We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to experience the South side of El Yunque”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Naguabo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Thank you to Matthew for a welcoming two night stay at his lodge. It was rejuvenating to get away from the crowds and meet like minded people. Our second floor room was spacious and had an amazing view. We enjoyed the breakfasts and took a picnic lunch one day. Although the rooms are a bit dated, we were on the go and found the space more than adequate. The price may seem steep but considering the beautiful location and wonderful breakfast, I think it is reasonable value.
This is also a great location for river trekking with Kalichi Adventures which is five minutes away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeLee0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 281 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

We spent three wonderful days at Casa Cubuy. Matthew the proprietor welcomed us our first night and took great care of us throughout. Delicious breakfasts and coffee on the porch, packed lunches for our daily outings and recommendations of sights to see and places to eat. Our best day was when we ventured down the path from the lodge before breakfast to the swimming hole; then mid morning we hiked up the road to the south entrance to El Yunque. From there we hiked a few trails, explored the pools and plants along the way and saw so many interesting things - orchids, fresh water crabs, birds, lizards! Our seven year old son had a blast. The room was comfortable with a stunning view. Beds comfortable, hammocks everywhere and just a relaxing vibe that allowed us to escape the hustle and bustle of our work lives. We will return again and again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I could write a book on what a great stay we had at this comfortable lodge. Matt and his family were very warm, accommodating, and helpful with making us feel at home and also accessing the immediate beauty surrounding this area. Breakfast was delicious and I would recommend ordering a picnic to take with you on your hikes. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

What an amazing spot. The rooms have views of mountains, foliage and waterfalls. Falling asleep to the sound of the waterfall is something I will never forget. There were a lot of choices at breakfast. Having the trails right is a big bonus.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Location, location, location. I woke up to look at the mountains and valleys of El Yunque. It was great. The breakfasts are delicious, lots of fruit, cereal, and assorted other healthy things.

My room was spacious. The owners are great, very helpful and knowledgeable.

Fancy/schmancy it is not. Clean, beautiful, and friendly it is. The price is a bit steep, but not out of the ordinary for Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melindapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights of our honeymoon. We LOVED it! Matthew, one of the owners, was very knowledgeable of the area and helped us find dinner as we arrived late when mostly everything was closed. The rooms have gorgeous views and when you wake up, WOW! Fresh fruit, coffee, eggs, cereal, and the rainforest! The open air rooms really make everything, especially at night with Coquí frogs, birds, other critters, our favorite! Take advantage of the walking trails too, beautiful foliage and waterfalls! Even driving up the mountain and seeing the rural part Puerto Rico was amazing. This was a wonderful experience for my wife and I and we look forward to coming back! Thanks Matthew!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Josh Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Don't believe the negative reviews. The folks who have a problem with this place probably should have just stayed at a resort on the beach. Casa Cubuy is for the adventurous traveler who wants to see part of Puerto Rico that the average tourist misses. That said, it is clean, comfortable, and has everything you could ask for!

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights, and we really loved our stay. The room was large, the bed was nice, and the view from our balcony was spectacular!! Matthew, the owner, was very friendly and shared all kinds of stories, advice and information about the area. We enjoyed hiking down to the waterfalls behind the hotel, and just hanging out in hammocks in the lounge. Breakfast was always an amazing array of fruit, oatmeal, and various tasty goods. We had pancakes on our last day! The breakfasts were so big and tasty, we never ate another meal until dinner - which saved us some money.

The location is truly magical - you are literally IN the rain forest. There are so many opportunities for hiking, and so many different types of fruit growing wild. At night the sounds of the coquis frogs and the waterfalls lull you to sleep. The beaches are a bit of a drive away, but we enjoyed driving around the country side and seeing more of PR.

All in all, we had a fabulous stay at Casa Cubuy. If you enjoy nature, hiking, and good food, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Room #3 on the 2nd floor has a King bed and 2 day beds. It could comfortably sleep 4-5 people, thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmberfromBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Cubuy Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cubuy Ecolodge

Address: Route 191 Km 22 | Rio Blanco, Naguabo 00744, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Naguabo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Naguabo
Price Range: $90 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Cubuy Ecolodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is set in the heart of the rainforest.There are common area balconies that overlook the forest. There are eleven guest rooms at the main building and a walled compound with a villa & 3 additional rooms 1/2 mile down the road. Our restaurant is also nearby where dinner of typical Puerto Rican dishes is served. Under the restaurant there is an apartment that sleeps 8 as well as a room for two. both have their own entrance. Its great for bird watching. Peace and tranquility can always be found at Casa Cubuy. Go ahead; be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Casa Cubuy Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge Hotel Naguabo
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge Puerto Rico/Naguabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing