We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a must visit place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Punatsangchhu Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wangdue
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not a must visit place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Travelled from Gantey to Punnakha where we stayed at Puna Cottages for a night. Room No 204. The room was large and comfortable with a sit out. Unfortunately we arrived at Lunch and there was no cook around! Thus had to run out to the town for some lunch/ snack. The stay was comfortable but no hot water for the bath. The river could be viewed from the hotel All in all a comfortable place but lack of restaurant facility put us off. The same was compensated by visit to the town Wangdue, Bajo. Not a must visit place.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank IYERSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsheringBhutan, Owner at Punatsangchhu Cottages, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
We really appreciate you for the feedback.

Sorry about the hot water in room 204. We have attended to the complain and will be replacing the geyser. It was true that the cook was out that day, one of the rare cases and we appologize for the same.

Hope you will come back to allow us to make up for the shortcomings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    127
    54
    13
    2
See reviews for
67
82
34
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had stayed at this property when we were in Bhutan. We thought of taking a break while we were driving down from Bumthang to Thimphu as the drive is too long. We were given a room with river view. We had a very comfortable stay at this place.The Restaurant and rooms are very artistically decorated with a very simple yet elegant taste.The restaurant also serves good food. The only concern I had , there is no bolt for the door, just a lock! It would be nice if management of the hotel could fix bolt for the doors of the cottages for security and safety purpose that would be really nice.

Room Tip: With view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellor1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsheringBhutan, Owner at Punatsangchhu Cottages, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Puna Cottages.

The current door locks are full proof against intrusions and will not be able to open without the keys. But we will note your excellent suggestions on the door bolts as an extra safety measures. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I am particular about service and have pointed it out in a lot of my reviews - this is a rather a strange one.
First this is not a luxury resort and I was actually quite disappointed when we first reached here. The rooms are nice and large but basic and so is the bathroom. I think they have 35 lt. electric geysers so all you can expect is a quick shower.
Having said that - the views from the 'suites' are lovely and you can site out side on the bench over looking the river.
The staff and the manager/owner is extremely helpful and chatty and will give you a great conversation on Bhutan. The service is great - the food for Wangdue and Punakha is very good - not in the league of the Uma but still good. Try the Bhutanese breakfast and strike up a conversation with the staff and owner and you will have a good time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhavalm420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsheringBhutan, Owner at Punatsangchhu Cottages, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Gald that you found the view superb and the service, excellent.

We have noted your suggestions on the shower. We have actually put in 100 ltrs geysers and not 35 ltrs, but we seem to be having some pressure problems in some rooms. So, we are now thinking of providing booster pumps to provide a nice water pressure in all the shower rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennI
Level Contributor
650 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Most rooms overlook the river in this hotel. It is situated close to attractions but yet tucked away in a quiet spot. The hotel itself is boutique type and family run. Rooms are spacious and well furnished and toilets are very modern. Wifi like all places in Bhutan works in common areas. Restaurant , food and service were up to the mark. Most rooms have a balcony facing the river and there is a small patch of garden around the hotel. The owner Ms.Tshewang was very helpful and informative and pays personal attention to the guests needs. I would rate this as one of the best places in which we stayed during our tour of Bhutan. Did bring to her notice that the shower was very ineffective and small which was probably the only thing that we noticed. Would surely recommend this place when in Wangdue. Comfort, cleanliness, attention to guest needs and service seems to be their motto. Surely a nice place to spend some time when in the region.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidhusagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Punatsanghu Cottages in Wangdue Distt, Bhutan is a resort, which is very picturesque, very comfortable, excellent service and a homely environment. Very well appointed rooms and good Indian meals. The staff is cheerful, warm and friendly - it has an efficient wi-fi connectivity. It is not a 5* hotel, but an excellent resort for a good experience

Room Tip: Rooms facing the River offer an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimpykhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsheringBhutan, Owner at Punatsangchhu Cottages, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide the kind review.

We are aware of the demand for the rooms with balconies and the river front views and will try and provide some more rooms with views in our expansion plan for the cottages.

Meanwhile, we are also planning to shift the dinning to the huge hall above the cottages so that the current dinning place can accomodate additional rooms with river views. Please let us have your feedbacks on the proposal if it is not too much to ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

My cousins, husband and son travelled to Bhutan end of April and we were very fortunate to go to Wangdue and stay for one night at the Punatsangchhu cottages. These cottages overlook the river and the view of the sunrise early morning from the balcony was spectacular. Ms. Tshewang looked after us so affectionately and with such hospitality, we were overwhelmed. When we requested vegetarian food for three people, She very kindly obliged. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and there was 24 hours hot water. We were given an extra mattress to accomodate my son. The food was excellent and very delicious. We enjoyed the local Bhutanese dishes as well as the indian ones. We had a wonderful breakfast in the morning before we left. We would like to thank Ms. Tshewang and her attentive staff for making our stay in Wangdue a very memorable one. We would definitely recommend this place as one of the must visit places in Bhutan.

Room Tip: rooms facing the river are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidyavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsheringBhutan, Owner at Punatsangchhu Cottages, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We are so glad that you really enjoyed your stay at Puna Cottages and managed to soak in the river views and our humbe hospitality. We are especially mindful of the needs of family groups with young children.

I would like to thank my team there led by Ms Tshewang who is committed to making every customer enjoy the comforts of their home away from home. She is a highly professional manager with background (Masters degree) in hospitality and tourism management from the Netherlands. We are making every effort to improve our services and set a new benchmark in the hospitality industry in Bhutan.

Hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
1,354 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 596 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a privately owned river front hotel with a nice view. The place is quiet and clean. The food in the restaurant is tasty and service is efficient. I was happy when they actually served us on the table since in most places in Bhutan one can only find a buffet. The owner Ms.Tshewang is a kind and attentive lady who made our stay comfortable. I wanted to go to the Mad Man temple and since she could not find me a cab, drove me herself which was very kind of her. The rooms are big with a TV, coffee maker etc. The wifi is only at the reception like in most Bhutan hotels. On the whole a very comfortable stay !

Room Tip: wifi is only available at the reception. however, in room 304 I picked up wifi !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SagarVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TsheringBhutan, General Manager at Punatsangchhu Cottages, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you so much for staying at Puna Cottages. It is so nice and greatly rewarding to me and my team at the Cottages when guests like you take the time to notice our little efforts. We always try and make sure that we are part of an extended family for our guests whether it is serving at the table or driving them around when given an opportunity. And thanks for sharing the information that we can get the wifi access from Room 304 as well. We will let other guests know about this special room. Thanks and please come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wangdue
4.1 mi away
Kichu Resort Wangduephodrang
4.0 mi away
Damchen Resort
Damchen Resort
#3 of 4 in Punakha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dhensa Boutique Resort
Dhensa Boutique Resort
#2 of 4 in Punakha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 36 in Thimphu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
15.9 mi away
Osel
Osel
#5 of 36 in Thimphu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.4 mi away
Drubchhu Resort
Drubchhu Resort
#2 of 11 in Punakha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punatsangchhu Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punatsangchhu Cottages

Property: Punatsangchhu Cottages
Address: Zamtopang, Wangdue 00975, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Wangdue Phodrang District > Wangdue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wangdue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Punatsangchhu Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punatsangchhu Cottages is located midway from Wangdue & Punakha valley, spread over 18 acres. Our hotel is overlooking the Punatsangchhu River & also has a great view of Chimmy Lakhang & the new planned town. Punatsangchhu has a great team of well trained staff & will make you feel very much at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and BhutanBookings so you can book your Punatsangchhu Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punatsangchhu Cottages Hotel Wangdue
Punatsangchhu Cottages Bhutan/Wangdue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing