We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DONT BOTHER!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fountain Inn
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DONT BOTHER!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

Very poor atmosphere (like a morgue), inability to get order correct, sub-standard food, bad mannered un-caring staff. Definately wont be venturing there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phantomfoodmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    47
    17
    17
    35
See reviews for
52
64
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2008

Excellent stay and wonderful value for money. We chose the booze n snooze option at £95 midweek rate and the value was exceptional. It was possible to choose anything from the menu, no supplements for the more expensive items, 3 courses and a bottle of wine. Not only good value but an excellent menu far away from the normal 'pub' food and the quality was outstanding. Staff were most pleasant, friendly and highly efficient. We felt really at home. The rooms were spotless and well appointed. The shower was disappointing but that was a minor irritation. Lovely views. This hotel fulfills a number of functions admirably. It is a pub if you want a drink when you get in at night, it's a quality restaurant so there is no need to drive anywhere looking for a meal and it's a comfortable place to sleep. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, food, location and value for money
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Playdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

We arranged a family get-together [10 people] for one night in the Fountains Inn booking their 'Booze and Snoooze' offer. My husband and I noticed that after booking our stay the website indicated that new managment had taken over so we were a little apprehensive on arrival but that was soon dispelled as we received a warm and courteous welcome. Our room was of a very high standard,clean and in a very quiet location just what we like.We had dinner in the evening with the rest of the family, 3 courses of your choice from a varied a la Carte menu and each couple had a free bottle of wine in with the offer.The service was good and the staff very pleasant. In the morning after a comfortable nights sleep we were served with a freshly cooked full English breakfast.We all had a very enjoyable time thought it excellent value for money and would definitely go again.

  • Liked — The standard of the room
  • Disliked — Bar area could do with some refurbishment
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sagittarian_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

I was sad to hear that The Fountain inn situated in Ingbirchworth, is yet again under new ownership, I cannot understand why no one wants to stay, the old owners will be missed, and these new people have alot of work to do, I recently stayed and things were not great, I understand the chefs are leaving, our food was not excellant, but its really hard to fall out of love with the fountain. Anyway I will wish it all the luck - its/their going to need it!
Sorry

  • Liked — Clean & Tidy
  • Disliked — The lack of love of minor details
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jane691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ingbirchworth hotels

Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

I'm having to review this hotel here as the hotel is not listed within Tripadvisor, even after contacting the support to ask them to add it.
However, just to say, this hotel is fantastic and worth every penny that we spent, although drinks prices in the bar were slightly overpriced. The hotel and our room was spotlessly clean and staff very pleasant to deal with. Food was spot on and cannot fault the full English breakfast we had. Cost was £65 b+b for two adults staying on a Sunday night. Note, Fridays and Saturdays and slightly more expensive, but would still be worth the money.
We enjoyed this hotel so much, that we have booked my parents in for later this year for my dads 65th birthday and we're also hoping to revisit again soon.
The photos on their website are exactly how things are in real-life which is a novelty to find. Anyway, here is their website:

http://www.fountain-ingbirchworth.co.uk/

Helpful?
2 Thank monkeechops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingbirchworth
2.7 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
6.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
10.5 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Property: The Fountain Inn
Address: Wellthorne Lane, Ingbirchworth S36 7GJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Ingbirchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ingbirchworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Truly Traditional Country Inn set in beautiful countryside. All returning & new guests will be greeted with a warm welcome and assured of a luxurious break away from home. Close to the Peak District National Park and well renowned for being located within "last of the summer wine" country . Within 20 minutes guests can easily reach Wakefield, Barnsley and Sheffield. Whatever your occasion, you are sure to find a 'warm welcome' from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS, Book Direct Rooms and Despegar.com so you can book your The Fountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Ingbirchworth
The Fountain Inn Ingbirchworth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing