We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, bad customer care” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Libre Puerto Rico

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naguabo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Libre Puerto Rico
Ranked #4 of 4 Naguabo B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, bad customer care”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I spent some days at Casa Libre. We stayed at the Purple Room; the view is amazing from this room, and it was very comfortable for the two of us. The breakfasts were very good as well. In general, we were very pleased with our stay there, except that...there seems to be a problem between the partners, and they addressed this openly, with no consideration for us as guests.

On our last day at Casa Libre, while getting ready to go out, we heard screams coming from the room next door, which happens to be the room shared by the partners. We clearly heard Patty ask Josue to lower his voice, and Josue, using foul language, screamed that he did not care. The argument went on with exchanges about shutting down the business, getting lawyers involved, and at one point Josue told Patty that he "would give her reasons to call the police", before storming out of the facility.

I was really shaken by this exchange, particularly with this last statement. We were not sure what to expect next. We left for the day, and shortly afterwards there was a posting on Facebook to the effect that business was to cease immediately; by now we were very concerned and were not sure what we were going to find upon our return. The posting has since been removed. When we arrived at night we were surprised to find all partners there, as if nothing had happened. Nobody approached us to apologize for having to witness this unfortunate incident. Both Josue and Patty acted as if nothing had happened.

I sent an email to their Facebook account expressing my discomfort with this situation, hoping to hear from them, hoping to hear an apology, but as of today, nobody has contacted us. To me, this indicates a lack of concern for customers.

While the location is ideal and the service in general is good, I would not recommend this location to any of my friends lest they have to witness a situation like the one we faced. Very disappointed at their lack of professionalism for dealing with business matters in public, with guests present, and then for not having the courtesy of offering an apology to us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    26
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
73
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Demotte, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I had an awesome stay! The views are amazing from the deck and balcony. We would definitely stay here again. Take a short trip to the Rain Forest to see the beautiful waterfalls. Josue' is so friendly and everyone treated us so nicely. We are telling all of our friends about your place. It was so nice to walk along the waterfront to the restaurants. The food in the area is excellent.

Room Tip: Stay in the Purple Room with the balcony. The view is awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently spent several nights at CL. Breakfasts were yummy, room comfortable, and pool great! Josue and Dawn suggested areas to explore and helped us book our biobay trip. They provided helpful information regarding excursions as well. The only thing I would change is to up the temp of the shower about 10 degrees, but that's also part of the rural island experience.

Remember, if you are staying outside San Juan, you are sure to encounter some island charms, such as Spanish speaking vendors and locals, roosters crowing from the crack of dawn, and stray dogs.

We'd return again without a doubt. Thanks for the great crash pad!

Room Tip: If the sounds of barking dogs and rooster crowing at the first signs of daylight bother you, bring e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddiemae81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great place to stay! In a little fishing village that was used in Johnny Depp's The Rum Diary. Several good restaurants in village. Bigger cities close by. About an hour from San Juan, but near the ferries to Viegues & Culebra. Proprietors are very friendly & helpful. Great view of the harbor. Nice swimming pool & deck area. We stayed in the Purple Room which I think is the best room. Owners are currently remodelling in short phases. We'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Purple Room is on second floor & has an excellent view of harbor & swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vantuyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

we stayed at the nearby hostel run by the same owners but came here for swimming and poolside action. This B&B is gorgeous, the views can't be beat. There is a great pool, perfect temperature, the lounge areas are expansive and overlook the bay and adorable fishing village. We were not lucky enough to get to share the breakfasts but what we saw looked expansive. we definitely know the owners were up at dawn to make such a great spread.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldocSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We found this guesthouse through some outfitters who do kayak tours to Monkey Island -- who said it was where they would stay if it were them, and their quarters were full. We loved it. Everything is beautiful, clean and comfortable, gorgeous views. We stayed in a large poolside bedroom that was perfect for us. It is a quick walk into town which you can see (and hear) from the deck. Josue and Dawn were very welcoming and went above and beyond what I would expect of hosts. We wished we could stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bijoux404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We are just back from a 4 day stay in Naguabo, Puerto Rico. I found Casa Libre because of a mutual friend but i chose it because of the tripadvisor reviews and i wanted a place on the water with a view. The pictures represent the place perfectly, the property itself is beautiful. Its 2 stories, All the rooms open to the pool side where the gorgeous view of the bay is, the water is right there. the property is at one end of the town, slightly uphill very easy to find with the directions emailed to us. There is a lovely clean pool for a dip when its hot and an extensive newly built deck which doubles the size of the pool area. Josue has re-purposed a bunch of pallets and creatively made some great outdoor furniture, they were staining the bar while we were there and they plan to have an outdoor kitchen eventually. Patti was our primary host (Patti pretty much runs the B&B, and Josue and Dawn run the hostel around the corner). I can't say enough good things about Patti. from the outset she made us feel like family, she gave us loads of advice on what to do, where to go, where to eat, which beach to go to, what day trips there were to do. she was a fountain of knowledge and just wanted us to have a great time. Her breakfasts were fantastic, it was hard to stay in bed knowing at 8am there was a pot of coffee brewing and ready for us and some baked goods or yogurt or fruit too. we had a different breakfast every day, we got our choice when we were the only couple there the last morning. we had french toast and sausages and bacon and eggs and potatoes and banana waffles, its hard not to just sit there and enjoy coffee and breakfast and conversation and the fantastic view. You eat on the deck as we did the first day or on the upstairs balcony if it showers. anyways breakfasts were my favorite part of the day. Naguabo is a lovely little town, Patti and Dawn brought a group of us to the waterfront Mexican restaurant which was delicious, there are other restaurants that we didn't make it to. there is a handy store in the middle of the main street for anything else you might need. The room was clean, and well appointed, the bed was comfy. all the bug screens were intact, the air con was cool (you dont really need it but we did for sleep). We had a mini fridge in our room, Patti supplied us with ice when we needed it and shared her rum with us, educating us on what rum not to buy in PR (hint: it rhymes with cacardi). Patti also supplie us with the things we couldnt and forgot to bring, beach chairs and umbrella, water shoes, towles sun cream, sun hat. i dont want to miss anything...also naguabo is close to a lot of things about 30 mins from el yunque/fajardo/loquillo beach. just take a drive along the coast road and you will find so many beautiful beaches that you have all to your self, we stumbled on a beach on rd 906 just south of Palmas del mar that had a little fish shack beside it...made for a perfect Sunday. Anyways its a great place to stay, highly recommended.

Room Tip: i liked being on the ground floor, same view as upstairs but as soon as you step out you room you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naguabo
9.7 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 3 in Fajardo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
9.8 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
26.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
#3 of 4 in Naguabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hacienda Moyano
Hacienda Moyano
#1 of 4 in Naguabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
5.7 mi away
El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Libre Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Libre Puerto Rico

Property: Casa Libre Puerto Rico
Address: #188, Calle 8, Playa Hucares | Playa Hucares, Naguabo 00718, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Naguabo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Naguabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Libre is located in Playa Hucares, Naguabo - a quaint fishing village on the South Eastern Coast of Puerto Rico. Situated one block from the water, visitors can walk to the waterfront boardwalk or take in the view while dipping in the pool. Great destination for travelers seeking the attractions of the East, including El Yunque, Luquillo Beach & Bio-Luminescent Bay of Fajardo. Guests enjoy comfortable rooms, familiar atmosphere, great hospitality & hearty breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Libre Puerto Rico Hotel Naguabo
Casa Libre Puerto Rico Naguabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing