We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six visit an odd campsite!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manapouri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manapouri Motorhome & Caravan Park
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Two halves to this review. The site is magnificent, amenities are new and immaculate, lovely showers, good laundry kit, well equipped kitchen and warm lounge and dining area. Nice quiet setting, beautiful sky at night. Amenity block would be better placed midway between pitches as quite a trek if taking a spot near perimeter, but that's a small point. Very fair rate for pitches, all looked great....................

However, behaviour of hostess (Gloria) is distinctly odd. She made a point of coming into the kitchen while we were cooking to silently open windows, was obviously monitoring us, walking through dining area while we were eating, and made a point of checking our children's activity in lounge. My son was disturbed by her rapping on the toilet door asking who was in there, noting that the toilet doors oddly have "locks" on the inside and outside which means they will always open.

Most odd of all, my wife chose to take a late night shower (11pm ish) as we had a 7.30am start on boat trip. Before she could take the shower there was a rapping on the door asking "What do you think you are doing using the bathroom at this hour?!". She then waited for my wife to exit the bathroom explaining that using the combined shower/toilet room was a fire risk and mustn't be used after 10pm. My wife was visibly unsettled on returning to the camper and we contemplated leaving that night but settled for locking all doors! I was then a little apprehensive going for my 6.30am shower!

Now getting to the end of a three week road trip in NZ and this site was a bit unique, but definitely not always in a good way. We would not really recommend this site and we moved on the next night.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 83 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

This site is mainly for campervans and has limited pitches for tents. We camped there in a tent for six nights. The facilities are brand new and immaculate. There are ensuite style bathrooms as well as normal toilets in a large amenities block. The camp itself is wonderfully sheltered with many well planned hedges. Although you cannot see the lake, the view of the mountains is stunning. The lake is a minutes drive away in the car. The owners are very friendly and very helpful, they lit a fire for us in the communal lounge when when it got chilly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Excellent facilities, very clean, very nice. Upon arrival we were told in rather stern terms that it was not a party destination, "no yahooing" and should at all times should be suitable for families; that suited us just fine. Best facilities of any place we stayed over the holiday.

Excellent showers. Clean modern toilets. Excellent washing/dryer machines. Excellent cooking facilities.

Not the spot for 18-25s, best for relaxed couples and families who like a relaxed and quiet atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank abc223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

During our summer vacation we stumbled upon this caravan park and according to Kiwi Wiki you could camp at this particular park. Unfortunately we were greeted by a rather unfriendly lady who told in no uncertain terms that we were not welcome, despite that fact that we could see a tent pitched in the park. We have lived in New Zealand for over 2 years and I have never experienced such a rude and unfriendly response, you might want to think about putting no tents on your sign.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Lu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

After spending quite a few nights in bumper to bumper caravan parks, this one was a breath of fresh air lots of space. The amenities block was always clean and even though we were there in early January, it was very uncrowded! And take some time to have a chat to the owners - they are classic New Zealanders with a sense of humour to match!

Room Tip: To minimize the walk to the amenities, take one of the first spaces in the camping area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Need a stop over in manapouri after the power station, this is the place, great sites,like new bathrooms and kitchen. Very we'll run. Good fare rates.
Just a 15 min walk from the wharf. Very quiet at night.

Room Tip: Good for family's well set out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

6 of us in 3 motorhomes originally booked in for 1 night in November 2013 and planned to move on the following day after a tour to Doubtful Sound. However, the gardens. spotless facilities and large sites enticed us back for another day. The open, airy sites are set in a garden setting that would rival a European chateau. And for all of that the cost was at least $10 a night cheaper. Selly and Gloria seem to run the place more as a hobby than a business and make you feel very welcome. If only all motor home parks were this good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaddyNayNay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manapouri hotels
0.7 mi away
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
5.4 mi away
Murrell's Grand View House
Murrell's Grand View House
#1 of 5 in Manapouri
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Freestone Backpackers
Freestone Backpackers
#3 of 5 in Manapouri
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manapouri Motorhome & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manapouri Motorhome & Caravan Park

Address: 170 Hillside Manapouri Road | Rd1, Manapouri 9679, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Manapouri
Price Range: $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation Facilities We offer for your convienience:•Motorhome and Caravan sites•Powered or unpowered sites•Water to all sites•Large sites for buses or 5th wheelers•Plenty of room in each site for awnings & storage•Wide gravel drives and laneways for easy access•Expansive lawned areas. Amenities:Fantastic en-suite type showers with modern vanities and toilets•Commercial quality washing machines & dryers•Fantastic kitchen area with fridge space available•Excellent cooking facilities, microwaves and large dining area•Large lounge area•Internet•Outdoor clothesline to hang your dainties!•First class dump station ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing