We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stop over for the weary wanting to feel at home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #2 of 5 West Witton B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great stop over for the weary wanting to feel at home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

A lovely Yorkshire couple who just do all the right things... accommodating , booked us dinner down the road , cared and were not intrusive . Great breakfast and quiet location. It was hard to think of what else we needed

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foffle089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
91
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grundisburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Tea and homemade Victoria sponge welcome you here with a log fire when it's cold ( our arrival) and in the sunny garden when it's warmer. The place is so clean and welcoming. Comfy beds and fantastic English breakfast are a real bonus and most of all Grant, Barbara and Karen make you really welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in the 4-poster bed room (room 4) and it was perfect - comfy king size bed, costly decorated and gorgeous views to wake up to. Grant and Barbara were delightful hosts and were always friends, warm and welcoming. The breakfasts were amazing (try the Scottish Kippers!). Grant was very helpful with giving us recommendations on things to do around the area and walks (with our 2 year old). Overall, we had a lovely stay and would love to return here again. Please stay here... It's great value for money and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I recently stayed at The Old Vicarage with my senior parents and we really enjoyed the experience.

We were welcomed by Grant and Barbara’s daughter, and all three people were warm hosts.

Breakfasts were very filling, rooms were extremely clean and beds were comfortable.

Both rooms were at the front of the house, with views over Wensleydale. You could just see Castle Bolton off to the Northwest, and though the rooms overlooked the A684, road noise was minimal and didn’t affect our stay at all.

The house has a lot of character, complete with a lovely old door knocker, original hand-cut keys, sash windows and brass stair rods to name a few features.

Grant and Barbara are very knowledgeable about the area, and they kindly printed-out some driving tour ideas for us, which helped in planning our day trips.

Our rooms had a sink in the bedroom, then a toilet and shower tucked-away up a little step in a small room off it.

The house is not a great distance from many of our favourite Dales villages/attractions such as Hawes, Wensleydale Creamery, Askrigg, Reeth, Aysgarth Falls etc. with Kettlewell, Kilnsey Crag, and Dent a little further.

We even travelled home with some jams and preserves made with fruit from the garden, which were for sale in the breakfast room.

If you’re thinking of staying at The Old Vicarage, it’s great value for money, and you’re in good hands.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ollerton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just had a great stay at The old Vicarage.... such a friendly and warm welcome with tea and homemade cakes. Rooms and breakfast were fault free. Great base for exploring.... Just go and stay there ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulF-Ollerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Was only a one night stop over but Barbara and Grant made us feel very wecome and were helpful and attentive to our needs.
Room was small but very clean and comfortable.
spacious guest lounge with cfortable seating, nice burner and lots of information and maps available.
Barbaras home made cakes and welcoming pot of tea were delicious!
Highly recomended and on our list of places we would use again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

No wonder the 'No Vacancies' sign is so often found hanging outside The Old Vicarage in West Witton. The clean rooms, exceptionally friendly service and hearty breakfast all ensure that if visitors are like me and love to walk in the Dales, they will return time and again. The wood fired heater in the sitting room pumps out the heat and lends an atmosphere which encourages visitors to talk to one another and exchange stories. The proprietors, Grant and Barbara, no sooner see you there and tea and cakes are laid on. Local pubs are available to provide evening dinner. As a place to stay while exploring some of the most beautiful scenery in England the Old Vicarage is definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Witton
3.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
4.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
7.0 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 5 in West Witton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#4 of 20 in Leyburn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Property: The Old Vicarage
Address: Old Vicarage Main Street, West Witton, Leyburn DL8 4LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > West Witton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Witton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Bed and Breakfast situated in the heart of Wensleydale within The Yorkshire Dales National Park. we offer five en suite bedrooms, two with four poster beds, one double room with spa bath,one standard double room and one twin room. Four of which offer uninterupted views over Wensleydale, the fifth room overlooks our quiet garden / orchard.All rooms are well appointed with luxury toiletries, complimentary beverage tray, flat screen TVs with freeview channels, alarm clocks and hair dryers.Our dining room offers dual aspect views over Wensleydale to the north and over our patio / gardens to the south. We have acheived the Visit England Breakfast Award and offer a comprehensive selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc along with an extensive selection of cooked breakfasts both English and continental. Our guest lounge offers a relaxing atmosphere with plenty of maps and guide books for visitor use and a log burning stove to provide a very comforting ambience during the cooler months. We also offer free wired internet access in the lounge.Our large free car park provides off road parking and our extensive garden and patio with scenic views provide a pleasant place to relax during the warmer summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Hotel West Witton
The Old Vicarage West Witton, Leyburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing