We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
82
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering pearl harbour great hosts new zealand milford sound te anau cottage was spotlessly clean laundry powder stayed nights cooking oil departure point look no further jo barbecue supplies heating boat
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 88 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband, brother-in-law and I can't thank Zeb and Janice enough for providing us with information regarding the Doubtful Sound and Milford Sound cruises & hiking trails. Zeb and Janice couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We stayed at the Stella Burn Cottage which was super clean with awesome views from the deck. The kitchen has everything one needs to prepare a meal. The bbq outside was perfect for our seasoned lamb chops & kumara (NZ sweet potato). The laundry machine and drier are brand new. The area deserves a whole week's stay with so much to see and Acheron Cottages makes for an ideal base. We were sorry to leave after our 3 night stay.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VoyageurOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice R, Manager at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thanky you for your kind thoughts. We are pleased you enjoyed yoir stay with us and managed to get to Doubtful Sound. It really is a special place.

Maybe you will manage to get back sometime.
Regards
Zeb and Janice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The cottage was immaculately kept and clean, and we felt right at home. We loved having a drink on the porch as we watched the sun set over the mountains. Manapouri was one of our favorite places in the South Island, and we found it to be very peaceful and tranquil. We were so thankful that we decided to stay here instead of Te Anau, which was super touristy. We would highly recommend this place to anyone, especially groups and families. Also, the hosts were also very lovely and kind to us, which we think is so important wherever you stay.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jqwu05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Lovely hosts, very clean and relatively new facilities, comfortable beds, well-kitted kitchen, and a pretty good view of the mountains and deer (in the paddock) across the road from the cottages. Manapouri is about 15 minutes drive from Te Anau, is lovely and quiet, and is where the boats for Doubtful Sound leave from. We had a lovely couple of nights here, and were fortunate enough to chance upon a perfectly clear night for stargazing on the picnic benches outside the unit. Special mention must go to our favourite appliances after a week and a half on the road- the washing machine (with the pre-proportioned doses of laundry detergent) and dryer!

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue-Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Who could ask for more! We arrived to enjoy Autumn leaves, snow on the mountain peaks and the full moon over Lake Manapouri. In addition we discovered wonderful and generous hospitality, spacious accommodation and a setting that was more than magic. We are glad that we discovered such a wonderful place which was central to Milford and Doubtful Sounds and the attractions near Te Anau. Congratulations to Zeb and Janice who were so helpful in our planning stages, and again on arrival. The modern and spacious cottages have everything needed for a great holiday - it was well equipped, warm and inviting - giving us 5 wonderful days with views to die for.

Room tip: If this property is available - book it! Don't even consider elsewhere.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scenicencounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This clean, modern cottage is really excellent value. It is relatively new, rooms are comfortable, with heater, tv, and well-equipped kitchen and washing area. But, what really takes the cake here, is the million-dollar mountain view from the porch, on which we enjoyed a perfect sunset while we were there. There is also a big, and I mean BIG, field out the backyard, which is perfect for a game or two of football with the kids.

This place is actually in Manapouri, a few minutes drive from Te Anau. Manapouri is a lot more tranquil compared to the tourist hordes at Te Anau, and equally convenient to drive to Milford Sound, which we did. There're restaurants and stores a short drive from the cottage.

We enjoyed our stay at the cottage very much. Wished we stayed longer!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayfarer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews