We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Journeys exceeded expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubtful Sound Cruise -Day Tours

Doubtful Sound Cruise -Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Manapouri
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Real Journeys exceeded expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

On the overnight Real Journey cruise to Doubtful Sound we booked a double room with en suite facilities. The room was not huge, and pillows were a little mushy, but we slept well.  The cruise involved a boat ride from Manapouri, a bus ride followed by the cruise.  There was a slight wait in transfer, but nothing long.  On the boat, we toured from stop to stop, with food served frequently: muffins, soup, dinner, breakfast, coffee/tea at will. Food was buffet-style and decent, but not fine-dining.  We saw penguins from a distance, a couple of albatross, several dolphins and lots of seals.  Kayaking was fun, but I forgot the bug spray and am still itching...don't do that!!!  Our brief visit into the Tasman sea was great fun, we were on the deck and the ship encountered a couple of waves as we were heading out, think of a little roller-coaster. Albatross flying around made it even more enjoyable. The next morning it was raining but no one seemed to care. The cruise supplied jackets and the waterfalls were flowing, it was beautiful.  At one point the cruise shut down engines and asked everyone to be quiet as we listened to the sounds of the sound -lovely.  I highly recommend this activity. Oh, and the staff was really very good.  

Helpful?
Thank le_nomade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    32
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“exploring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I love being a tourist and exploring the area. There is so much to see. Like the cruise. Wonderful way to spend time what ever the weather.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cruised with 'Doubtful Sound Cruises'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Loved Doubtful Sound. We went on an 8 hour tour with Doubtful Sound Cruises. Started with the ferry ride across Lake Manapouri, a tour of the power plant, drive across Wilmott Pass and then a three hour cruise in the Sound on a small boat (max 45 people). The guide was wonderful and very informative as was the captain of the boat. The Sound itself is very wild and beautiful. I wish we had the time to do an overnight cruise, but even with just the three hours on the water, I was very content with how much I saw.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank G0neExpl0ring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland UK
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seafinn, an experience to remember and return to.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Friends told us how much they enjoyed their trip with Chris and Diane Lemin's Deep Cove Charters, so we booked even before leaving UK. What a wonderful experience, from meeting Diane at Manapouri dock, then Chris at the west arm, to joining Seafinn at Deep Cove on Doubtful Sound. First away, and soon enjoying Tracey's fabulous crayfish salad lunch. The views are like many Milford Sounds rolled into one, the Tasman sea is just magnificent, and catching your supper en route is fun. Plenty of wildlife, even a following albatross - wow! We were so well looked after, and overnight slept in total silence by an island in the Sound. If we're in NZ again, we would repeat this excellent experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Patsy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth every penny--awesome food and crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We did the much smaller Doubtful Sound Cruise which is limited to 10pp, not the 'Real Journeys' which can be over 70pp. The Crew JR, Jen, and the Dutch girl were awesome. We caught several blue cod which we enjoyed with crayfish caught earlier that morning - one of the best meals of the trip with almost everything cooked from scratch by jen. Also enjoyed the company of some of the other passengers on board. Totally laid-back, pleasant, and beautiful. Concluding, the boat also conveniently had continuous serve-yourself service with hot drinks, fresh baked cookies, lotion, bug spray, etc.....they have a fridge for byob.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank benjdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doubtful Sound Cruise -Day Tours also viewed

 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Doubtful Sound Cruise -Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing