We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Real Journeys – Doubtful Sound Wilderness Day Cruise

Real Journeys – Doubtful Sound Wilderness Day Cruise We did this tour in Nov. The day involved... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
karengW8992AB
DO THIS JOURNEY!

Waaaaaaaayyyy better than Milford sound! Great staff - very knowledgeable. Awesome to get two boat... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
BethanC78
via mobile
Read all 936 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Manapouri
from $212.23
More Info
from $148.35
More Info
Reviews (936)
Filter reviews
936 results
Traveler rating
739
136
37
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
739
136
37
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilmot pass across lake manapouri doubtful sound day trip tasman sea power station overnight cruise the bus fiordland navigator new zealand te anau complete silence nature guide turned off fur seals quad share tender boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
435 - 440 of 936 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2015

Doubtful is best experienced during a downpour, I know what your thinking, the problem is rainfall drives all the "waterfalls", so on a clear day, yet you get nice clear views but only on rainy days do you get the amazing waterfalls. But the company itself goes out of their way to make the cruise memorable, its quite a journey, not easy to get to doubtful sound like Milford is, and Doubtful is 100% better than Milford rain or not.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank RobBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2015

This was without a doubt the best experience of my holiday to Queenstown. I travelled with my partner in July, and were given the suggestion by our hotel staff to try Doubtful Sound instead of Milford.

It is a long day, (longer than the Milford tour I believe), we were at the station before sunrise and got back well after sunset. Be prepared for a journey as well. A bus ride is followed by a ferry ride, before another bus ride, all before you reach the Sound. But it is so, so worth it. The Sound was one of the most spectacular sights I have ever seen.

We were treated to the works on our trip. Clear blue skies, fresh snow on the ground, icicles hanging on the trees, a visit from the dolphins who swam along side the boat for a few minutes, and baby seals. In fact, the day was so spectacular that on a couple of occasions, we heard the staff chatting to each other about how it was one of the best they had seen.

The staff were all wonderful as well, very friendly, our guides were full of life, knowledge and stories, which always adds that extra touch to a tour.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank jimmy3536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2015

I would recommend this trip to anyone. We had a brilliant day. The weather was not perfect but real journeys is the real deal. The staff were great. Helpful and passionate about what they did. Willing to chat and serve. We had alot of fun.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank seabluepearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2015

This is the story of our day…….5.45am up and at ‘em. Our taxi arrived at 6.30 to take us to meet coach number 1in Queenstown.......2 hours later we arrived at boat number 1………..45 minutes later we arrived at coach number 2………15 minutes later we arrived at a section of road that had collapsed so we had to get out and walk (only about 100 metres – but it was muddy)….5 minutes later climbed aboard coach number 3………40 minutes later we arrived at boat number 2 – (not kidding folks)…..anyway boat number 2 was THE boat which took us on a lovely cruise of the sound – however…..it had started to rain somewhere between coach number 1 and boat number 1 and did not stop all day……we saw lots of lovely waterfalls but not much else. It did fine up though when we arrived back at Coach number 2 (only 2 coaches back – they fixed the road so no walking???? What?? Fixed the road in half a day – yikes! I’m pretty sure that fix was not up to my standard) for the trip home…..BUT…coach number 2 was broken down so we had to wait for 1 hour and 30 minutes for the replacement coach to arrive to pick us up. We arrived home at 9.30pm – what a day!

Even in the rain it is worth visiting this majestic place - maybe there are better transport options. Don't try to do it from Queenstown - it makes for an epic journey and you are sitting on transport for most of the day. Next time I would stay closer to the sound or fly to Lake Manapouri.

The staff were very friendly all day. However when the bus broke down they tried their best to fix it instead of calling for more transport immediately. This left us stranded for an hour and a half and you know the worst thing....no-one told us what was happening. We were just left wondering what on earth was going on and how much longer it would take to get home. A little communication goes a long way - if it had been explained that they had rung for transport etc we would have been a lot happier. We were offered nothing - no water, no food and worst of all no apology.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank wendyk65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Real Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback.
We’re sorry to hear that you found the journey into Doubtful Sound an arduous one. Doubtful Sound is a very remote area, and while this adds to the sense of wilderness and isolation that so many of our guests love, it does mean that is takes some time to get to.
Fiordland can be one of the wettest places in New Zealand, and despite the best efforts of our contractors, there are the rare occasions that the rain causes minor damage to the Wilmot Pass. We’re sorry that on this occasion it caused an extra delay to your journey, but it’s great to hear that you enjoyed the majesty of Doubtful Sound once you were there. We’re glad that you found our staff to be friendly all day - we pride ourselves on our customer service, so it’s disheartening to hear that there was an obvious breakdown in communication while we worked to organise alternate transport options for your group. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

Real Journeys ran an efficient and well organized operation. The bus drivers and ship captain were all knowledgeable and excellent. The boat used for cruising the Sound was well designed for it in addition to being comfortable and spacious.

The staff were all friendly and helpful. We overnighted in Te Anau in order to be able experience both Doubtful and Milford Sounds and the staff kept our overnight bags in their office and loaded them on the bus.

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank YuppieonaShoeString
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews