We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Naguabo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2006

If you're looking for a place to relax, unwind, do absolutely nothing, be left alone totally, this is the place for you. My husband and I (without our 2 kids) wanted a vacation where we could immerse ourselves into each other, reconnect, and de-stress since our lives are so busy with the kids and our work. This was just the place.

We arrived late in the evening on Sunday night. The road up the mountain can be treacherous so arrive early. We stayed in room #8 - queen size bed, clean, quaint, and private. In the morning at 9:00 am, we had a family-style breakfast of fresh fruits and french toast, guayaba juice, and coffee with the other guests. The dining area offers a large family table and several smaller ones if you'd rather be alone. We later ventured down the trails to the waterfalls, had a picnic prepared by staff on request, and returned to our room. We then wasted the day, laying together for hours on a hammock on the patio of our room which overlooked a beautiful, breathtaking view of the rainforest below. Other than an anole, a few snails, and a coqui, no one interrupted us. It was complete relaxation. Serenity! We signed up in the morning for dinner which was served at 6:00 pm family-style. Dinner was a chicken dish in a tomato sauce, rice and beans, salad, fried plantains, and desert. The next morning, after a breakfast of fresh fruit, cinnamon oatmeal, toast, and pastries, we checked out. My only regret is that we did not stay longer at Casa Cubuy and take a tour with Robin Philips (other guests took his tour and loved it). We toured El Yunque (north and south sides) by ourselves. Other guests included honeymooners, families with young children, and families with grown kids, and couples getting away from regular life. It was an eclectic group, very enjoyable, and offered interesting conversation. We will be coming back to Casa Cubuy, with the kids, of course. (Our trip was 8 days long - staying at a variety of hotels and resorts. This one was tops for what we wanted out of our trip.)

FYI...This is not a resort, hotel, or motel. It is more of a bed & breakfast. Rooms are not serviced daily, only upon request for a fee. Dirty towels are replaced daily if you leave them in a hamper outside your room door. This is the rainforest, not a city, plumbing does not allow paper to be flushed, so it is disposed of in the wastebasket. Breakfast is included in your room charge. The cook will be called to prepare dinner at $18/person if at least 6 people sign up. Sack lunches are provided for $7/each by request. An honor bar is provided where guests keep a running tab of their snacks and drinks. Guests are allowed to store sodas, snacks, etc. in the community fridge. Free local phone service. No TV and no internet.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackiemgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 281 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2006

We stayed at Casa Cubuy for 2 nights during our recent trip to Puerto Rico. We have stayed in an Eco Lodge before so were prepared for the rustic amenities. The room we stayed in was large and clean. Waking up to the sounds of the waterfall and listening to the native Coqui at night were the highlight of our stay. You can make an appointment for a massage in your room overlooking the rainforest at an additional charge, which is highly recommended!! Breakfast is included and consisted of fresh fruit, pastries, and cereal/oatmeal. Dinner is an extra cost, but was well worth not having to leave the property to find someplace else to eat. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. When we researched Casa Cubuy, it seemed by the review that the owner would be available to tell about different hikes, etc. Unfortunately, he was rarely on the property and when he was, he was inaccessible. Therefore, we only went on one hike (down to the waterfall, which was beautiful) and cut our trip a day short to visit the rainforest on the north side so we could go to the visitors center and get maps for more hiking. Overall, Casa Cubuy is a perfect place to stay if you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing stay in a natural setting and don't mind foregoing some modern conveniences.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2006

We stayed for about 4 days but regretted not having stayed a longer time. It is a place to retreat to when you're looking for absolute peace and quiet, as there are few amenities in the hotel or in your room. Forget about the tv, phones and news in the outside world!
The weather was really delicious, coming from a hot country it was very relaxing to experience cool evenings and mornings and pleasant midmornings and afternoons.
Pricewise I thought it to be a bit costly for the service you get (cleaning schedules, places to eat nearby), but on the other hand there's no price for being in paradise for a few days.
The staff was very friendly and the breakfast excellent (we had no dinner or lunch there), especially because it was served at a large table, so you get to socialize with other people who are basically doing the same - just relaxing and getting away from it all. I am waiting for the chance to go back to Casa Cubuy, although - a note of caution for parents with toddlers - due to the terraced house and the steep path down to the river I would probably recommend you to wait until your toddler grows up a little bit. (that's why I haven't gone back yet, but I definitely hope to do so soon!)

  • Stayed: September 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marieannemoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2006

Easy to get to (highway and then an easy, fairly straight mountain road). Beautiful forested mountain view. LOVED the fact that one entire wall of my room was a sliding glass door and that it slid into itself to open up the entire wall! Friendly Puerto Rican staff. Very nice meals served family style with other guests. Lots of college professors from different schools around the States while we were there. An easy walk down to the waterfalls/pools; you cannot get lost. Lots of tropical flowers in bloom. No rain and very little humidity. The honor bar is nice and there is NO price gouging (they pretty much own you as far as your food/drink options are concerned but do not take advantage at all). A great choice if you've just spent a few days getting burnt on some beach somewhere. Note: here's what you do here; read, hike, bird watch and enjoy your partner.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deathroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2006

It's a special place, but please do thorough research and make absolutely sure this is what you're looking for. You won't find some amenities like refrigerators, AC or coffee makers in the room - not really a problem for many but may be an issue for some. It's comfortable enough but you're really going there because of its location, not amenities. The staff is truly exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Anatoly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2006

From the road Casa Cubuy does not look like much, especially arriving at night. However, it is like a big tree house in the jungle with comfortable, clean rooms and friendly staff. The food is outstanding, well worth the money, even for bag lunches that they will make for you upon request for your daily hiking excursions. The property is beautiful and the hiking was fantastic. Beautiful waterfalls and swimming holes. Because they are eco-friendly, the tp goes in the trash and the towels and sheets are only freshened up after 5 days or at your request. It is humid, it's a rainforest, so be prepared to have damp clothes all the time. Other than that, it was modern convenience and great food in the jungle.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Streiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2006

Exceeded my expectations. I think we stayed in the nicest room. We had a "private" garden, even though you could see it from the small parking lot and probably jump down from it, a path right behind the B&B into the rainforest/small waterfall and swimming hole, a hammock, and an orange tree with a orange picker. It was over all very comfortable and the owners are very laid back. Breakfast every morning was incredible and there's even home cooked meals every night if you're more inclined to stay in. Their plumbing is primative, so you'll have to throw your TP in a trash, the water pressure is good and everything was relatively clean. *note, since this is IN the rainforest, everything is very damp. if you want things to dry, i recommend hanging them from the ceiling fan, turning it on and having the water get blown out. otherwise you'll be stuck with musty smelling and moldy feeling clothes.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lisa hope k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Cubuy Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cubuy Ecolodge

Address: Route 191 Km 22 | Rio Blanco, Naguabo 00744, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Naguabo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Naguabo
Price Range: $90 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Cubuy Ecolodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is set in the heart of the rainforest.There are common area balconies that overlook the forest. There are eleven guest rooms at the main building and a walled compound with a villa & 3 additional rooms 1/2 mile down the road. Our restaurant is also nearby where dinner of typical Puerto Rican dishes is served. Under the restaurant there is an apartment that sleeps 8 as well as a room for two. both have their own entrance. Its great for bird watching. Peace and tranquility can always be found at Casa Cubuy. Go ahead; be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Casa Cubuy Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge Hotel Naguabo
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge Puerto Rico/Naguabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing