We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Libre Puerto Rico
Nearby Hotels
$200
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn(Luquillo)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Pearl(Luquillo)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
$230
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hacienda Tamarindo(Isla de Vieques)
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Coco Beach(Rio Grande)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveler rating
81
26
7
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
26
7
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 118 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2011

All in all - great trip. We were more then pleasently surprised by the incredible view from the pool, and the wonderful hospitality of Patty & Co. Breakfast was made to order, and awesome! Only down side was the 50 or so (not exaggerating...) roosters who lived next door and could be heard at almost any hour. If your a light sleeper, this is a major drawback... on the other hand, it does add to the charm and "authenticity". It is a guesthouse staffed by very gracious hosts not a 5 star resort, so dont expect the same type of rooms/ammenities.

It is also in close proximity to En Yunque and Fajardo for the ferry to Vieques or Culebra.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JGrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Casa Libre for 3 nights prior to a cruise that left from San Juan. This was our first time ever staying in a B&B, so I wasn't real sure what to expect. But from the moment we arrived until the time we left, we felt like we were at home. The room we stayed in (the Green room) was very comfortable, tastefully decorated, and very clean. Some of the background noise (like the coqui frogs and the roosters) can be loud at night - this is part of being in rural Puerto Rico - but we turned on the A/C to drown out that noise and it was no problem for us. The breakfasts were delicious! There are several restaurants within walking distance and the view from the pool deck is beautiful. It's obvious that the owners take great pride in Casa Libre and in making your stay as enjoyable as possible.

PS - Be sure to visit the rain forest (El Yunque) and take a "biobay" kayak trip in nearby Fajardo while you are there - both of these were unforgettable experiences for us.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ML_Cary_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

This place was a hidden gem. The staff (Patti, Josue and Dawn) were wonderful. They pointed us towards several local spots (el hippy = amazing!) We relaxed by the pool, and I think we were the only tourists in town that day. We wandered around the marina and through the quiet streets. This isn't a resort or hotel, but a guest house that offers anything that you need to feel at home. Truly a beautiful place. We wish we had more time to spend at Casa Libre. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

I have stayed at swankier places, but probably at no place more pleasant than Casa Libre. It's a cheery place; the rooms are nice, the view is lovely, the pool is delightful, and the proprietors are wonderful. My husband and I stayed there for four nights in February, and we both loved it.

This little B&B is off the beaten tourist track, in the small town of Naguabo, convenient to El Yunque, Fajardo and the ferries to Vieques & Culebra, Luquillo, the Cabezas de San Juan, the Ruta Panoramica, and many other "must-do" activities in Puerto Rico. It's an especially good place from which to experience the less-traveled south side of El Yunque. But when your active day is done, you have a clean, friendly, relatively quiet place to come home to -- or you can decide not to leave, and spend a relaxing day enjoying the view from their lovely pool -- and perhaps a few cold ones. Patti serves up a tasty breakfast by the pool every morning; she and the other proprietor, Josue, are happy to talk to you about options for food, activities, etc. to help you experience Puerto Rico.

The B&B is located in the Playa Hucares neighborhood of Naguabo. While Naguabo is a big enough town to have a Burger King and a hospital, Playa Hucares is a small fishing village with a malecon that runs the whole length of the village along the bay. There are some good seafood restaurants along the water, a convenience store, and a couple of souvenir-y type places. There is also a gentleman who takes people out on a boat to see Cayo Santiago, the island with the monkey colony.

In short, it's a great little B&B in a great area, and the proprietors make it an even more special place. I didn't want to leave, and now I just want to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Patti and Josue were wonderful hosts to the little coastal town of Naguabo. The B&B is a little off the highway, but fairly easy to get to with the directions they provided. We arrived much earlier than anticpated our first morning, but Patti welcomed us with that morning's fresh breakfast and allowed us to put away our bags, before venturing off to the rainforest.

El Yunque is a short drive from Casa Libre as well as several large beaches; however this not the spot for Puerto Rico's best beaches. It is also a convenient place to stay if you are planning on heading to or from Vieques on the ferry. We would also recommend taking a drive on the scenic 91 coastal as part of any extended stay in naguabo.

I can't not say enough about the service and hospitatlity of the onwers/operators. They were always willing to take breakfast requests and would whip us up poolside cocktails. They had great insight into the area and Puerto Rico as a whole.

The B&B experience is not for everyone, but if you would like a good one in Puerto Rico I would put Casa Libre near the top of the list.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarkinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews