We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wensleydale Heifer
Nearby Hotels
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue Lion(East Witton)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Catterick Garrison Hotel(Catterick)(Great Value!)
$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A66 Motel(Richmond)
$84
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,844)
Filter reviews
1,845 results
Traveler rating
1,481
240
89
26
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,481
240
89
26
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate roomwensleydale heiferchocolate heavenlobsterbirthday treatthe black sheepthemed roomsjames bondheifer roommain coursespecial occasionfish and chipson arrivalevening mealhandmade chocolatesamazing foodattention to detail
Filter
Updating list...
1,402 - 1,407 of 1,845 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here on the 17th August to go to ripon races, what a find. The owner and staff could not have been more helpful or given better service. We were offered a room to freshen up in before our race day and our bags were then moved to our room for our return. The hotel was set in a beautiful village and has character and charm and has been tastefully decorated throughout in the owners unique and personal way, beautiful. We stayed in the middleham racing room and the decor was in theme including binoculars and racing artefacts we also were offered a free bet for an evening race and won!! Complimentary sherry was also waiting for us and was lovely pre dinner.
We also had dinner in the restaurant and can honestly say it was on a par with the best I've had including dinner on the Queen Elizabeth it was excellent. Sea food is the speciality and you will not be disappointed, seafood mixed platter followed by lobster Thermidor, delicious. Deserts looked stunning but we hadn't left enough room. The restaurant environment was perfect cannot recommend highly enough and service although busy was excellent. We were given a tour of the other themed rooms and wow can't wait to return and stay again.
Well done to David and his team and thank you for a great stay and dining experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed ta this hotel/inn for 3 nights which gave us an opportunity to sample several meals and get a "feel" for the place.
We had the night at the movies room which was a reasonable size with a good sized bathroom but the shower was small and any averaged sized person would find it not impossible but difficult to use.
There is however a large bath and the fittings and toiletries are first class.
The bedroom itself is, because of the theme, on the dark side but for a film buff very interesting with lots of movies to watch on a large TV with 3D.
The restaurant is bright and pleasant, breakfast offers a good choice and is of a very high standard with everything freshly made
The evening meal menu for guests on dinner bed and breakfast offers a reasonable choice and there is an al a carte menu as an alternative (£25 towards this if on DB&B) the menu is predominatelyfish with a couple of steak/chicken dishes.
Overall we found this to be a real change from the norm and the staff are extremely pleasant and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Comments have been made about the cost and it is pricey however it is a quality establishment and in all walks of life you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j_dunne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Fantastic bedrooms and they are fantastic in style but supremely comfortable with wonderful bathrooms. An initial mix up over the particular room we had requested was compensated by the very generous gift of a bottle of wine at dinner. The food was quite superb and a real joy to find a restaurant specialising in seafood so far inland. Needless to say breakfast was excellent. The owners and staff were delightful and really seemed to care about their guests. I only wish we didn't live so far away so that we could visit more often!

Room Tip: Study the photos of the rooms carefully as some of the decoration may not be quite to your taste!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Expected great things but found it very overpriced and ordinary when comparing to other restaurants I've eaten at. Service was appalling, we waited 35 mins before the waiter took order and then it was slow. Clearly they cannot cope with a busy Sat. Night. They did however apologise and knocked a bottle of wine off the bill for delayed main course and gave a glass of champagne for delayed waiter - not a very profitable way to run a business. I would not eat there again, plenty more classy hotel restaurants of better value and quality in this region. Same comments made by my partner.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank P1x1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Wensleydale Heifer the night after our wedding. We had a night in the chocolate room which was comfortable and well equipped. The bathroom was large with underfloor heating and had a jacuzzi bath. The separate "power" shower looked amazing however in our opinion was definitely not blessed with "power". Despite that slight disappointment it served the purpose it was designed for. The room had 3 goblets spread around the room filled with small sweets and a drawer full of chocolate bars which are all complimentary as were the bottles of still water (something a lot of hotels charge for). The downstairs lounge area is comfortable and welcoming and all the staff are friendly and really can't do enough for their guests. We ate in the restaurant on the evening from the a la carte menu which was amazing and although expensive was well worth the money. Breakfast in the morning was both tasty and plentiful. Finally the restaurant is beautifully decorated with several pieces by the artist Doug Hyde, a favourite of ours :-)

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews