We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Naguabo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We spent two nights here and it was great. The rooms are simple but you spend most of your time outside on the deck or in a hammock. The walks into the rainforest from the lodge were great, especially down to the river. Although this is not the official entrance to the cloud forest, it is just as good. Also the food was great and the self service snack bar is convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serendipity510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 281 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2009

Be advised this lodge is not in El Yunque, it is located on the opposite side of El Yunque. We stayed one night, until check out time next day at 11 am. The room we got for roughly $115.00 was pretty small on the lower level. The room is painted a slight bright pink. There is a small day bed in the front room facing the side of the pretty views, and the back room has what seemed like a double bed. The sitiuation that turned me off me was that the bedding was covered with old(er), thin and worn comforters. When I thought I was going to sleep in the front room day bed, I realized after pulling the comforter that the bed was covered with small bugs. It was gross. I walked away to come back and see even more bugs in the bed. Needless to say, I did not sleep in the front room and slept in the back room. The place itself is very modest. The staff was quiet and friendly. Breakfast next day was good, at 9 am. Everyone sits in one long table upstairs, per what seems like the house rule. Generally you pay for the views of the lush green mountains and the amazing trails. Casa Cubuy should be much better for what they charge, especially for the room we stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

My new wife and I looked forward to our night's stay in Casa Cubuy and as we traveled the windy mountain road climbing the south side of El Yunque (which is not the side with any of the wonderful amenities managed by the US Forest Service which would be more than an hour away) the scenery grew more spectacular at a comparable rate to the increase in seediness of the residences and businesses. Now, we had been in Puerto Rico for several days at this point, traveling the west coast and hinterlands, so our expectations had become appropriately adjusted. Without sounding to callus, Puerto Rico, outside of the Americanized resorts, is not "just so". When we finally arrived at Casa Cubuy we had grown fearful since we realized that it was at least a 20 minute drive back to any alternative food or lodging accommodation. The lodge was a sincere disappointment. It looked old and mildew laden; the roof was decaying. Being on our honeymoon, we opted to find alternate accommodations so we called Casa Cubuy to cancel. Mind you, we had seen a glowing review in a travel publication only the day before and accommodations at the lodge were not scarce. The woman who answered the phone rudely informed my wife that there would be a 50% charge for cancelling. We had not authorized a deposit to be charged nor did we agree to any cancellation fee. After several contentious moments on the phone with her myself, she agreed that there would be no charge, and I thanked her profusely. Of course, they did bill my card for more 50% of our planned 2 night stay which I am in the process of contesting. While we did not actually stay in the lodge, we believe this experience is illuminating.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stonebears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

This is a great place in El Yunque Rainforest. We heard the nearby waterfall and the coqui frogs all night. The rooms and common areas were very clean, but we made the mistake of leaving our balcony door open while we ate dinner and had several bugs to eliminate before bed. The food was WONDERFUL! They called us the afternoon we were arriving to see if we wanted dinner that night and we were so glad we said yes. The food was excellent (although a bit later than expected) and we were grateful not to drive back down the mountain road at night. Both mornings we had a lovely breakfast with tons of fresh fruit! The waterfall is an easy hike and you can hike further if you want. Plenty of outdoor activities to do in the area. Don't stay here if you're looking for the luxury resort experience. Do stay if you want beautiful scenery, friendly people, and a clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iblisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

We spent 3 nights at Casa Cubuy in early April, 2009 after spending 5 nights on the beautiful and sunny beaches of Culebra. I was there with my wife and kids (13 & 10) and we had a great time at CC. One day, we took an easy 12 mile round trip hike to Prieto Falls and had a nice picnic lunch next to a waterfall. The lunch was packed by the staff (local ladies who are great cooks for breakfast, lunch and dinner). We also sampled fresh wild rasberries and edible plants along the way - the bananas growing above us did not seem ripe enough to eat. This was our second straight year at Casa Cubuy and it was fun to make new discoveries. We explored hiking paths and rivers that we did not even know existed last year - look at the map on the big table in CC's dining area for some of the hikes at CC and Sierra Palms but plan on making your own discoveries if you are adventurous. This year, I hiked and swam down the Cubuy river right next to the lodge and found at least 8 amazing and refreshing natural pools with multiple waterfalls which were great for swimming or using as a natural whirlpool. The big pool at the end of the Sierra Palms' trail is like something out of a movie. Many more pools exist above and below the initial entry point to the CC river off of CC's well groomed trail. The boulders in the river are great for catching rays and taking a nap. The cool thing is that you truly feel like there is nobody else around when you get out in the rainforest. You can even make your own trails where you will likely travel where no person has gone before. The forest feels almost a little prehistoric at times - it is one of a kind. The community dinner and breakfest tables at CC provided simple, fresh and delicious local food and produce and gave us a chance to meet some diverse travelers - young and old couples - married and unmarried, families, honeymooners, friends on holiday. At night, it was so relaxing to have a drink in the open community area or on our private deck and play board games, talk, read a book, etc. with the Coqui frogs singing in the back ground. We stayed in one of the larger rooms on the top floor and it was spacious, well decorated and had a nice personal deck overlooking the beautiful rain forest - I highly recommend spending the extra $ for the upper level rooms. We went to Palm Sunday mass in the town of Naguabo. Afterwards we went to the waterfront in Humacao and had lunch and drinks at one of the outdoor seafood stalls - the food was tasty and cheap and it was a festive, authentic atmosphere. Locals were selling interesting gifts which the kids loved. As usual, the natives were incredibly nice and many speak english. It was only about 25:00 from CC to Humacao so we came back to town that night for Carribean lobster at the seafood restaurant recommended by CC (Griselles, 17879741533). FYI - it is only a half hour drive to the Ceiba airport which runs regular flights to Culebra and Vieques. Traffic makes the trip to SJU about one hour. When you are at CC, there is no TV which seemed like it would be a problem because the Final Four basketball tourney was on that weekend. However, I had so much fun hanging out and spending quality time with my family in the beautiful surroundings that I didn't even miss the games. If you want relaxation, nature, authenticity, fun hiking and good value all within an hour drive of an international airport, this is the spot.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petemaravich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

The perfect place for people who like nature, fresh air and hiking. It's practically located in the middle of the rain forrest(El Yunque) so there are many trails leading to many amazing places. Unlike the north half of the rain forrest, this south half is not overfilled with tourists so it's very relaxing and pleasant to stay there.
There is beautiful view from the balcony, people are nice, rooms are nice and clean. Considering the whole place is in the middle of nowhere and there is only one narrow road leading to the place - they did a incredible job building it and making it so comfortable.
So If you like nature it's the best place for you, but if you are spoiled and can't imagine your vacation without TV don't even bother to go there!!!
The price is very reasonable(and for those who don't think so - just think about how difficult it has to be to get all the supplies to some distant hilly place). If you want to spend your money for some place at the beach then do it! But if you want your money to be worth your trip to Puerto Rico, forget the beach(or do both) and spend some time at the rain forrest, 'cause Puerto Rico is mostly about beautiful nature;-)

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritorujon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

when i saw our room (we got one with a balcony) i almost cried it was so amazing and beautiful. from our bed we looked out onto the rainforest and it was the best thing to wake up and see. casa cubuy has it's own little path down the mountain into a private waterfall with pools to swim in and then a hike through the rain forest to another water fall where you can also swim. breakfast was delicious and so was dinner. the cook is great and will work with whatever dietary needs you have. the staff was very nice and helpful as well. i'm going back as soon as i can. they are also gay friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceeplee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naguabo
11.7 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
998 reviews
25.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
966 reviews
24.0 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
25.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,764 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cubuy Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cubuy Ecolodge

Address: Route 191 Km 22 | Rio Blanco, Naguabo 00744, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Naguabo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Naguabo
Price Range: $90 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Cubuy Ecolodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is set in the heart of the rainforest.There are common area balconies that overlook the forest. There are eleven guest rooms at the main building and a walled compound with a villa & 3 additional rooms 1/2 mile down the road. Our restaurant is also nearby where dinner of typical Puerto Rican dishes is served. Under the restaurant there is an apartment that sleeps 8 as well as a room for two. both have their own entrance. Its great for bird watching. Peace and tranquility can always be found at Casa Cubuy. Go ahead; be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Casa Cubuy Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge Hotel Naguabo
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge Puerto Rico/Naguabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing