We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“second class guest” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Manapouri B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“second class guest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

the best is the great view over the lake through a huge window
the worst is to be confined in a small double room with an unexpectd extra bed wich means no space to move. if you chose the budhet units they make you feel like a second class guest (and they remind it to you at the reception) when having to pay the WIFIconnection per hour and in a NOT SERVICED ROOM! Unbelievable for a long stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diego l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel. We are sorry that you felt like a 2nd class guest because you choose the Budget option of accommodation.
In order to keep the cost down for the budget room option we do not service the rooms. Guests are made aware of this when they book. This was the case with internet options. However we now give limited access 30mins free to customers in Budget units.
Its the user pays idea, think budget air travel etc...
We do however service our other units daily and provide free of charge internet with limited access.
It is not our intention to make anyone feel like a second class guest.
Regards
Inger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    65
    63
    17
    11
See reviews for
22
113
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holderness, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
169 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Words can't describe the view out your window at this motor inn. Fabulous! The lake with the white-capped rugged mountains in the distance is amazing. Our room was spacious, clean and well appointed. Housekeeping can be commended. We stayed here two nights and really dreaded leaving. Soak in the peace and quiet and the view, and then go on the Doubtful Sound boat tour. You will not be disappointed! Great experience!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Busyinnkeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on the comments to the rest of the team. Guest feed back is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in the house on the property. It was nice and cozy on winter holiday. Great view of the lake and mountains. It was quiet since we went in the winter. We would stay there again! There was even a thank you note from the LOTR crew in the inn's lobby. And we are LOTR fans.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Guest feed back is very important to us.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have to agree with previous reviewers, the front motel rooms have fantastic views, however you do need to be aware that the hotel parking is in front of the rooms, so you can fairly easily have your view obstructed! You do also need to be aware that there are some motel rooms at the back of the front row. They are slightly raised so will have some view, but as we did not stay in them we do not know how good the view is from there. The rooms themselves vary, we had one of the better units with separate bedroom and living area. This unit was spacious clean and had full facilities including a well equipped kitchenette. At $150 it was one of the less expensive places we stayed and we would have to say it was good value. It also had a good laundry that was less expensive than many. There is a café adjoining the hotel, which whilst not a top class eating venue did produce some very enjoyable food. All in all this is a good hotel with excellent views (albeit with the possibility of obstruction!).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manapouri, Manager at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and assure you that we encourage guests to park only in front of their own room - or in the case of the rooms you stayed in - next to it. We hope to see you again if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Amazing room!!! Everything I needed and more!!! Loved the tv in the bedroom!! Was super handy having a kitchen in the room also! The view is truely "picture perfect"!!!
The restaurant was fabulous, Blue Cod & Chips washed down with a cold Speights :) Magic!
All the staff were super helpful and friendly!! Can't wait to come stay again soon!
I would recommend the Motor Inn to everyone, especially my close friends and family!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pruski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manapouri, Manager at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Fantastic view and really nice room with good outlook over lake. Great bath after a long day driving. Friendly checkin staff who were really helpful getting us on a Doubtful Sound cruise. Dinner was fantastic and bar staff were fun. Would recommend.

Room Tip: The front rooms are the best - they have somewhere to sit outside with a fabulous outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manapouri, Manager at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are all very happy you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Little bit disappointed at what the rate entailed compared to our accommodation in Te Anau, which was brand new. Cannot fault the cleanliness of the room, nor the quality of the bedding etc, but $150 for just a room with a bed, bathroom, and tea & coffee making facilities was a bit steep. View was incredible even if it was over the top of other units - still stunning. Service was non descript but I guess if you don't ask you don't get! I wish motels/hotels would consider the size of the electric jug when you are required to fill it under the bathroom tap!!! Hot water situation also needs adressing - we had to wait approximately five minutes each time we had a shower before the hot water came.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We have been in direct contact with the reviewer Chris W as we were concerned about the content of this review and the one made about the Lakeview Café by this couple.
For future reference please when writing a review it is helpful to us if the areas of concern are specified, this helps us identify the problem and enables us to investigate further.
In this case thanks to the communication that we have had with the reviewer we now know the room that they stayed in, the correct price of Ice creams and to reduce the amount of Basil in our Pasta as it not to everyone's taste. Our check in procedure is now undergoing an upgrade and the admin errors in email correspondence have been addressed. Finally a new jug more suitable in size has been purchased for the unit.
We always value peoples opinions, especially those that are in the accommodation industry themselves, as these reviewers are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
10.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
11.0 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
10.9 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Murrell's Grand View House
Murrell's Grand View House
#2 of 5 in Manapouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral Peaks B&B
Cathedral Peaks B&B
#3 of 5 in Manapouri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
11.0 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn

Property: Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
Address: 68 Cathedral Drive | PO Box 106, Manapouri 9643, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Manapouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manapouri is New Zealand's best kept secret, situated 15 mins scenic drive from Te Anau, which is the departure point for Doubtful Sound trips. The Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn is the ideal base for all Fiordland activities and a preferred staying accommodation for all those wishing to enjoy an accomplishing and satisfying holiday experience. Guests staying at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn get the best opportunity to visit some of the mostrenowned tourist places in New Zealand. Some of the famous tourist attractions near the hotel are Doubtful Sound, Lake Te Anau, Te Anau Caves, Milford Track, Lake Manapouri Southern Scenic Route, Kepler Track, Routeburn Track, Queenstown and Fiordland National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Hotel Manapouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing