We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular visitor”
Review of The Mercury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mercury
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westhoughton
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have stayed here on average approx one weekend a month for the past two years as I have family in the area - I love it and wouldnt stay anywhere else... and heres why; For the price you pay the rooms are comfortable, warm, bright, have tvs and en suite bath rooms (not just showers...baths!!). Theres always a friendly welcome from the owners who clearly work their socks off to make your stay whatever you want it to be. The bar is very busy as there's entertainment on every night, it's obviously doing something right as people keep coming back. There's certainly an element of real life Phoenix Nights to this place, but that adds to the quirky enjoyment. Its not luxury, and doesnt advertise itself as such, but what it lacks in luxury it more than makes up for in it friendly, welcoming nature. Fantastic place run by fantastic people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryMotel, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoy coming back to The Mercury. It is lovely when people recognise the work we put in to ensure everyone has a good time. As you say we do not advertise ourselves as anything other than budget accommodation but you are afforded a warm welcome. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for The Mercury
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 161 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

So bad it's almost funny. Very odd place.

I didn't think motels existed in the UK until me and the wife stayed here for a couple of nights. The motel is situated right next to a garage forecourt. It is the ugliest looking building I think I have ever seen. It almost looks derelict.

As soon as you enter the building you'll realise that the inside matches the outside. Very dated reception area and halls. Smell of damp and mould everywhere. Some of the room doors have dents in them were people have punched them. The ceiling titles are black with mould, crooked and damaged.

The rooms are quite frankly disgusting. Smelly, mouldy dirty and out of date. Bathroom same. The bed was solid and itchy. The room was unbelievably hot in the night making it impossible to sleep. You can here the other guests EVERY movement. Wifi didn't work.

Bar again is dark moody depressing place to drown your sorrow. Friday night with the locals reminded me of the star wars gally. The food takes forever to come and isn't great. Think they run to the spar next door when a order comes in. Tables are sticky.

Staff are friendly.

To be honest I think the owners should face the fact that a serious amount of money needs to be spent modernising the place. Personally I'd demolish it. I really can't see where the good reviews have come from?
The hotel inspector would struggle with this place. If this is the best accommodation that your budget will get you then I would rather stay at home.

Read the bad reviews because they are very accurate and if you do end up staying here just remember to wipe your feet on your way out.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jra09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryMotel, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Whilst we try to respond to all reviews with realism I feel I am unable to respond to your review. I appreciate that all reviews are a matter of personal opinion but I find there are too many personal judgements to respond to all individually. We accept that we are in need of updating but are friendly & clean with home cooked food to order (which sometimes does take longer than pre bought and microwaved). As for the locals you deride, they are a friendly bunch who openly welcome new people who want to have fun and enjoy the evening as much as they do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Used this “motel “when I went up to Manchester for my mates 70 th surprise party. I found the owner very helpfull and friendly . Although the place is a bit dated the room was very clean as was the bathroom . Needs a bit more modernising . bar prices were very reasonable . breakfast is ordered the night before and very very reasonable.I ordered a full breakfast which was superb. Cooked as I came into the dinning area. Brill.
Only criticism I have is that there is dust on top of the doors in the corridors and the doors need a good wipe over. (was going to mention it to the owner when I left but was a bit pushed for time. I run a cleaning company so notice these things)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank les g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryMotel, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to have the chance to welcome you back again. It is pleasant when somebody who runs a cleaning company recognises how clean the rooms and bathrooms are. We are currently awaiting quotes to have the internal doors repainted as the last repainting used low odour, fast drying paint that soon wears off when cleaned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is just perfect! Great animation in the evening, food is good, breakfast is perfect, the staff is verre friendly and helpfull! If i should describe the hotel in 1 word it should be "PERFECT!"

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryMotel, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your positive review. It was a delight to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here Sat night after visiting friends. Room as others have stated need upgrading, but the bed was comfy. Bathroom not the best, but was adequate and was clean. Room was very warm, but that's not the fault of the owners it's our weird summer! My husband is familiar with the area, as we're our friends and in laws. They all sounded shocked we were going to stay there as in their words "it's got a terrible reputation", well all I will be telling them is, don't knock it until you've tried it. I found it to be more than adequate for what we needed. Breakfast was excellent for a fiver, Kellogg cereals,Warburton bread to toast, choice of cooked breakfast, what's not to like? Staff were friendly and I would recommend to others, even those who seemed shocked. Good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bondgirl44dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryMotel, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Over the last few years we have worked hard to make it a welcoming place for all and are so pleased that you found your experience here shattered what you had been told to expect. We continue with our programme of refurbishment but that does not affect customer service. We hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed when we were cycling Land's End to John O'Groats. I think Westhoughton is a popular stopping point for cyclists doing the same thing; for me, personally, it wouldn't be a destination in itself. The owner was very happy to put our bikes in his garage, which was kind.

The outside of The Mercury is a little worn and so you don't get the best first impression but past that it's better. The receptionist was very friendly and, because she was new, we quickly met the owner/manager/publican and all round good egg, whose name I can't remember, which is a shame.

Our room was ok - clean, quiet, with nice toiletries. Like the facade, ours could have done with a lick of paint but that's it really. It wasn't luxury but then at the bargain price you wouldn't expect it.

We had dinner in the pub lounge and the night was pretty rocking (for others less knackered than us!) - a cabaret night was on and the locals were out in force. Really friendly atmosphere and the food was dirt cheap (and tasty). We chatted to the owner for a little bit and both my boyfriend and I picked up on the fact that he does everything - whatever needs doing - around the place. We got the impression that he works really hard to make it a good place for everyone.

Our bed was comfy and I'm sure we would have had a very reasonable night's sleep had it not been for the rather rowdy family shouting outside our door throughout the night! We stayed on a Saturday night and the pub seems to be the life and soul of the local community, so it's not surprising really.

Breakfast the next day was the usual b&b fare, so that was fine.

All in all, a few tweaks here and there but the owner will do his best to ensure that you have a good, welcoming stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Despite first impressions when arriving in car park, you couldn't ask for a more friendly welcome! Food was excellent - we were almost put off by the cheap prices but glad we stayed on site for food. Bar/restaurant is Retro style. Room was basic but with refurbished bathroom. Over all Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank White-Mischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryMotel, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We agree with you that the kerb appeal of the place is not great. It is hard to make a long flat roofed building look attractive. We focus our efforts inside, providing a welcome and good value and are glad that you were able to appreciate that. We hope in the years to come to continue refurbishments as funds allow – rather like painting the Forth Bridge! We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westhoughton
2.9 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
469 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bolton
1,274 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
5.9 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mercury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mercury

Address: 540 Manchester Road, Westhoughton, Bolton BL5 3JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Westhoughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westhoughton
Price Range: $58 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mercury 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home from home with live entertainment - what more could you want? This privately run establishment offers friendly service, comfort and has entertainment in the bar seven nights a week. Or you can relax in your room watching the freeview television, use the free wireless internet access or have a warm bath or shower in your en-suite. With our home made food you are sure to enjoy your evening at The Mercury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mercury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mercury Hotel Westhoughton
Mercury Hotel Bolton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing