We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Murrell's Grand View House
Ranked #1 of 5 Manapouri B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two glorious nights in this very special part of the world. Rob & Philippa were the perfect hosts - helped with all kinds of information - nothing was too much trouble - the house itself has real character and is very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return again soon for the third time. Thanks Rob & Philippa

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandViewHouse, Owner at Murrell's Grand View House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand View House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay again and we are certainly looking forwarding to hosting you another time - we will be here. Perhaps you should come next year for the 125th birthday of the house!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    20
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Authentic is a much-abused word in marketing, but this is as good as it gets in a 'real' New Zealand encounter: staying in a historic family-operated guest house, with fifth-generation hosts who are genuinely enthusiastic about what they offer: comfort, central but peaceful and beautiful location, (great for stargazing on clear nights), exceptional local knowledge and professional flair. A lovely treat. And magnificent muffins!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The old guest house has been restored to most of its former glory, with all mod cons and amazing, personal service.The scenery is magnificent and the ambience relaxing. It was wonderful to wake from a deep sleep by the sound of native birdlife.
Thoroughly recommended for a peaceful stay - and the breakfast is magnificent!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2012

One of my favourite places to escape to in NZ. Gorgeous location, genuine hosts and lovely accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bexrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
210 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Murrells have been in Manapouri since the late 1880s. The history of the house and the family made our visit so special. Very hospitable, accommodating hosts and great breakfasts were added treats. The view and location is spectacular. Would highly recommend Murrell's Grand View House to anyone interested in history or the culture of the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charleytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Philippa and Robert Murrell have inherited a trust for both the history of the Manapouri region, but the building that is their 'Grand View House'. The house itself is ancient and is settled into a comfortable, but not modern building. The room(s) are quite well suited for comfort, as are the bathrooms. The view from our end room was from a picture book of alpine spectaculars, with September snows, deep blue water of Lake Manapouri, and native birds everywhere. Robert had the most time while we were there, and offered sound advice on tramps, restaurants, and even garnished a seat in the recommended overflight of Dusky and Doubtful sounds with Jennie Rolston of Fly Fiordland. The pilot herself was full narration of the mountains, islands, and land masses surrounding our hour+ flight. The weather during our trip was spectacular (a word I use repeatedly during my visit to Manapouri). This is just a lovely place for couples to be as alone as you want, or groups of people to essentially have the whole mansion to themselves and enjoy the surrounding fiord area. We are already planning a return, and will spend more than our 4 days to further tramp and see this unspoiled part of the world.

Room Tip: Have included pictures of room where we stayed. A picture of original Murrells, and scenery just o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenckes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We came across Murrell's Grand View House by chance, and could not believe our luck . We did not tie the knot there, but in every other way our experience matched that of the previous reviewers. The sense of history was something special - and touched us in a very personal way. Lovers of modern luxury may feel the rates are a little expensive for the level of accommodation but what we found there was, in many ways, priceless.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank visiting-doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
8.1 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
8.6 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
8.6 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
6.0 mi away
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
9.5 mi away
Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrell's Grand View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrell's Grand View House

Property: Murrell's Grand View House
Address: 7 Murrell Avenue, Manapouri 9643, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Manapouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Murrell's Grand View House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murrells Grand View House, Manapouri, offers hosted bed and breakfast accommodation in a quiet, relaxed environment which commands stunning views of the lakes and mountains beyond. The house has been owned and operated as a guest house by the Murrell family since 1889. Robert and Philippa are the 4th generation of Murrells to welcome guests to the house and they enjoy sharing this unique historic house with travellers from all over the world. Welcome refreshments are included in the tariff as is a substantial breakfast served at a time to suit guests' itineraries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Murrell's Grand View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing