We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Punatsangchhu Cottages
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wangdue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Average rooms and bathrooms with a good view over the river. Poor lighting in the rooms no wi-fi in the rooms,except in the lobby which Skype and downloading is with pay.... Cleaning is not the best in the bathrooms, bring your sleepers..!! When you arrive make sure you say good-by to your guide because hotel management do not allow them in the lobby or restaurant....

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank evangelosp_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 320 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Only stayed for one night, but it was pretty good, comfortable huge rooms, reasonable water pressure and free internet (though only in the lobby, not the rooms though, and skype is banned). Our dinner was pretty tasty, although they seemed surprised when we asked for chillies to go with it. Good location looking out over the river as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamiep84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

In late Sept., my wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. Rooms were fine and the management spoke excellent English.
During our dinner - we found Chow Mein had a distinctive spoiled smell and we reported to the owner who in turn went into the kitchen and said it is fine.. it was definitely spoiled.. Also, our driver and tour guide (on whom we depend immensely!) had major stomach upset after the meal.

In addition to the above, we didn't have power in our room for about 45 min after we checked in around 5 pm - had to start creating some noise before the electrician showed up to switch on the light.

They do have internet but have a sign saying if we use Skype, we will be charged.. I saw this sign no where in Bhutan.. this folks are unique to restrict internet usage.

I know there are other choices in this area (Dragon Nest Resort) and I would go for them before this..

Room Tip: Make sure the food is properly cooked and new!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ram232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This property is in a great location- set along the river on 18 acres of grassland. it's a nice quiet Place to relax, with friendly service and modern rooms. The manager- TP is delightful, and if you want to make her happy bring her a magnet from back home- she has a growing collection.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AP1O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very nice view of the Punatsangchhu River, overlooking a small town... Peaceful and quiet... The room is big and clean and has a tv that shows a few English channels such as Discovery. Overall, our stay is pleasant and the lady manager is very friendly and is very willing to share her knowledge about the place and the local customs and legends.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler-from-Sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in September. The hotel is positioned with a nice view of the river and new Wangdi town. Rooms are spacious, mine had a very nice private balcony as well, and were very clean. Food was great, and the staff was very friendly. The hotel also has a lawn which is a nice place for a cup of tea after a day of sightseeing! Very relaxing!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirthevV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Puna cottages as it's often called has nice, large rooms with basic amenities. Nothing over-the-top. Good food. I had a lovely buffet dinner, most of which was served hot at the table. I was even offered a complimentary extra-large bowl of fruits on request. :) One can even access the Internet via their personal laptop if required. They have free wifi too.
It's a few miles away from Punakha and its highlights. There is not much to see in Wangdue but surely recommend this hotel as there are very few good ones to chose from.

Room Tip: Safe and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butterfly_Vas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wangdue
4.1 mi away
Kichu Resort Wangduephodrang
15.9 mi away
Osel
Osel
#7 of 38 in Thimphu
201 reviews
4.0 mi away
Damchen Resort
Damchen Resort
#3 of 4 in Punakha
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 38 in Thimphu
333 reviews
15.8 mi away
Taj Tashi
Taj Tashi
#3 of 38 in Thimphu
730 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dhensa Boutique Resort
Dhensa Boutique Resort
#2 of 4 in Punakha
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punatsangchhu Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punatsangchhu Cottages

Address: Zamtopang, Wangdue 00975, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Wangdue Phodrang District > Wangdue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wangdue
Price Range: $50 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Punatsangchhu Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punatsangchhu Cottages is located midway from Wangdue & Punakha valley, spread over 18 acres. Our hotel is overlooking the Punatsangchhu River & also has a great view of Chimmy Lakhang & the new planned town. Punatsangchhu has a great team of well trained staff & will make you feel very much at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and BhutanBookings so you can book your Punatsangchhu Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punatsangchhu Cottages Hotel Wangdue
Punatsangchhu Cottages Bhutan/Wangdue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing