We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Manapouri B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here while we got late during our Milford journey. Very bad rooms and no service at all. I think the hotel makes its earnings from the fact that very few hotels exist near Milford

Suggest you drive back to Queenstown if possible the same day

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParagbMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manapouri Motor... L, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. You chose to stay with us and we are 2 and a half hours drive from Milford. Te Anau which is closer to Milford by 15 minutes has 4 hotels and over 30 Motels and B& B's to choose from.
I would guess that you stayed with us because our Budget Priced rooms.
You stayed in one of our Budget Units. We are a 3 star Hotel and our Budget units are our No-frills option.
Could you please expand on the comment "no service at all".
What we hope to achieve by getting customer feed back is to pinpoint the areas of concern, so that we can investigate and improve our product to meet our customers needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    65
    64
    18
    11
See reviews for
23
116
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is definitely the worst hotel/motel we have ever stayed at. YHA hostels would be a luxury compared to this one.
This room was supposed to be a standard queen studio but we got placed in a budget room instead inspite of paying the price for a queen studio.
The pictures put up on their website had nothing to do with the room we got. The rooms are extremely extremely small and extremely expensive for the state they are in. The room will allow just one person to move around at one given point.
The sand flies will make sure u cannot stay outside for more than 2 - 3 mins, so there no point of having a view of parked cars, bushes and a bit of lake if you strech ur neck. The only place to sit in the room is the bed or in the toilet.
room was mouldy and the heater would not work properly. Water in the bath area will not drain out after shower. The common kitchen is filthy and stinking.
Added to all this the staff is not even freindly. I would not stay at this place even if it were free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manapouri Motor... L, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for placing your feedback on our Hotel. We are very concerned that you mentioned that you didn't get the room that you paid for, that is you were in a Budget unit and not a Queen room. If you had brought this to our attention at the time of your stay we could have ensured that this was rectified.
We have investigated our rooms and have found no mould in the Budget units. Could please enlighten us as to the unit number and date of your stay to help us ensure that this does not happen again.
We do advertise the communal kitchen as very basic and we have not plans to up grade this at this time.
Unfortunately the Sand-fly's are beyond our control.
You definitely sound like Te Anau would have suited your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manapouri hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here for a night while awaiting the roads to open after the rains at Milford.
The motel's property is sprawling though not well maintained and reeks of old plumbing and woodwork. Rooms are just average and not properly insulated from the outdoor weather. Nonetheless, the large windows open up to impressive views of the Manapouri Lake and mountains. Bathrooms are cold owing to bad insulation; bathware were old and stained.
There is an inhouse bar with a nice pool table and booze at bargain prices. An adjacent farm (owned by the motel) has two friendly alpacas for people to feed and pet.
Prices are a bargain and hence recommended for a night's stayover while doing the doubtful sound cruises.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nandu_forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manapouri Motor... L, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
Our Budget units are just that -as advertised they are a no frill option.
If you require upgrades to our Standard Queen units or Deluxe King units we are happy facilitate that for you on arrival if the Budget unit falls short of your needs.
We would rather be proactive and address any issues that you have at the time of your stay than learn of your dissatisfaction when we are unable to do any thing about it after you have departed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked in for one night on our Christmas South Island trip. Our check-in was very quick and the three staff that were there were all really friendly.

Our room was basic and felt a little like we had stepped back in time with old decor and old bathroom. That said, the room was very clean and we got a good nights sleep.

The view from the room was stunning looking right over the lake.

We tossed up whether to go to Te Anau for dinner or try the inhouse restaurant. We took a punt and had a drink in the bar followed by dinner in the restaurant. We were very glad we did as we really enjoyed our meals and had good service.

I would recommend this place for a night's stay if you are passing through the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sejie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

As you can tell from the title the view is amazing, we booked a ocean view room and it delivered.

Manapouri itself is very quiet but that's what we needed after queenstown. It felt like we were the only one's there but that's what we all want right?

In checking in the girl was friendly and assigned us our room and explained the way to te-anu ( 20 mins by car )

Room was clean although slightly dated now but again was clean and bed was comfy and we had TV, kettle, iron etc so can't complain.

Shower was slow but hot which was lovely.

The restaurant/ bar area if the place was okay we ate there one night and the food was good ( $20 minimum pp ) and it was quite busy so appears many locals come here.

I enjoyed the solitude of the place and looking at that perfect view. It is a good place to stay if doing an excursion to milford sound and after going to te anu whilst it has shops and restaurants I would stay here again as its lovely and quiet and 20 mins away from te anu.

Wifi/ Internet did not work at all whilst we were there and on mentioning to the receptionist she advised she would reset it but hadn't done it before and on coming back from milford sound it still didn't work so disappointing this was and not a note from reception to say otherwise or a free beer at the bar etc or something.

Overall it was good and with wifi and a slightly better choice menu in the restaurant and a slight room decor upgrade it would be really nice.

I would stay again as the view!!!

:)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchandsheyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manapouri Motor... L, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Property.

I would like to apologise for the problems with the WiFi. We had a bad electrical storm last week that fried our phone system and it seems to have caused problems with the WiFi connection. As it was an intermittent problem it took a while to track down the cause. The Internet Serviceman was here 2 days ago and it is now fixed.

The matter has been discussed with the staff and they now have clear instructions on what to do if this happens again.

Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.
Kind regards
Inger Nicholson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Firstly I appreciate that we stayed in the economy rooms which might not represent the best the place can offer. This was just a place to sleep while doing Doubtful Sound.

The room itself was clean if a little dated (ok think 1970s) in decorator. The view was fine considering it was a cheap seat room. Mountains aplenty!

The Butlins feel came from exterior design - I was having flash backs to childhood holidays in Cornwall in the 70's. I understand that they are limited to what they can do externally so this is unlikely to change. It was also berift of other guests (or so it seemed) which didn't help the ambiance.

We drove to 15 minutes to Te Anau to eat so can't comment on the food. To put it bluntly, apart from a few more motels and a greasy spoon in Pearl Harbour there is diddly squat in Manapouri, bar the lake front. (Lots of sandfly - beware)

In summary we probably got what we paid for!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpacedMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manapouri Motor... L, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review our property.
The building is late 1960's for which we make no excuse. We are proud of its Architecture and its reputation an iconic Kiwi Hotel. Manapouri has a rich History of Tourism and Hydro Electric power schemes which was why the Hotel was orinally built. Sand-flies unfortunately come with the territory.

Its a shame you didn't get experience dining in our local Bar/ Cafe.

One question Is the Greasy Spoon that you mentioned the coffee Bar at Pearl Harbour? To my knowledge they only serve coffee and make sandwiches for picnic lunches.

Thanks again for the review.
Regards
Inger Nicholson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

As you prepare yourself for a great drive to Milford, this place was our pit stop for dining before checking in at Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Parks & Motel. The enviroment was pleasing, so clean with large dining and bar area. The food was delicious and as usual the kids loved their spaghetti. The view was awesome overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranXav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
10.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
10.8 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
11.0 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Murrell's Grand View House
Murrell's Grand View House
#1 of 5 in Manapouri
76 reviews
10.8 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
601 reviews
11.1 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn

Property: Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
Address: 68 Cathedral Drive | PO Box 106, Manapouri 9643, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Manapouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manapouri is New Zealand's best kept secret, situated 15 mins scenic drive from Te Anau, which is the departure point for Doubtful Sound trips. The Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn is the ideal base for all Fiordland activities and a preferred staying accommodation for all those wishing to enjoy an accomplishing and satisfying holiday experience. Guests staying at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn get the best opportunity to visit some of the mostrenowned tourist places in New Zealand. Some of the famous tourist attractions near the hotel are Doubtful Sound, Lake Te Anau, Te Anau Caves, Milford Track, Lake Manapouri Southern Scenic Route, Kepler Track, Routeburn Track, Queenstown and Fiordland National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Hotel Manapouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing