We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great local flavor”

El Makito Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Naguabo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Puerto Rican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Especialidad , Langosta rellena a lo Makito, Mofongo relleno de Mariscos ,Chillo relleno de mariscos. La mejor vista , Los mejores marisco.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, great local flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were looking for seafood and El Makito came up with some decent reviews (other than some reports of long wait times). We have been to the eastern side of the island before and found it to be much more private and catering to the locals as well as visitors. Since we had plenty of time for dinner, we went and the experience was good. A couple of members of our party had an issue with fish being served with heads and tails, so the waiter had them chopped off of the red snappers before they arrived at the table, which was very considerate. My wife had the fish with onions and even though the portion size was huge, she nearly ate the entire dish. I had one of their mufongos and up until this point I thought they were supposed to be bland and tasteless so as to accentuate what was served with it, but this one had great flavor all by itself. Things to watch out for are: 1) the beans that are part of the rice and beans are not vegetarian and 2) no free refills on iced tea ($3 each). Check out the pictures we took from our table...like a painting! That plus the friendly locals that were working hard to accommodate us gringos are what put our review to 4 stars.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    65
    18
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

View from the restaurant is outstanding! We sat outside on the balcony looking right over the harbor. Fish (big ones) swimming just below us while we ate and relaxed. Fritters are tasty and inexpensive and a good way to compliment your meal. I had camerones al alijio and it was fantastic! Large, tasty shrimp in a garlic butter served with fries and a salad. $18 bucks but well worth it. Would definitely go back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Come for the view and the food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Our concierge suggested this restaurant so we figured why not give it a try. It was not that far away from where we were staying in Humacao. The restaurant was everything she said it would be and more. The seafood was fresh and the portions were more than generous! The service was outstanding...orders taken promptly and everything served quickly and together! I highly recommend the Lobster Pasta (or anything with the lobster) and if you ask for it you can get it with a "pink" sauce (alfredo and marinara). Magnifico! The price was expensive for PR but not by the United States standards! Do yourself a favor and give it a try!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

This is a hidden treasure. Food is fresh and portions are generous. Good service and nice view. On a warm day you may seat inside but the view from the balcony is beautiful, right on the water. Arepas are are delicious but pastelillos de chapin were not that great. Fish Makito style was exceptionally good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelpr-54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fresh Red Snapper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We enjoyed our meal and the view. I had the snapper and my husband had the conch. I highly recommend EL Makito Restaurant. Coldest beer I have ever had here in PR.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LuqPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Makito Restaurant also viewed

 
Naguabo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Makito Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing