We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B & B”
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #2 of 4 West Witton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Extremely friendly, spotlessly clean , brilliant breakfast , fantastic room ( No 4 )
book direct 01969 622108 and receive a free bottle of wine waiting for you in your room. Can really recommend this B & B . We will be going back.

Room Tip: Room 4 - four poster bed and two bucket chairs to watch tele- Brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BHF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 142 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Beautiful B&B, very friendly hosts and gorgeous rooms. We visited in the snow and it was lovely to watch it fall outside the window from our four poster bed - great base for visiting the area. Would definitely go back again!

Room Tip: Choose one of the four poster rooms for a luxurious stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carys2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Everything about The Old Vicarage was 'spot on'. Great rooms - loved the guests lounge with comfy leather sofas and woodburner. Spotlessly clean and great breakfasts. Barbara and Grant were more than helpful. Little touches like fresh cakes, clean towels every day and proper butter not in wrappers, made our stay memorable. Hope to return in the not too distant future. The Dales are beautiful.

Room Tip: Rooms at back quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyS522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at The Old Vicarage for only one night, as we were exhibiting at the Masham show. Upon arrival we were met with a very warm welcome, shown around the house and then up to our room. We were in a small room but it was well equipped, lovely comfy bed, very clean and excellent tea and coffee facilities. After being recommended a local eatery we returned to the vicarage to a warm log fire and good company with other guests. We enjoyed our stay at The Old Vicarage and will not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: The 'Four Poster' room, which I asked to look around on the morning of our departure, is fab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarilynannB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Barbara & Grant are the loveliest hosts who go above & beyond expectation. The whole b&b was immaculate, the room was cleaned daily & we was even left some freshly baked buns one of the days... The views are amazing from the b&b & grant/Barbara are more than happy to tell you all about the great places to visit! Lovely 3day break, just what we needed. SEE YOU AGAIN x

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaykkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

What a lovely place to stay, the views from the front windows are beautiful. Barbara and Grant were the perfect hosts, they couldn't do enough for you. The rooms, like the rest of the house, were extremelycomfortable and spotlessly clean, they had everything you could want including wine glasses and a corkscrew. The breakfast was unbelieveably good with a menu that wouldn't be out of place in a 5 star hotel, all the food is freshly prepared and delicious with as much coffee or tea as you can drink. Grant and Barbara know the surrounding area well and are always happy to pass on their knowledge and recommend places to visit . There is ample parking at the rear with lovely gardens if you are lucky enough to get the weather. The only down side was that we only stayed for 2 nights we would have loved to have stayed longer. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Only there for one night, but wil definitely return. Rooms, and the whole house, were immaculate, clean and tidy. Everywhere had a beautiful lavender smell - that you can't get from an aerosol can. Barbara is a sweetheart, and goes way above and beyond to make guests feel at home. Both she and Grant were very helpful, and gave us all the information we needed to tour the area. Breakfast was great, with everything I enjoy and can't buy in the USA. Outstanding!

Room Tip: You can have it either way. We had two rooms - one with a whirlpool bath-tub, and one with a four-po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heyupmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Witton
0.3 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 4 in West Witton
1,656 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clyde House
Clyde House
#2 of 20 in Leyburn
301 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dale's Haven
Dale's Haven
#8 of 20 in Leyburn
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Capple Bank Farm
Capple Bank Farm
#3 of 4 in West Witton
33 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: Old Vicarage Main Street, West Witton, Leyburn DL8 4LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > West Witton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Witton
Price Range: $98 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Bed and Breakfast situated in the heart of Wensleydale within The Yorkshire Dales National Park. we offer five en suite bedrooms, two with four poster beds, one double room with spa bath,one standard double room and one twin room. Four of which offer uninterupted views over Wensleydale, the fifth room overlooks our quiet garden / orchard.All rooms are well appointed with luxury toiletries, complimentary beverage tray, flat screen TVs with freeview channels, alarm clocks and hair dryers.Our dining room offers dual aspect views over Wensleydale to the north and over our patio / gardens to the south. We have acheived the Visit England Breakfast Award and offer a comprehensive selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc along with an extensive selection of cooked breakfasts both English and continental. Our guest lounge offers a relaxing atmosphere with plenty of maps and guide books for visitor use and a log burning stove to provide a very comforting ambience during the cooler months. We also offer free wired internet access in the lounge.Our large free car park provides off road parking and our extensive garden and patio with scenic views provide a pleasant place to relax during the warmer summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Hotel West Witton
The Old Vicarage West Witton, Leyburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing