We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop over”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manapouri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manapouri Motorhome & Caravan Park
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Need a stop over in manapouri after the power station, this is the place, great sites,like new bathrooms and kitchen. Very we'll run. Good fare rates.
Just a 15 min walk from the wharf. Very quiet at night.

Room Tip: Good for family's well set out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 83 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

6 of us in 3 motorhomes originally booked in for 1 night in November 2013 and planned to move on the following day after a tour to Doubtful Sound. However, the gardens. spotless facilities and large sites enticed us back for another day. The open, airy sites are set in a garden setting that would rival a European chateau. And for all of that the cost was at least $10 a night cheaper. Selly and Gloria seem to run the place more as a hobby than a business and make you feel very welcome. If only all motor home parks were this good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaddyNayNay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at that beautiful camp on the 22.10.13
The park is very beautiful, and very clean and pleasant.
The showers were spotless.
The fireside was burning and the kitchen was wonderful.
When we got there, Gloria the owner gave us 100 mega wifi for 2 $ . We asked for more 3 passwords for 6 $ but she refused to sell them, and she said that she is very unhappy.
This is the first time in all our tour all over nz that we met such an attitude.
Although the bitter taste of the lady behavior , we recommend that park to all the travelers .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here 14th and 15th September. What an excellent caravan park. The owners Selwyn and Gloria have put a lot of love and attention into this park. The gardens and amenities are perfect. The fire was always burning. We felt at home and would have loved to have stayed longer. Great value, make sure you stop here when in Manapouri when on your way to Doubtful Sound.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay00_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We found this place from the tourism radio we had in the campervan. VERY glad we did! The facilities are awesome, the shower made me feel like I was back at home and not at a campsite!! The hosts, Gloria and Selwyn were so lovely and always up for a good chat. The fire in the main building was kept burning the entire time we were there so we always walked into a wonderfully warm kitchen and bathrooms (unlike most sites where it's very cold even inside in the winter!!). The price at $34 was very reasonable and the only site that advertises it's price and never changes it throughout the seasons. Highly recommend you stay here!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmedgeLedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a great campsite in a good location with great scenery and only 5mins drive away from where you get the boat to take you on your Doubtful Sound trip.
For a powered/non-powered site it cost $34 and the park had all the basic facilities such as kitchen, bathrooms, internet, dump site, laundry and TV room.
It is a very well maintained site and the owners are really nice and willing to assist you with anything you need.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Friendly and very helpful owners. Low rates all year round.
Modern kitchen and communal dining area warmed with wood fire.
Park is spacious with large sites surrounded by hedges. Walk from park to the lake. We extended our stay in Manapouri because of this park.

Leana and Phil from Perth Australia

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
1.4 mi away
Possum Lodge
Possum Lodge
#19 of 23 in Fiordland National Park
75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
5.4 mi away
Murrell's Grand View House
Murrell's Grand View House
#1 of 5 in Manapouri
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Freestone Backpackers
Freestone Backpackers
#3 of 5 in Manapouri
57 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Manapouri Motorhome & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manapouri Motorhome & Caravan Park

Address: 170 Hillside Manapouri Road | Rd1, Manapouri 9679, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Manapouri
Price Range: $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation Facilities We offer for your convienience:•Motorhome and Caravan sites•Powered or unpowered sites•Water to all sites•Large sites for buses or 5th wheelers•Plenty of room in each site for awnings & storage•Wide gravel drives and laneways for easy access•Expansive lawned areas. Amenities:Fantastic en-suite type showers with modern vanities and toilets•Commercial quality washing machines & dryers•Fantastic kitchen area with fridge space available•Excellent cooking facilities, microwaves and large dining area•Large lounge area•Internet•Outdoor clothesline to hang your dainties!•First class dump station ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing