We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reunion Haven”
Review of The Mercury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mercury
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westhoughton
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Warm welcome, friendly staff who couldn't do enough to make the stay a pleasant one, entertainment was brilliant and we sang and danced all night, food was brilliant, and breakfast next morning was just what i needed to set me up for the journey back to Scotland.
Thanks to everyone for making the stay such fun,

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nippy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 162 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2010

we had our second reunion here on 26th june.Brillaint night again.Staff were great and the management even helped with some night time pranks! thank you very much Kwez.
Meal was superb and atmosphere was great.The locals are used to us now..:-).
If you want a friendly relaxed atmosphere this is the venue.Easy to find just off motorway,loads parking.Nothing was to much to ask for.
thanks for another great night,Maggie and co

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trustmemaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Just had our 2nd reunion here and as the last visit it was fantastic.The staff are so friendly and helpful, the food is great and the entertainment on Saturday Nights is good.Hope to see you all again soon.THANKS FOR A TERRIFIC TIME.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

hi , stayed at the mercury for almost 3 months and loved it . the staff are excellent and treat you as part of the family, every meal we ate there was quality and would recomend it to anybody to go and join in the fun when staying there , the quiz nights are great fun and proceeds go to a fantastic charity for ms, the karaoke on a wednesday has to be seen to be believed, britain certainly has got talent. the owners qwez and glynn are just fantastic genuine people who wud quite litterally bend over backwards to please you. im definetley going back wether on business or with the family , Steven, Airdrie

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevengilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

I had my engagement party here in Nov 2009 and Kwez and Glynn were so helpful and flexible with any of our requests, it was by far the best location for our do. Kwez and Glynn went out of their way to make our party special for us and every single one of our 110 guests had a fantastic time, especially the food which was absolutely gorgeous and at a very reasonable cost! I highly recommend this venue for functions! I've also stayed over there and it was lovely, breakfast was amazing and everything was done to make our stay really nice..

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We booked this hotel for our wedding reception, we found all the staff to be very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was brilliant, food was lovely and all our family and friends gave great feedback on the accommodation. We would defintely recomend this venue for family events and functions.

Stayed: September 2009
Thank Maria-Allison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

At a fantastic budget price, we found this hotel by chance. At quarter of a mile from jct 5 of the M61 motorway at Bolton (with plenty of free parking) it's perfect for travellers stopping off en route and is equally placed between Manchester & Preston. At this price don't expect too many frills, but there is free Wi-fi for those who can't do without t'internet and the rooms are warm & clean, the bathrooms perfectly adequate with great white towels, and, to top it all, the staff brilliantly friendly. We quickly became acquainted with the owners, Kwez & Glynn who took a very personal 'hands on' approach to making us feel very welcome from booking in and throughout our stay. Nothing was too much of a problem, and we felt very comfortable, so much so, we spent far too much time in the hotel, socialising with other guests, but not regretting one minute of it!
There's a host of other good pubs & restaurants very close by and Bolton nightlife is a 10 minute taxi ride away.
Food is home-cooked and glorious, and the hidden gem here is that there's a whole social circle going on, particularly at weekends when the place is packed with a middle-aged, friendly crowd, who come from as far as the Wirral, who really live it up to free live entertainment and made us feel as though we had been coming here for years!
Having stayed in the vicinity before, in a couple of the well known, nationwide hotel chains which, unsurprisingly we found very clinical we have to say that this place had long - lost character!.... All in all, a great budget place to stay, catering for all age groups and for the price, we couldn't find anything remotely better -definately recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancashireWeekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westhoughton
1.4 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#9 of 13 in Bolton
481 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bolton
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mercury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mercury

Address: 540 Manchester Road, Westhoughton, Bolton BL5 3JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Westhoughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westhoughton
Price Range: $58 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mercury 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home from home with live entertainment - what more could you want? This privately run establishment offers friendly service, comfort and has entertainment in the bar seven nights a week. Or you can relax in your room watching the freeview television, use the free wireless internet access or have a warm bath or shower in your en-suite. With our home made food you are sure to enjoy your evening at The Mercury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mercury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mercury Hotel Westhoughton
Mercury Hotel Bolton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing