We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst place I've ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Manapouri B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst place I've ever stayed at”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night, thinking how bad can it be? Well: Very! It started with a 10 minute wait at reception - the lady at reception having an lenghty and not so important phone call. Arriving in the room looked dated with "interesting" stains on the floor and the room in a less than prestine state.
I had a suspicion in the evening something bubbled up in the shower when I flushed the toilet, which was confirmed to me the next morning when, after flushing the toilet, I saw what can only be described a "fountain of feces". The whole shower basin filled up with raw sewage, and have pictures to back this up.
Needless to say this was my queue to get out of there asap, and I found out other unit had been suffering the same issue. Despite the full refund I would never stay there again in my life or advice anyone to do so either. In the 100's of hotels, B&B's and motels I've stayed at over the years this is easily the worst.

Room Tip: Head over to Te Anau, it's a much nicer town anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MT20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel. I can not say that this review was unexpected.
I checked this guest out and of course gave him the full refund as he had an awful experience with the drain being blocked.
Unfortunately problems like this occur every now and then in any Hotel. The morning that he left the blocked area was found the drain was dug up which was a major job, the problem was fixed. It was due to a tree root having grown into the pipe at a junction.
As I told the guest at the time I was truly sorry that he had had this experience. He was very angry at the time. He didn't mention anything else that had been a problem.
So I apologise again that this guest had this experience.
As for the 10cm stain on the carpet it is a burn mark where a guest put a hotplate on the floor. Which will require the other wise good carpet to be pulled up and replaced. This is on our annual maintenance list of to do's.
I wonder why the guest who was so enamoured with Te Anau and was in his words thinking How bad can it be chose to stay here? He was ready to find fault with us regardless.
I your are the kind of Traveller that like "Generic Hotel rooms in a Tourist Town" we are not what you are looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    65
    63
    18
    11
See reviews for
23
115
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was a pleasant stay. The price was reasonable considering it was new year. We ate in the bar and enjoyed the band on New Year's Eve.
The accommodation was good and the view was amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnydaz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Hi. I decided to take my son on a road trip to the west coast over Christmas. We were in holiday mode so for this I had to choose a night stay that would help relieve the feeling of "hustle and bustle" . I had reviewed trip advisor to seek suitability of the accommodation with no apprehension. I would normally study a premise first but I didn't this time I read one review.. I already had a good feeling about this place. I made a call and reserved a room. The lady on desk was polite and her enthusiasm was good. On arrival I was greeted by the same reservationists, she was polite and informative. I went to the room allocated to us. On first impression the room was very small. That didn't matter we weren't staying for a week. The view was Magnificent I couldn't ask for any better. The beds were okay nothing to write home about I don't have any complaints. My overall opinion of the premise was Good. Very clean! Thank you. There is no cutlery to make breakfast lunch or dinner so you will need to find cafe or restaurant for that they do have.

Room Tip: Lake front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am please d that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We would absolutely recommend a stay at the Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn. The staff that checks you in is above and beyond helpful. We could not believe how much useful information Pascale offered us when we arrived. So glad we took her suggestion to do the Circle Track and go with Mike on the boat transfer. Pascale is a gem of a staff member, and she truly provided the best customer service we received anywhere during our one month trip to NZ. Thank you Pascale! Annette was also very helpful and we appreciated her smiling suggestions. The motel room was clean and we appreciated the table and two chairs out front our door that we ate at while enjoying the view of the lake. We can't give the property a 5/5 rating because the food in the restaurant was over-priced. The food itself was delicious (kudos to their chef!), but the owner charges too much for the breakfast and dinner mains. We suggest bringing food from Te Anau to keep in your fridge. We didn't get a good impression from the owner of the property. He seemed quite conceited, so that's another tick off the full 5 stars rating. But, his staff was wonderful! This is a great place to stay the night before your Doubtful Sound cruise. Try to stay over a Saturday night and catch the live band. A big thumbs up and cheers to the excellent band Little Green Men. We loved dancing to you guys! Happy New Years!!

Room Tip: The row of rooms lining the main road have excellent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shady Side, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

A decent room, with a wonderful location. But our mattress was unbelievably uncomfortable. I would never stay there again without a guarantee of a new mattress. What else can I say? Avoid this place if you can.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel. Could you please let me know which room/ Bed it was that you slept in so that we can investigate this further.
In future if you have specific maintenance / equipment issues it is helpful to let front desk know. Rather than write is as a review.
Regards
Inger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manapouri hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The view right outside all of the rooms was stunning.

The rooms were very clean and we really enjoyed our quiet stay at Lake Manapouri.

I would recommend this place to anyone staying in the area.

There is not much else around though so bring your own dinner or eat before you get there or you'll have to drive 20 min each way to go back to Te Anu to eat.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelingOnPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel.
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. Were you unaware that we have a Bar and Café with quite a selection for food options?
We are the only late night restaurant in Manapouri ( open till 900-9.30pm), 7 days per week or
The local shop/ café is open 7am to 6.30pm 7 days per week. Where you can buy food or ready made meals.
Regards
Inger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I Spent one night here as part of a tour group.
There is a well stocked bar and lounge on the premises, as well as a restaurant.
This was the main haunt of the workers when the Manapouri power station was being built.
Access to internet is through a coin operated PC.It was out when I visited.
Great view of the lake and mountains, short walk down to the lake.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odobenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
10.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
11.0 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
10.9 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 23 in Te Anau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
6.0 mi away
Murrell's Grand View House
Murrell's Grand View House
#2 of 5 in Manapouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
11.1 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn

Property: Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
Address: 68 Cathedral Drive | PO Box 106, Manapouri 9643, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Manapouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manapouri is New Zealand's best kept secret, situated 15 mins scenic drive from Te Anau, which is the departure point for Doubtful Sound trips. The Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn is the ideal base for all Fiordland activities and a preferred staying accommodation for all those wishing to enjoy an accomplishing and satisfying holiday experience. Guests staying at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn get the best opportunity to visit some of the mostrenowned tourist places in New Zealand. Some of the famous tourist attractions near the hotel are Doubtful Sound, Lake Te Anau, Te Anau Caves, Milford Track, Lake Manapouri Southern Scenic Route, Kepler Track, Routeburn Track, Queenstown and Fiordland National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Hotel Manapouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing