We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A great day trip on the beautiful, untouched paradise of Doubtful Sound.

My partner and I picked the day trip with Real Journeys for our trip to Doubtful Sound. It was... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
greg_wanders
,
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Real Journeys – Doubtful Sound Wilderness Day Cruise

Real Journeys – Doubtful Sound Wilderness Day Cruise We did this tour in Nov. The day involved... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
karengW8992AB
Read all 937 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Manapouri
from $213.23
More Info
from $149.04
More Info
Reviews (937)
Filter reviews
937 results
Traveler rating
740
136
37
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
740
136
37
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilmot pass across lake manapouri doubtful sound day trip tasman sea power station overnight cruise the bus fiordland navigator new zealand te anau complete silence nature guide turned off fur seals quad share packed lunch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
719 - 724 of 937 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was the most amazing experience, definitely the high point of our trip. Not only was the scenery magnificent, but the accommodations, food, service, and on board staff were outstanding too! Do not miss the opportunity to take this trip. The naturalist was extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of the flora and fauna we saw, which was not the case on some of the other guided experiences we had elsewhere. Even the coach drivers, who took us to the docks to get on our boat, were entertaining and passed along much information about Doubtful Sound as well as other sites to see in New Zealand. So glad we went on this cruise!!!

Date of experience: April 2013
1  Thank jcrystal0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked the day cruise with Real Journeys. Cruised across Lake Manapouri to the West Arm and the power station. The power station tour was very informative. Then travelled in the bus along Wilmot Pass to Deep Cove where we caught the cruise at 1pm. The 3 hour cruise was spectacular. We were there when there'd been no rain for about a month so although we missed out on the dramatic waterfalls, the sunny weather made everything look stunning. We saw fiordland crested penguins, sooty shearwaters, NZ fur seals and the highlight was the bottle nose dolphins. As it was so calm we were able to go really far out into the sea compared to normal which was great. The commentary was fantastic. The boat was also really new so very nice and comfortable. You can opt for a packed lunch in your ticket but we took our own.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank Hyly20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Real Journeys overnight cruise to Doubtful sound is a must do if you visit the south island. Doubtful Sound is a magical place, and to be able to spend the night on a boat in the sound is like a dream. The crew on board made everyone feel at home. They were entertaining, educational and were amazing represenatives of New Zealand! I highly recommend this tour to everyone who has not yet experienced the beuaty of Doubtful Sound. Thanks Real Journeys!

Date of experience: April 2013
2  Thank andreapowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Overnight cruise in Doubtful Sound, kayaking, swimming, dolphins, seals, albatross, sunset in Tasman Sea, hundreds of stars. Not yet mentioned staff - knowledgeable and engaging, food - outstanding, rooms - first class. This only happens in ne place - Fiordland and with one company - Real Journeys! Thanks for the experience.

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank Karenne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Wonderful overnight cruise in Doubtful Sound with Real Journeys is not to be missed. We had a twin cabin and there are double cabins, plus lower-priced bunks on the lowest deck. Beautiful scenery expertly augmented with Karen's commentary on the nature, history and environment of the Sound and Fiordland. She, Swedish Mike (the "host"), and the whole crew made it memorable with water activities and swimming (15˚C fjord water....brrr!), great food and lots of it, plus an evening slide show. Probably a little too adult for small children but great for everyone else with any interest in the wild outdoors.

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews