We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$175
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn(Luquillo)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Pearl(Luquillo)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
$224
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hacienda Tamarindo(Isla de Vieques)
$167
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Malecon House(Isla de Vieques)
$195
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Coco Beach(Rio Grande)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
127
93
34
18
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
93
34
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdown the roadother guestsoatmealfresh fruitan eco lodgethe ownerel yunquecoqui frogspuerto ricolarge tablenorth sideprivate trailthe main lodgemary anncommunal breakfastfellow travelerspack a lunch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 282 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Location, location, location. I woke up to look at the mountains and valleys of El Yunque. It was great. The breakfasts are delicious, lots of fruit, cereal, and assorted other healthy things.

My room was spacious. The owners are great, very helpful and knowledgeable.

Fancy/schmancy it is not. Clean, beautiful, and friendly it is. The price is a bit steep, but not out of the ordinary for Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melindapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights of our honeymoon. We LOVED it! Matthew, one of the owners, was very knowledgeable of the area and helped us find dinner as we arrived late when mostly everything was closed. The rooms have gorgeous views and when you wake up, WOW! Fresh fruit, coffee, eggs, cereal, and the rainforest! The open air rooms really make everything, especially at night with Coquí frogs, birds, other critters, our favorite! Take advantage of the walking trails too, beautiful foliage and waterfalls! Even driving up the mountain and seeing the rural part Puerto Rico was amazing. This was a wonderful experience for my wife and I and we look forward to coming back! Thanks Matthew!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Josh Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Don't believe the negative reviews. The folks who have a problem with this place probably should have just stayed at a resort on the beach. Casa Cubuy is for the adventurous traveler who wants to see part of Puerto Rico that the average tourist misses. That said, it is clean, comfortable, and has everything you could ask for!

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights, and we really loved our stay. The room was large, the bed was nice, and the view from our balcony was spectacular!! Matthew, the owner, was very friendly and shared all kinds of stories, advice and information about the area. We enjoyed hiking down to the waterfalls behind the hotel, and just hanging out in hammocks in the lounge. Breakfast was always an amazing array of fruit, oatmeal, and various tasty goods. We had pancakes on our last day! The breakfasts were so big and tasty, we never ate another meal until dinner - which saved us some money.

The location is truly magical - you are literally IN the rain forest. There are so many opportunities for hiking, and so many different types of fruit growing wild. At night the sounds of the coquis frogs and the waterfalls lull you to sleep. The beaches are a bit of a drive away, but we enjoyed driving around the country side and seeing more of PR.

All in all, we had a fabulous stay at Casa Cubuy. If you enjoy nature, hiking, and good food, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Room #3 on the 2nd floor has a King bed and 2 day beds. It could comfortably sleep 4-5 people, though we enjoyed the extra space with just 2 people!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmberfromBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We saw this place before we left and when we got there we were not disappointed. The quietness and the sounds of the waterfalls that are only accessible to the people who stay there was awesome..Our room had a huge sliding glass door that we left open all night and could hear the sounds of the tree frogs and the waterfalls..Would recommened this place to stay..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonycan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

A nice property with amazing views. The room was big and clean. Definitely worth it to get an upstairs room for the view. There's a $20 fee if you only stay one night, which is a bit ridiculous. At night the forest definitely comes alive. If you're a light sleeper bring ear plugs.
The owner, Matthew, seems a bit rough around the edges but he's a nice guy. We left early the next morning so we didn't get to stay for breakfast but it looked like they were setting up a nice spread. Coffee was good though. The trail behind the property is a nice hike that leads down to a pretty waterfall. There was heavy rainfall the day we were there so the river was pretty high and impossible to cross to get to the other side of the trail. It was still fun to hop around on the rocks. Overall it's a nice property, maybe a little overpriced but the views are awesome and swimming in your own private waterfall can't be beat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews