We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to little paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Freestone Backpackers
Ranked #4 of 5 Manapouri B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Very charming cottages with a spectacular 'million dollar view' from your private balcony, with your own little kitchen & a romantic wood stove. Clean and tidy, nice surroundings with birdsong all day long, the owners Jimmy & Kerstin are amazing & very helpful hosts with great knowledge about Fiordland. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stallmeischter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 57 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Very charming. If you can try and prebook an ensuite cabin it will make a world of difference. this was an amazing rural stay experience. a wooden cabin where you build ur own fire to stay warm at night and use a gas cooker. Stayed w my husband in a standard double and was quite uncomfortable hiking to the toilet (virtually impossible at night-bring a flashlight!!) but it was all part of the experience. breathtaking views on our private porch. woke up to horses chomping on leaves outside our room. Such an incredible and friendly host. A definate highlight must-stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sacha423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Yes it's basic, and it's on the side of a hill (so you have to walk up & down slopes to get anywhere), but it's great fun, relaxed and loads of fun. A wood burner in each cabin!

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had booked a backpacker room at Freestone but upon arrival Kirsten offered us the gorgeous ensuite room in the main house at a reduced rate. After seeing it I couldn't turn it down, actually I wanted to never leave. The room and deck have a 270* view of the lake and mountains, amazing even the next day when it was a bit foggy. There is free wifi, extremely comfy bed, and a spa shower that was too complicated for us mortals but gave a fabulous shower anyway. When we told Jimmy we were going to town to get some cereal he opened his cupboard and gave us breakfast. As we packed to leave Kirsten was playing beautifully on the piano. The backpackers cabins are sweet and I'm sure we would have been content, but this room was just exceptional.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tg1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed at several backpackers during our trip to NZ, and this was the best: a nice, quiet, comfortable cabin surrounded by flowering shrubs, with a view of Manapouri Lake and the mountains beyond. The cabin was well-equipped with basic cooking facilities, the bed was comfortable, and everything was clean and well maintained. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMA-PDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed with Kirstin and Jimmy in mid-December. We stayed in an ensuite room up at the main house and it was spectacular. The views were terrific, the room extremely spacious and comfortable, and the hospitality they showed us was very special. We had a nice evening with Kirstin, Jimmy, and some other guests out on the porch at the main house. Definitely a great choice for the Manapouri area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vancones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I travelled the whole of the south island and this was my favourite place. For 66 dollars you get your own hut with balcony and sink, couch and table. And as the huts are built on a hill with bushes all around you feel like you have the whole place to yourself. The owners really make you feel at home, they have horses hanging around, birds everywhere and great views of the surrounding area and lake manapouri. Also I believe the owner is a concert pianist and will do concerts in their house which is at the top of the hill.
The only thing I would say is that it's in the middle of nowhere so you would probably need a car to get there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanssprungfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
9.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.6 mi away
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
4.4 mi away
Murrell's Grand View House
Murrell's Grand View House
#1 of 5 in Manapouri
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freestone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestone Backpackers

Address: 270 Hillside Rd, Manapouri 9064, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Manapouri
Price Range: $64 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our private, cosy timber chalets with wood burner, solar lighting, kitchen and shared bath facilities. You can choose the luxury lodge with spa or a 4 bedroom holiday house. All our rooms have stunning views of mountains and Lake Manapouri. The place is a great base for a holiday in Fiordland, Doubtful and Milford Sound cruises, kayaking, Kepler, Dusky tracks etc or simply as food for the soul. Free bookings. Hosts: Jimmy & Kerstin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Freestone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing