrance so there cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamrsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

An interesting building in the centre of Talgarth. The first floor room was large with a double aspect and views over the town and surrounding countryside. Both the bed room and en-suite shower rom were very clean, with beautifully laundered sheets and fluffy white towels. Excellent breakfast, cooked by the owner.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Friendly people and very good standard of accommodation in a spacious room. It is centrally located right in the middle of the village with pubs restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. Breakfast was excellent to set you up for a day of riding.
We woke up to find the square outside had been filled by a Sunday Market.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trek6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talgarth
2.8 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
4.5 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
6.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 3 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
6.9 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel

Property: Tower Hotel
Address: The Square, Talgarth LD3 0BW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Talgarth
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talgarth
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Tower Hotel Talgarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing