We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of Thornton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thornton Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

On arrival at Thornton Lodge we were welcomed like long lost friends, Vanessa is a very special lady and her love of this house shines through. We have stayed in many hotels over the years but we can honestly say we have never had a nicer room. It was huge, beautiful, and had everything you could wish for and looked out over an amazing view. For anyone with limited mobility like my wife this really is an accessible room. The excellent breakfasts were served with a smile, nothing was too much trouble, and we certainly did not need lunch!
We certainly intend to return and would thoroughly recommend Thornton Lodge to anyone wanting to stay in the Wensleydale area.

Room Tip: The accessible room is really very accessible with an excellent bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodesteamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 115 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

Another relaxing break at Thornton Lodge. From the moment you arrive Vanessa cannot do enough for you from taking photo's of my special surprise, to booking our evening meal at a locally recommended hostelry. The room was dual aspect giving wonderful views of the Dales whilst laying in the antique four poster bed, a real treat. Thank you again Vanessa for making a special weekend extra special.

Room Tip: Every room is individual and of the highest quality. Do ask though if you require a walk in shower a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliecowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hubbie and I stayed at Thornton Lodge for one night and we really enjoyed our stay. It's very rural and surrounded by stunning countryside, more remote than we usually go for, but really loved it...it's not often we stay somewhere that has a peacock wandering the grounds.

Our room was lovely, the bed was so comfortable I could have stayed there all night and day. Quality furnishings, including lovely linen sheets, fluffy towels and beautiful heavy curtains. The shower was powerful and the lighted bathroom mirror was a winner. It was also refreshing to have fresh milk in the fridge in the room as I can't abide the UHT stuff.

Breakfast was superb; quality sausages and bacon, fresh eggs from the Lodge's chickens and a choice of cereals, fruit, toast and juice. Vanessa and Tim were excellent hosts, nothing was too much trouble. I also loved the attention from their lovely labradoodle, who was also very welcoming, especially if you made a fuss of him!

A great place to stay and would definitely go back. We also had a fabulous meal at the Wensleydale Heifer with was a real bonus too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

5 cyclists and one back up driver arrive soaking wet after completing half of the Yorkshire leg of the Tour de France - Vanessa is there - tea and biscuits and tumble dryer at hand. LOVELY place to stay - very comfortable, clean, friendly and welcoming. Vanessa recommended the George and Dragon in Aysgarth to eat which was equally excellent as was Steve the cab driver! Would happily go back - a hidden gem with huge rooms in a quiet part of the Yorkshire dales - really beautiful. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomredpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in - wonderful, huge rooms furnished with gorgeous antique furniture, even had peacocks roaming the grounds. Lovely breakfasts and a good, plentiful banquet in the evening. Very accommodating host who did everything possible to make our party weekend one to remember. An excellent property in a lovely location. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Every room was stunning - all our party were very happy. Plenty of space for extra beds in most roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh_on_seaHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vkyorkshire, Owner at Thornton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words - they are greatly appreciated. It was lovely having your group at the house and I very much enjoyed having you all to stay.
Vanessa x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our friend booked the whole of Thornton Lodge for a big birthday weekend. Thjere were 20 of us in total including 6 teenagers. The rooms are of a very high standard. They are large, with good amenities, and very clean. The food is plentifull and of good standard. The owners could not be more accomodating. They will put additional beds into rools to accomodate children if required.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a fantastic four poster bed and is a very large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vkyorkshire, Owner at Thornton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

thank you so much for your kind words - it is always such a reward for my efforts when people clearly enjoy a party break so much. It was lovely to meet everyone and I am so happy you all had such a nice time.
Vanessa x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here B&B in September to do some walking in Wensleydale. The welcome from Vanessa was warm and genuine. Nice room with modern bathroom, all very clean, and no problems with the heating by the way. Very good breakfast, delightful setting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherrybee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vkyorkshire, Owner at Thornton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I very much appreciate it when people take time to post them, even more so when they are so supportive of me and my home. Given the lengths I go to to try to keep everyone at a temperature they're happy with, your comment about the heating was most welcome!
Vanessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thornton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Lodge

Address: Thornton Rust | Wensleydale, Thornton Rust, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Thornton Rust
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Rust
Price Range: $42 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Thornton Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornton Lodge is a family home in Upper Wensleydale. Vanessa lives there with her family and offers b&b during the summer and has a 5 star gold rating from Visit Britain. All rooms are different, pleasantly decorated with very comfy beds and nice views and there are lots of pictures of each room on her website. She cooks a really nice breakfast. The house has some wifi but it varies from room to room as the walls are so thick. It is extremely quiet at the house, especially after the loss of her pet peacock Percy during the summer of 2015. She is not licensed but encourages guests to bring their own drinks to enjoy at the house and provides glasses and fridges with a pint of milk in all rooms. One room is reserved for guests with mobility difficulties and two rooms are allocated for guests needing single occupancy. Children over 14years of age are welcome at the house in her large ground floor room. In winter she sometimes hosts for guests celebrating special events. Generally she avoids taking bookings to stay at the house just for one night. Whilst the house is huge - around 9000sqft, Vanessa works on her own and therefore restricts the number of rooms booked at anyone time to a maximum of 12 guests - generally there are 6-8 guests staying during the week and a few more on a weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thornton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Lodge Thornton Rust, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing