We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Relaxing Experiance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Naguabo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Loved the Casa Cubay and the hosts.
Great Views from our room
Private trail leading to the small waterfall is awesome
absolutely best breakfast

Not many restaurants in neighborhood.

Room Tip: Pay the extra bucks for upstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 281 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2011

Overall, a nice place to stay with all the basics and a good breakfast. Has a hostile-like feel. Their restaurant is closed for the month of October so traveling down to the valley for dinner was a bit of a hike. If you're looking for a good guided tour of the forest, ask for Robin Phillips' number. He's a self trained ecologist and knows quite a bit about the plants and animals of the forest in addition to the history of Puerto Rico. He charges about $25-40/person depending upon the length of the trip and number of people going and will do any hikes from a few hours to all day long. He made our hike much more enjoyable! We learned that he also has a place to stay on his property that I did not read about ahead of time but is much cheaper apparently than other options on the south side of the mountain.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoodOleVaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Casa Cubuy Ecolodge. We arrived late in the evening, and thankfully, Marianne was kind enough to wait up for us and get us settled in. We had amazing breakfasts both days; an extravagant spread of fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, toast, sweet buns, jam, and more. We loved the serenity of the location (not full of other tourists), and took time to hike into El Yunque and down to the rivers near by. We spent some quality time in the hammocks on the porch taking in the views across the mountains and listening to the frogs and insects sing. Really great, really relaxing, and really beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imjustpassingthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

You come to Casa Cabuy for one thing: the incredible views of the mountains and rainforest. You may come to hike on the trails down to the waterfall and swim in the river or just sit out on the veranda and breathe in the mountain air. Whatever, you will commune with nature here. This is the non-touristy side of El Yunque. To reach Casa Cubuy, you drive on a narrow, twisty mountain road. The rooms are small, clean, spartan and rustic, but you are likely not here to spend much time In your room. The rooms have outdoor terraces with chairs and hammocks. There is no air conditioning, but you won't need it with the fresh, cool mountain air. We slept with our windows open and fell asleep to the sounds
of nature - the chorus of coquis. Because there is no light pollution, the night sky is clearly visible. There is also no TV, and cell service is very spotty; however, the majestic views are ample replacement. I was here with a group on a yoga retreat. It is an awesome place for yoga. A negative was that some of the rooms and the restaurant where we took our meals are located a half mile away from the main area. Also, bring insect repellant. If you want luxury, this is not the place for you, but if you enjoy nature and peacefulness you will be happy here.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Sierra Palms section are more spacious and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Scullyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We had a very nice two-night stay here last week. Located within the boundary of El Yunque, Casa Cubuy has a beautiful view and easy access to secluded trails. We are a young family of three-- Dad carried baby in a frame backpack along the trails and we were able to cross the first river/swimming area using the rope, but the rocks at the second waterfall seemed too daunting for us so we turned around there. Even though we turned around early, we thought it was a great trail into the rainforest. The rooms are quite basic, but spacious and with a nice balcony and doors that can be opened up so that you feel like you are almost sleeping in the forest. I loved that there were virtually no mosquitoes around! However, we did end up with lots of other insects in our room-- I enjoyed the ones that glowed, but I would rather not have that many critters around and would've like having screens on the doors. I also should have read the reviews here more carefully so as not to be surprised by having to throw the toilet paper in the trash instead of the toilet. Dad was not bothered at all by the insects or toilet paper restriction and thought the whole experience was terrific. Baby enjoyed the hammocks and running about the open areas. The owner was also interesting to talk with. The group breakfast was really nice- delicious fruit and good company with other travelers. We had dinner at the restaurant down the road twice-- food was nothing special, but it was pretty good and of course also had an amazing view. We didn't venture to the other restaurant further away (about a mile) because we didn't want to risk driving the twisty mountain road in the dark. Overall, a great stay and a unique way to experience El Yunque! I know some say it is overpriced, and it did seem a bit pricey to me, but it also seems like there are no other comparable places so it's hard to judge.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viequesquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Wonderful place in the mountains with spectacular views! The rooms were very basic but inviting. There is no tv or phones in the room, but our tv was the spectacular view from our room. The service was great. The breakfast is included and it's the best. We would definitely recommend this place if you want relaxation and tranquility.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsdiana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We were two 30-year olds looking for a place to stay for one night in El Yunque on 7/2/11. The nicer rated Casa Flamboyant was booked but they recommended to call Casa Cubuy in the south side of the rainforest. The Inn owner's son, Matthew, answered and there began our rainforest adventure. He gave okay directions (we had better understanding on the website's directions to the eolodge). This lodge is not far from San Juan and it's a nice drive if you take scenic 187. Driving up 191 is so pleasant and you can see spectacular vistas.
We winded our way up 191 and passed Noelia's Restaurant & Bar (we heard fun music and smelled authentic Puerto Rican food! <more on this fun spot later>) and finally to the Casa Cubuy Ecolodge. Matthew opened the locked door and allowed to pass through the front door and into the open air lobby (almost every room is open air); your eyes are seized by the sights El Yunque's lushness. Hammocks hang invitingly near the edge so you can relax and hear the Coqui and other rainforest fauna. Breathtakingly peaceful!
Matthew was letting us know about the prices and then his mother (the owner of the Ecolodge) introduced herself and went over some rules about writing on an index card every item that is taken out of the fridge for purchase at check-out (water is $1). She also explained that juice/coffee is served at 8AM and breakfast at 9AM. They both briefly went over maps of the trails, including a trail head that is literally in the back step. Matthew was going to show 2 rooms that we could pick. He took us to the smaller one first but when he opened it, he saw that the housekeepers had not cleaned it and immediately shut the door. He then said we could get the other room which was bigger, but instead of showing the room, he gave us the keys and said it would work for us.
We went in the room and found it to be very spacious. A group of 5 could easily sleep here. The main bed is decently comfortable but the other beds have thin plastic matresses. It reminded me of summer camp bunkhouse! The bathroom is large too and everything seemed to be decently cleaned. At this corner of the building, we found plenty of the large Tree snails, anole lizards, and coquis chilling on the walls and screens of the windows (think open air). I loved the charm of this place. There was a book I went over of the rules and policies/info and found that the ecolodge has a lot of rules (that are reasonable) like throwing toilet paper in the wastebasket to protect the septic system.
We loved it but weren't in there too long so we could hit the trails.
They have a nice trail that leads to the first river which has a rope you have to hold on to cross. Sadly it had been raining all weekend and the rocks were slippery. Both of us slipped and were quickly injured. With broken ribs, we hiked back to the room. (we were told that this was an easy trail but the constant rain does make the rocks too slippery and causes flash flooding. Little late for that advice). After doses of advil, we decided we needed beer!
First stop was Casa Cubuy Restaurant but it was stale and not very fun. We walked right out and went down to Noelia's Restaurant. This place is amazingly fun and real! Noelia is the owner, cook, server, bartender, so when it gets busy, you may wait longer than normal but she does quality work with food since she has culinary education. We have lots of memories at this place!
With plenty to drink, sleeping in the screened room was easy. The sound of the coquis and the ever present rainfall is a wonderful way to fall asleep. (no mosquitos or crazy creepy crawlers way up here!)
The next morning, we went to breakfast. It was not memorable. Pancakes and mystery juice/coffee with fresh mango, pineapple and watermelon. Visiting with other guests of the ecolodge is enjoyable though. Also, the dining room is open air which adds a rainforest touch.
Marianne was concerned about our physical health and checked us out soon after. Simple check-out in the open air lobby, no hassles. I thought it was overpriced but I quickly looked over my shoulder and took in to memory the wondrous El Yunque scenery and left the ecolodge with that.

Room Tip: get the room furthest from any other room in the ecolodge. It's on the lowest floor and is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Austinites2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Cubuy Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cubuy Ecolodge

Address: Route 191 Km 22 | Rio Blanco, Naguabo 00744, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Naguabo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Naguabo
Price Range: $90 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Cubuy Ecolodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is set in the heart of the rainforest.There are common area balconies that overlook the forest. There are eleven guest rooms at the main building and a walled compound with a villa & 3 additional rooms 1/2 mile down the road. Our restaurant is also nearby where dinner of typical Puerto Rican dishes is served. Under the restaurant there is an apartment that sleeps 8 as well as a room for two. both have their own entrance. Its great for bird watching. Peace and tranquility can always be found at Casa Cubuy. Go ahead; be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Casa Cubuy Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge Hotel Naguabo
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge Puerto Rico/Naguabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing