We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Romantic Modern Cottage - Perfect for walking”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Broomfield Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Double ended jacuzzi bath perfect to unwind and relax in
Towels and bedding provided!
Gus the newfoundland will love to meet you. We are also very dog friendly
Chatsworth Estate and the Peak district are also on the doorstep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ingbirchworth, South Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stacey S
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Modern Cottage - Perfect for walking”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a week. The cottage was perfect. Was modern, very clean & fully equipped. Couldn't ask for anything more. Wine, flapjacks & fresh eggs on arrival (& more eggs provided during stay!). Sam & Tony were brilliant hosts & Gus & Lola (the dogs) are gorgeous. Loads of walks available right on door step - didn't need to use the car at all. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect... but sshhhh!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A last minute booking provided us with the perfect location for a romantic birthday weekend getaway and some much needed rest and relaxation.
What can we say about Broomfield Cottage?... We didn't want to leave... Spotless comfortable luxury, yet homely... Enough said really....
Why "sshhhh"? Well, sorry Sam & Tony (our hosts, and great ones at that) we want to keep it to ourselves so the more people who read great reviews, the more it gets booked.... and we want to keep it our little secret bolt hole... Gus and Lola (the Newfoundlands) were as welcoming as Sam & Tony, a reet proper Yorkshire welcome to (and as a Lancastrian it irks me to say it) "gods own country".
Now left wondering when our next visit will be... Loved it...

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Double ended Jacuzzi bath ;0)
Liked least: Leaving...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry B
1 review
“Luxury accommodation in an excellent location”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed here for six nights and it had everything we could possibly have wanted for a great holiday and more besides! There was plenty of space - sometimes places don't live up to the photographs but not here! The house was so well equipped and luxuriously furnished - there was even table football! There was a welcome pack on our arrival, including freshly laid eggs from their own hens. Broomfield Cottage was accessed via a drive with electric gates, so very secure, with plenty of parking. It's in a small village in beautiful countryside but within easy reach of major cities such as Sheffield (our son graduated from Sheffield University while we were there). There was plenty of information on things to do, as well as maps. Everyone on site was friendly and welcoming as well as their two gorgeous dogs! There was wifi / internet access so unfortunately we were able to keep up-to-date with emails! This is a really great place and I can thoroughly recommend it for a holiday or even a short break! I hope to be back again soon.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly & welcoming attitude of everyone we met.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suemho1
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Excellent accommodation in a lovely area. Lots of lovely walks and the cottage was in a beautiful setting with very friendly and helpful people. Would definately recommend

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katja V
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful rural retreat”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

There are not many 5* places out there accepting dogs. We went to stay at Broomfield Cottage for our anniversary. It was the very first holiday for our 9-months-old Labrador Jasper and he loved it! Any time we went outside, Gus and Lola, the two Newfoundlands from Sam and Tony, were there to play with in the spacious garden. The cottage is right at the heart of numerous walks, so we didn't have to drive anywhere to explore the surroundings if we didn't want to - ideal for walking the dog. Sam, Tony and all people on the premises were very friendly and helpful in any situation - we even got fresh vegetables from Sam's garden and eggs from their chickens. We needed a break from city life and got exactly that - lots of space to rest and relax while Jasper got more exercise than ever before. So, he was a very happy boy. Make sure not to bring too many smart clothes - you won't need them. Would recommend this fabulous place to anyone. Thanks again, Sam & Tony. Hope Lola doesn't miss Jasper too badly ;o)

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jacuzzi bath, HD TV with HD Channels
Liked least: Kitchen knifes (not great for left handed people)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2014
Lola hasn't been herself since. She can't wait to see jasper again and you and Lawrence would be very welcome anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui C
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Little Gem - with a big welcome!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Superb quality cottage, exceptionally clean with excellent facilities and friendly helpful hosts. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here together with our 20 year old daughter and westie dog. We knew we had chosen well immediately upon our arrival not only from the location and attractive nature of the cottage but also when met by the most joyous enthusiastic welcome from Gus & Lola (Newfoundland Dogs) and easy, informative and very friendly approach from Sam (our main host) who went out of her way to show us around not only the cottage but also the stables, introducing us to both horses and staff. The jacuzzi bath is pure luxury and the laid back friendly manner from everyone provides a wonderful opportunity to "chill out" and relax whilst enjoying the area. We very much hope to return and will again visit "The Spiced Pear" restaurant which was recommended by Sam and for us was a 100% success. Thank you to both Sam & Tony for enabling an opportunity to share a little piece of their enviable way of life.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly welcome
Liked least: Not having an excessively large white fluffy bath sheet when stepping out the Jacuzzi!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary...
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage, very conveniently situated.”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Superb cottage, very comfortable, clean and well equipped. Sam and Tony friendly and welcoming hosts. Well situated for an excellent choice of walks, and also very convenient for exploring the whole of West Yorkshire. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and clean accommodation in a convenient situation.
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing