We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lodge Needs Help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Naguabo B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Lodge Needs Help”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2005

The property is absolutely georgous. The drive UP to the lodge will scare most people to death, 20 minutes on a narrow twisting run-down road. The building is mostly old. We had to make ice ourselves in a small apartment size refridgerator. The beds were not comfortable and maid service costs extra. Water/shower was dicey. The lodge is supplied from a stream via gravity so controlling the aboundant hot water was difficult. If you don't want to climb stairs... look elsewhere. Our "ground level" room was down three flights from street level. The staff was helpful and very friendly. They prepared the best breakfasts we found in P.R. A stay here requies one to bring everything you want to eat and drink aside from breakfast and a way to keep it cold. Parking is on-street unsecured. The locals use the dead end road frequently as there is a great swimming hole 1/2 mile above the lodge at the end.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    91
    34
    18
    10
See reviews for
45
137
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2005

This is the worst place I have ever stayed while vacationing. The room consisted of a king size bed, and 2 double beds. That was it. The charge for this? $170.00 plus tax. There wasn't a TV, alarm clock, telephone. We asked for a wake up knock on the door in the morning, never got it. The water in the shower was a light trickle. Breakfast consisted of a small fruit plate, 2 pieces of French toast, and juice. Coffee was already gone by the time we arrived downstairs, which was 9am, the time for breakfast. Also, couldn't get to sleep until 2am because of all the noise through the walls. I wouldn't recommend this place to the stray dogs that hang around the area. Also, the exterior was filthy, and the road was also littered with trash. This is by far, the worst of the worst. There was access to a river, however, if I went 5 minutes up the road, I could have a more enjoyable time in the river and pool, and that was for free.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Casa Cubuy Ecolodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2005
I want to respond to the Trip Advisor Member review dated Jul 17, 2005, from Valparaiso, Indiana. This guest did not make a reservation via telephone or Internet, in which case, they would have known that there is no TV, telephone, or alarm clock inside the room. Instead these people were guests of a neighbor, who has a house he rents short term. On that date he had no water so brought them here in the evening and paid for their lodging. The room they occupied has a king and two twin beds. It also has a private balcony with two Adirondack chairs and a table. There are three occasional chairs, a floor lamp, a coffee table, two bedside tables with reading lamps, an armoire, and a table & mirror at the entrance area. There is also original art on the walls, one of which is 6’ X 4’. This of course is very different from the description given by the guests. These guests left soon after breakfast.
This guest suggests that people swim in an area of the river “ for free” that has huge intake pipes under the surface and in fact there are signs warning of danger clearly posted all around the area.
Most guests are quite happy with our breakfasts which begins with a large dish of fresh tropical fruit. If any guest wants seconds of the main course, we happily provide it. Coffee & tea is available, at no charge, throughout breakfast.
This guest did not make any of our staff aware of any problem with noise or water. Nor did we hear of any such complaints from any other guests. At that time we were fully occupied. There are no stray dogs within a half a mile, at least, of Casa Cubuy. As for the exterior being filthy I am truly at a loss to answer such a blatant lie. Casa Cubuy is the only lodging facility in the municipality of Naguabo, Puerto Rico that is endorsed by the Tourism Company. In order to retain this endorsement, we are subject to inspections and stringent standards of quality.
We recognize that some of our neighbors are not yet as careful of the environment as we would like. We continue to work with the local government to improve this situation.
We welcome honest criticims, which helps us improve our service. It is unfortunate that the "democracy of the web" becomes the "tyrany of the web" in the hands of unscrupulous and dishonets persons who have the power via Trip Advisor to inflict serious damage on those of us who are working hard to provide the best service we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2005

Me and three friends stayed at Casa Cubuy for 2 nights, and it was a great choice! It was a bit pricey but so totally worthy every penny! It's located in the rainforest, in El Yunque. It's located up in the mountains on a rural route (191). Part of the road was taken out by a major landslide almost 8 yrs ago, about 1.5 miles up the road. There are waterfalls and rivers running through the property and below it. It's great hiking and nothing like trekking through jungle and rivers! It rained a few times on me and my friends as were hiking, but it's the rainforest. My friends and I had a fantastic time hiking and relaxing to the sound of the water and wildlife. Frankly, it's louder in the rainforest than in the city. I lived in Philly for 7yrs. But it's a pleasant sound in contrast to the city.

Our room was very clean which is a big plus. Because of the constant humidity and rain there, everything is always a bit damp. Expect your room and everything in there to feel damp to some extent. There is no air conditioning, but you totally do NOT need it. The ceiling fans are more than fine to keep things cool. It's cooler in the mountains.

Dinner was great!! When there are 6 or more people, the owner has a chef come and make people dinner. The food was absolutely divine! Breakfast every morning was wonderful and the fresh fruit to die for! Me and my three friends would highly recommend this place to anyone who loves the outdoors, and does mind the damp. And if you think a rainforest would mean big insect problems, we had no problems. All the water is constantly flowing down hill so there is little stagnant water for mosqitos. It was a very fun time as we met some great people who were also staying there.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2005

Imagine waking to the soud of waterfalls gushing over huge rocks, a cool breeze swishing through emrald green giant leaves and a room so private that it's french windows do not even have curtains.......!!
Well, that's Casa Cubuy Ecolodge for you.
My husband and I stayed here 3 days/2 nights in early April and the one thing that truly took our breath away was the views of the rainforest and hills and waterfalls from our room, the sun deck and the porch.
If you are looking for a relaxing time, far far away from the maddening crowd and heat of San Juan, this is just the place for you. It is so peaceful here that we were almost talking in whispers - trying not to disturb the solititude!!
They have a waterfall at a five minute walk into the jungle. It's not too breath-taking, but it's so private that you can just spend hours together, feeling like you are the only ones on earth! The rocks however are quite quite slippery - so I suggest you tread with REAL CAUTION. We were bathing here morning and evening!!
We went armed with cans of bug spray but were pleasantly surpised to find NO BUGS!
The only problem here is FOOD.
Our first night there, the cook was on leave - so no dinner. We drove to the closest town - Fajardo, a 35 minutes drive. All we got was fast food.
The sumptious breakfast next morning was a relief - a huge plate of fresh cut fruits, bread, eggs, or pancakes, juice, tea, coffee, milk.
The cook was around that day so you could sign up for the three-course dinner (salad, entree, dessert). But, we being vegetarians, decided to give it a pass.
The picnic lunch they offered to pack up (peanut butter and jelly OR tuna fish OR chicken OR meatloaf......... sandwiches, with chips and cookies) did not really appeal to us either.
Their fridge has a stock of frozen dinners, but again, no vegetarian. The bar has many varieties of booze.
We ended up trying making our own omlette in the kitchen - but the sweet receptionist - Sonia - offered to make it for us. So, we had a HOT MEAL.
The hotel and the rooms are neat and clean. The water pressure does tend to get really low at times. Our room was on the first floor and had a balcony, a king bed, a wooden cupboard, two chairs and a table and a dressing table as well. The balcony also had two comfy plasctic lounging chairs and a matching table.
You cannot sleep here for longer than 6:30 -7:00 a.m.!! Why? because the sunlight comes streaming into your room and the chirping birds can stir up quite a symphony!
And, do not be afraid of being disturbed by the sound of the coqui - we were plaeasantly surprised to find it sounds more like a bird than a croaking frog!
This is a great place to laze around, do nothing and just be close to nature. Don't try to visit any places while you are living here and you'll go back feeling truly rejuvinated.
But, if you have ALLERGIES, the trees and vegetation here could really really trigger them off .........
It's a great place, quite unique, but getting some of your own food supplies along will save you the trouble of making the drive to the town three times a day.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank IndianTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2005

Seriously, if you don't hike, you won't like, unless you really enjoy just looking at views. But as amazing as that view is, of the rainforest covered mountains and TWO rivers, one rushing loudly into waterfalls just below the hotel, if you don't actually walk into the forest you'll probably get bored.

We arrived around 4 pm, immediately stuck our luggage in our room and went down the very nice switchback trail to the river, where we climbed out on the massive rocks and ate a picnic dinner. Having read the other reviews on this site, we brought Subway sandwiches anticipating there being no food options, but we actually passed about five restaurants on our drive up here, within ten minutes of the hotel. So there's plenty of food, and the honor bar has a wide selection of frozen dinners as well as the option of paying $18 for communal homecooked dinner (meatloaf was being served, so we were happy with the subs). The hike down the hill took five minutes, the hike back up about 15, but it wasn't terribly strenuous.

Our room was a perfectly normal hotel room (#6) with towels, soap, shampoo, nice queen bed, even a desk and chair and small sofa. We had expected far less. Water pressure and temperature in shower was fine. The view from the room, however, was awesome--and we were on the lowest floor! We peeked into a room on the middle level and their view was even better.

Common areas are well-equipped with tables and chairs looking out over the forest. All common areas are tiled and open air--it got quite chilly that night, so a sweater is a good idea. Hammocks were nice, car parking right off the road--so ecolodge is an exaggeration, this is not glorified camping, this is a regular hotel in the rainforest. There's just no tv and no entertainment provided besides books in the little library--heaven forbid--so you go to sleep around nine or ten.

The coquis (little native frogs) get quite loud at night, we discovered. And the next morning we had planned on taking the 30-minute walk over to the other river/waterfall, but it was raining (rain in the rainforest?) all morning, so we had to pass, but we did go back down to the waterfalls right below the hotel and they were, again, amazing. So we left after lunch (the second half of our subs) without doing that hike. Breakfast was juice, fruit plate, and cereal or hot entree. Tea and coffee are always available free at bar.

Overall, one night would have been plenty for us if the rain hadn't prevented us from hiking that next day. We paid an extra $25 to spend only one night, but it was worth it to have enough time at our next destination. If you're going to do a longer hike and really want to make sure you'll be able to do it, spend two nights. We both thought it was unbeatable for view and location and amenities--we were pleasantly surprised at how nice this "Ecolodge" was.

Helpful?
13 Thank nancyandashesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2005

Casa Cubuy is not for everybody, but it was perfect for us. We stayed in the least expensive rooms on the lower floor and had never a bit of noise. The rooms are comfortable, but if you want a TV and phone, go stay in San Juan. Bathrooms were clean and had liquid soap dispensers at the shower and sink.

The staff was always friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were simple but great - fresh fruit, cereals, breads, sometimes hard-boiled eggs or pancakes. If you are expecting an omlet bar, go stay in San Juan. There is an honor bar with drinks, candy bars and even a freezer with frozen burgers, etc. and a microwave. Fine for mid-day snacks. And yes, it is a 40-minute round trip to Wendy's in Fajardo. If this is important to you, maybe you should stay in Fajardo.

Choosing to stay at Casa Cubuy means that you leave behind some the conveniences of the city. But Casa Cubuy strives to take care of you. In return you get serenity and direct access to great hiking, waterfalls, and rain forest scenery of El Yunque - without the busloads of tourists you'll find all over the Caribbean National Forest on the north side. (The park is well worth the hour drive to see, nonetheless) Casa Cubuy has built an amazing trail down to Rio Cubuy with beautiful falls and jacuzzi-like pools of cool, fresh water. You can also hike up past the end of Rt. 191 into El Yunque. It's an easy and beautiful walk.

Three nights was a perfect length stay for us. You should definitely give it more than one night. If you love peace and beauty, you might stay for a week.

Amazingly, my Sprint cell phone worked perfectly on the back deck of Casa Cubuy. Others got cell service, too.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SailRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2005

We were a bit concerned when we booked our stay at Casa Cubuy, because of the lukewarm reviews on tripadvisor.com. We needn't have worried. Yes, it does get loud at 7:30, but nothing like San Juan. There's soap in all the rooms, they've taken the dinner minimum down to four people (the table was full two nights, with about 20 people), and a delicious dinner was served all three nights that we stayed there. The staff are friendly and helpful, and it couldn't be closer to the rain forest. A great place to stay.

Helpful?
8 Thank Lionel_Ovenworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naguabo
11.7 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 3 in Fajardo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
9.6 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
6.6 mi away
El Escondido Guest House
El Escondido Guest House
#1 of 2 in Canovanas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm
3.9 mi away
Hacienda Moyano
Hacienda Moyano
#1 of 4 in Naguabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cubuy Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cubuy Ecolodge

Property: Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
Address: Route 191 Km 22 | Rio Blanco, Naguabo 00744, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Naguabo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Naguabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Cubuy Ecolodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is set into the mountain with a large balcony that overlooks the forest. There are ten guest rooms and a villa down the road. Its great for bird watching. Peace and tranquility can always be found at Casa Cubuy. Go ahead; be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Cubuy Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge Hotel Naguabo
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge Puerto Rico/Naguabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing