We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!!!!”
Review of Acheron Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manapouri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acheron Cottages
Ranked #2 of 5 Manapouri B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow!!!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had a fantastic two night stay. One of the best places we stayed in NZ. To say that this cottage is clean, is an understatement, it is spotless. Zeb and Janice have done an absolute fantastic job.

Everyone comments on how great the beds are - they are very comfortable and you will not be disappointed staying at this property.

The property may look a little bit "outdated" on photos - please do not let that influence your decision. The kichen and bathroom are very modern and we can highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AETL2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed here in November 2011. Located in Manapouri with great mountain views (you cannot see the lake from the cottages, but just a short drive away). Ideal for Doubtful Sound trips, and close enough to Te Anau for meals, etc. The cottages are superb ... Zeb and Janice did a wonderful job on these self-catering units, which are very well designed and constructed. As mentioned in other reviews, not only full kitchen, but washer/dryer, easily accessible, bed warmers ... all that you need. Zeb and Janice have great recommendations on things to do and restaurants in Te Anau, and know the local trip providers. Could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: Either of the cottages is great ... no real noise from the near-by highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank econsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Stayed here with the wife and 3 year old child during a 10 day tour of the southern tip of the South Island. The rooms are new, clean, modern and child-friendly. Although next to the road it is exceptionally quiet in this part of New Zealand. The location is awesome, especially if you have trips planned in the Doubtful Sound or Milford Sound. The hosts were super nice. They also helped with our booking and saved us some money on that too! The view from the room is quintessential New Zealand: Red Deer and majestic mountains. Free laundry and internet access were much appreciated. Our visit to the South Island was made all the more memorable from our stay at the Acheron Cottages. Thank you Zeb and Janice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We just returned from a 2 week tour of the South Island - our stay at Acheron Cottages was great!!! Clean, bright and well layed out self catering cottages. Including gas BBQ grill and washer and dryer! Janice and Zeb were great hosts - very helpful and hospitable. We would have loved to stay longer!!! Top notch for those who enjoy self catering cottages.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

While it might not look like much we you pass them on the main road, these cottages are such a pleasant surprise.

They are thoughtfully designed - wheelchair access, excellent sized kitchen and living areas with a door that enables you to separate the kids room from the living area after bed time.

They are comfortably furnished and immaculately clean. This includes excellent heating and electric blankets, high quality linen and very comfortable beds. There is a toybox for the kids and magazines for the adults. An excellent portacot, highchair and baby bath are available.

The hosts are lovely people and were accommodating under the circumstances (snowed in during the polar blast).

And the best part, it is excellent value.

Our only minor quibbles - given the size of the kitchen, an oven would have been great, a bath in the bathroom would have also added some comfort and the deers outside can make a bit of a racket.

Overall we would, without hesitation and with great enthusiasm, recommend this as a place to stay - particularly for families.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ughboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed two nights at Acheron Cottages, it was a great choice. Zeb and Janice were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our cottage was warm, spacious and had everything we needed. Having the ability to use the washing machine midway through our three week holiday was so appreciated.
The cottages are ideally suited to exploring the area. We did the Doubtful Sound Cruise rather than Milford Sound and were not disappointed. We saw dolphins and seals and visited the hydroelectric plant deep underground. Zeb and Janice booked our tickets with fast efficiency. They were available if needed but not intrusive, which was ideal as we recharged our batteries ready for the last leg of our round the island journey.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIll7Gloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2011

my partner and i stayed here with 3 children and an infant for a week, its very tidy , it has every thing you need, a large field for the kids to play on and they loved taking bread to the horses, the hosts where very helpful and and provided maps and information on every thing we needed to know.we look forward to returning to see doubtful sound and any thing else we may have missed.

p.s: when we got home from our fabulous holiday we ditched the children, and stayed a night in a 5 star hotel....what a disappointment.
Acheron Cottage was by far nicer to stay in, much friendlier , much cleaner , over all a much better experience, recommend to all A+++++

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
10.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
10.8 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
10.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
5.7 mi away
Murrell's Grand View House
Murrell's Grand View House
#1 of 5 in Manapouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acheron Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acheron Cottages

Property: Acheron Cottages
Address: 98 Hillside Manapouri Road, Manapouri 9679, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Manapouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottages are both fully self-contained, serviced and sit right on the edge of Fiordland National Park. We are only a 2 minute drive away from the picturesque township of Manapouri which sits on the shores of beautiful Lake Manapouri. Manapouri is complete with a store, Post Office, two cafes, a restaurant and hotel and is a great place to relax and enjoy one of New Zealand's most spectacular lakes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing