We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Manapouri B&B and Inns
Falls Church
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location is everything here”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a modest motel situated in a glorious location. It is hard to imagine that this beautiful lake is not surrounded by high end hotels...but that is New Zealand. The rooms were comfortable, clean and adequate, comparable to a Holiday Inn here in the States. But just looking out your window to see the lake and mountains made the room virtually unimportant. Great walking path near the hotel too along the lake.

Room Tip: Front row of the motel that faces the lake seemed to have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravellersTw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manapouri, Manager at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next time you come to Manapouri.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    66
    64
    18
    11
See reviews for
23
116
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford UK
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Yes the place is dated and in needs freshing up. I liked the fact there was a slightly too small communal kitchen but all the other guests were friendly and it was nice to socialise whilst cooking. The major MAJOR perk of this place was the view from your room - utterly stunning lake view. I was amazed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkiebar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manapouri, Manager at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you had a good stay and hope to see you again if you return to Fiordland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here in Nov 2012. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The setting of the Inn is absolutely spectacular and it's well worth getting up early to walk to the lake and photograph the amazing scenery. The rooms were very comfortable and the restaurant was excellent and happy to serve what we liked. The bar staff were welcoming and this is a place that I would be very happy to return to. Excellent value for travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marywalsh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manapouri Motor... L, Manager at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here while we got late during our Milford journey. Very bad rooms and no service at all. I think the hotel makes its earnings from the fact that very few hotels exist near Milford

Suggest you drive back to Queenstown if possible the same day

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParagbMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manapouri Motor... L, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. You chose to stay with us and we are 2 and a half hours drive from Milford. Te Anau which is closer to Milford by 15 minutes has 4 hotels and over 30 Motels and B& B's to choose from.
I would guess that you stayed with us because our Budget Priced rooms.
You stayed in one of our Budget Units. We are a 3 star Hotel and our Budget units are our No-frills option.
Could you please expand on the comment "no service at all".
What we hope to achieve by getting customer feed back is to pinpoint the areas of concern, so that we can investigate and improve our product to meet our customers needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manapouri hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is definitely the worst hotel/motel we have ever stayed at. YHA hostels would be a luxury compared to this one.
This room was supposed to be a standard queen studio but we got placed in a budget room instead inspite of paying the price for a queen studio.
The pictures put up on their website had nothing to do with the room we got. The rooms are extremely extremely small and extremely expensive for the state they are in. The room will allow just one person to move around at one given point.
The sand flies will make sure u cannot stay outside for more than 2 - 3 mins, so there no point of having a view of parked cars, bushes and a bit of lake if you strech ur neck. The only place to sit in the room is the bed or in the toilet.
room was mouldy and the heater would not work properly. Water in the bath area will not drain out after shower. The common kitchen is filthy and stinking.
Added to all this the staff is not even freindly. I would not stay at this place even if it were free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manapouri Motor... L, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for placing your feedback on our Hotel. We are very concerned that you mentioned that you didn't get the room that you paid for, that is you were in a Budget unit and not a Queen room. If you had brought this to our attention at the time of your stay we could have ensured that this was rectified.
We have investigated our rooms and have found no mould in the Budget units. Could please enlighten us as to the unit number and date of your stay to help us ensure that this does not happen again.
We do advertise the communal kitchen as very basic and we have not plans to up grade this at this time.
Unfortunately the Sand-fly's are beyond our control.
You definitely sound like Te Anau would have suited your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here for a night while awaiting the roads to open after the rains at Milford.
The motel's property is sprawling though not well maintained and reeks of old plumbing and woodwork. Rooms are just average and not properly insulated from the outdoor weather. Nonetheless, the large windows open up to impressive views of the Manapouri Lake and mountains. Bathrooms are cold owing to bad insulation; bathware were old and stained.
There is an inhouse bar with a nice pool table and booze at bargain prices. An adjacent farm (owned by the motel) has two friendly alpacas for people to feed and pet.
Prices are a bargain and hence recommended for a night's stayover while doing the doubtful sound cruises.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nandu_forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manapouri Motor... L, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
Our Budget units are just that -as advertised they are a no frill option.
If you require upgrades to our Standard Queen units or Deluxe King units we are happy facilitate that for you on arrival if the Budget unit falls short of your needs.
We would rather be proactive and address any issues that you have at the time of your stay than learn of your dissatisfaction when we are unable to do any thing about it after you have departed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked in for one night on our Christmas South Island trip. Our check-in was very quick and the three staff that were there were all really friendly.

Our room was basic and felt a little like we had stepped back in time with old decor and old bathroom. That said, the room was very clean and we got a good nights sleep.

The view from the room was stunning looking right over the lake.

We tossed up whether to go to Te Anau for dinner or try the inhouse restaurant. We took a punt and had a drink in the bar followed by dinner in the restaurant. We were very glad we did as we really enjoyed our meals and had good service.

I would recommend this place for a night's stay if you are passing through the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sejie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
10.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
10.8 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#20 of 23 in Te Anau
415 reviews
11.0 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
498 reviews
10.8 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
372 reviews
11.1 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn

Property: Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
Address: 68 Cathedral Drive | PO Box 106, Manapouri 9643, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Manapouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manapouri is New Zealand's best kept secret, situated 15 mins scenic drive from Te Anau, which is the departure point for Doubtful Sound trips. The Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn is the ideal base for all Fiordland activities and a preferred staying accommodation for all those wishing to enjoy an accomplishing and satisfying holiday experience. Guests staying at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn get the best opportunity to visit some of the mostrenowned tourist places in New Zealand. Some of the famous tourist attractions near the hotel are Doubtful Sound, Lake Te Anau, Te Anau Caves, Milford Track, Lake Manapouri Southern Scenic Route, Kepler Track, Routeburn Track, Queenstown and Fiordland National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Hotel Manapouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing