We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mercury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mercury
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westhoughton
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't do it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

So bad it's almost funny. Very odd place.

I didn't think motels existed in the UK until me and the wife stayed here for a couple of nights. The motel is situated right next to a garage forecourt. It is the ugliest looking building I think I have ever seen. It almost looks derelict.

As soon as you enter the building you'll realise that the inside matches the outside. Very dated reception area and halls. Smell of damp and mould everywhere. Some of the room doors have dents in them were people have punched them. The ceiling titles are black with mould, crooked and damaged.

The rooms are quite frankly disgusting. Smelly, mouldy dirty and out of date. Bathroom same. The bed was solid and itchy. The room was unbelievably hot in the night making it impossible to sleep. You can here the other guests EVERY movement. Wifi didn't work.

Bar again is dark moody depressing place to drown your sorrow. Friday night with the locals reminded me of the star wars gally. The food takes forever to come and isn't great. Think they run to the spar next door when a order comes in. Tables are sticky.

Staff are friendly.

To be honest I think the owners should face the fact that a serious amount of money needs to be spent modernising the place. Personally I'd demolish it. I really can't see where the good reviews have come from?
The hotel inspector would struggle with this place. If this is the best accommodation that your budget will get you then I would rather stay at home.

Read the bad reviews because they are very accurate and if you do end up staying here just remember to wipe your feet on your way out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jra09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryMotel, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Whilst we try to respond to all reviews with realism I feel I am unable to respond to your review. I appreciate that all reviews are a matter of personal opinion but I find there are too many personal judgements to respond to all individually. We accept that we are in need of updating but are friendly & clean with home cooked food to order (which sometimes does take longer than pre bought and microwaved). As for the locals you deride, they are a friendly bunch who openly welcome new people who want to have fun and enjoy the evening as much as they do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    39
    22
    10
    25
See reviews for
28
35
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Used this “motel “when I went up to Manchester for my mates 70 th surprise party. I found the owner very helpfull and friendly . Although the place is a bit dated the room was very clean as was the bathroom . Needs a bit more modernising . bar prices were very reasonable . breakfast is ordered the night before and very very reasonable.I ordered a full breakfast which was superb. Cooked as I came into the dinning area. Brill.
Only criticism I have is that there is dust on top of the doors in the corridors and the doors need a good wipe over. (was going to mention it to the owner when I left but was a bit pushed for time. I run a cleaning company so notice these things)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank les g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryMotel, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to have the chance to welcome you back again. It is pleasant when somebody who runs a cleaning company recognises how clean the rooms and bathrooms are. We are currently awaiting quotes to have the internal doors repainted as the last repainting used low odour, fast drying paint that soon wears off when cleaned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niel-bij-As, Limburg, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is just perfect! Great animation in the evening, food is good, breakfast is perfect, the staff is verre friendly and helpfull! If i should describe the hotel in 1 word it should be "PERFECT!"

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryMotel, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. It was a delight to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here Sat night after visiting friends. Room as others have stated need upgrading, but the bed was comfy. Bathroom not the best, but was adequate and was clean. Room was very warm, but that's not the fault of the owners it's our weird summer! My husband is familiar with the area, as we're our friends and in laws. They all sounded shocked we were going to stay there as in their words "it's got a terrible reputation", well all I will be telling them is, don't knock it until you've tried it. I found it to be more than adequate for what we needed. Breakfast was excellent for a fiver, Kellogg cereals,Warburton bread to toast, choice of cooked breakfast, what's not to like? Staff were friendly and I would recommend to others, even those who seemed shocked. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bondgirl44dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryMotel, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Over the last few years we have worked hard to make it a welcoming place for all and are so pleased that you found your experience here shattered what you had been told to expect. We continue with our programme of refurbishment but that does not affect customer service. We hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed when we were cycling Land's End to John O'Groats. I think Westhoughton is a popular stopping point for cyclists doing the same thing; for me, personally, it wouldn't be a destination in itself. The owner was very happy to put our bikes in his garage, which was kind.

The outside of The Mercury is a little worn and so you don't get the best first impression but past that it's better. The receptionist was very friendly and, because she was new, we quickly met the owner/manager/publican and all round good egg, whose name I can't remember, which is a shame.

Our room was ok - clean, quiet, with nice toiletries. Like the facade, ours could have done with a lick of paint but that's it really. It wasn't luxury but then at the bargain price you wouldn't expect it.

We had dinner in the pub lounge and the night was pretty rocking (for others less knackered than us!) - a cabaret night was on and the locals were out in force. Really friendly atmosphere and the food was dirt cheap (and tasty). We chatted to the owner for a little bit and both my boyfriend and I picked up on the fact that he does everything - whatever needs doing - around the place. We got the impression that he works really hard to make it a good place for everyone.

Our bed was comfy and I'm sure we would have had a very reasonable night's sleep had it not been for the rather rowdy family shouting outside our door throughout the night! We stayed on a Saturday night and the pub seems to be the life and soul of the local community, so it's not surprising really.

Breakfast the next day was the usual b&b fare, so that was fine.

All in all, a few tweaks here and there but the owner will do his best to ensure that you have a good, welcoming stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Despite first impressions when arriving in car park, you couldn't ask for a more friendly welcome! Food was excellent - we were almost put off by the cheap prices but glad we stayed on site for food. Bar/restaurant is Retro style. Room was basic but with refurbished bathroom. Over all Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank White-Mischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryMotel, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We agree with you that the kerb appeal of the place is not great. It is hard to make a long flat roofed building look attractive. We focus our efforts inside, providing a welcome and good value and are glad that you were able to appreciate that. We hope in the years to come to continue refurbishments as funds allow – rather like painting the Forth Bridge! We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights recently for a family visit nearby. Made to feel very welcome, not least by the party atmosphere from local people on Fridays and Saturday nights. I would normally run a mile from karaoke style entertainment, but on Friday nights there are some splendid singers and my wife and I enjoyed it enormously. Not luxuriously appointed, but great value- you are not paying 5 star prices. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldrenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryMotel, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Mercury. Cabaret nights on Friday and Saturday are very well attended and we are glad that the atmosphere the regulars generate helped to make you feel so welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westhoughton
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
1.4 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bolton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
5.8 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mercury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mercury

Property: The Mercury
Address: 540 Manchester Road, Westhoughton, Bolton BL5 3JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Westhoughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westhoughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mercury 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home from home with live entertainment - what more could you want? This privately run establishment offers friendly service, comfort and has entertainment in the bar seven nights a week. Or you can relax in your room watching the freeview television, use the free wireless internet access or have a warm bath or shower in your en-suite. With our home made food you are sure to enjoy your evening at The Mercury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Mercury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mercury Hotel Westhoughton
Mercury Hotel Bolton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing