We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Fabulous Hide-a-way”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Bothy

A luxurious converted bothy, romantic getaway for 2.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A luxurious converted bothy, romantic getaway for 2.
Stunning views across the dales and to the river. Beautifully appointed sitting room with stunning views over hay meadows,many original features..
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
A luxurious converted bothy, romantic getaway for 2.
Stunning views across the dales and to the river.
Beautifully appointed sitting room with stunning views over hay meadows,many original features..
Bedroom - Luxurious bedroom with views through the wood towards the river Ure
River Ure from behind The Bothy a totally unspoilt setting, a profusion of wildflowers and wildlife
View from Bedroom - The Bothy looking out over private garden perfect for al fresco dining
Hallway - Stone flagged hallway leading to an elegantly decorated with a beautiful staircase.
Sitting room & Kitchen - Spacious living area truly five star accommodation
Bathroom - Fabulous oak beamed bathroom with power shower and full size bath
Elegant Stone Steps - Leading to the river Ure and Aysgarth Falls.
Stepping stones 200m from Bothy to Bolton Castle.
Salmon caught in pool by Bothy - fishing available.
Wensleydale View - Fantastic views from The Bothy drive looking across Wensleydale.
Temple Folly - Built in 1745 this gentleman's folly can just be seen from The Bothy window.
West Burton - This small friendly village just a mile away with a general store, pub & local but
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
West Burton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Will L
1 review
“A Fabulous Hide-a-way”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The Bothy is hidden away, off the road to Aysgarth, in a secluded spot. And Juliet the owner, does anything possible to enhance or improve your stay - with recommendations thrown-in. You just need to accept that the phone signal in the Dales, is a little bit on the unreliable and weak side! But, otherwise our stay was entirely comfortable and the surrounding stunning countryside offers plenty to see, with lots of walking routes.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2017
Thank you Will for your kind words. We are so pleased you loved it here so much.We enjoyed meeting you both.
Best Wishes,
Juliet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightful hideaway ”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely weekend and couldn't have been happier with the location or accommodation. We walked along the river over the stepping stones and around the area, taking in Bolton Castle, charming local pubs and Asgarth Falls. Highly recommended.
NB take milk, coffee etc and things for the fridge!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy33...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Bothy”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Quiet, peaceful, calming after busy work schedule. Ideal retreat.
Many thanks to hosts for providing somewhere simple and beautiful to rest in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. It is lovely to share this amazing part of Wensleydale with others and that they can feel refreshed after a stay however long !
Juliet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely short break”
Reviewed March 30, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Really enjoyed our short break at The Bothy. It's a really cosy, well appointed cottage. There are lovely views and nice walks along the river straight behind the cottage, Aysgarth falls if you turn left and Redmire falls to the right. A warm welcome and good local information from the owner. Plenty of nice places to eat and drink nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
Great you loved your stay. It is wonderful in Wensleydale in all seasons.
Thank you for your kind review.
Juliet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenn s
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Hidden Jem”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Bothy is one of the finest places we have stayed,great location,peaceful,lovely finished & furnished & wonderful Host`s.A superb stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location perfect to take walks from the property.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
We are so happy you loved th e Bothy so much. Our visitors book in the Bothy, is full of similar sentiments so it is obviously hitting the right spot ! Please come again!
Juliet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy33...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, private and homely”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was a lovely place to stay - well decorated, beautifully furnished, private and comfortable. The environment added to the privacy and calm for a very restful break away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space within the property and the location around it
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2016
I am so glad you enjoyed the beautiful surroundings . We find people go away feeling refreshed and recharged after spending time in such an idyllic place. We feel very fortunate to be here . Especially as the dales are forever changing with the light and so the scenery seems unique each day. There is an amazing amount of birds and different wildlife etc, it is like heaven !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
797Rebecc...
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“peaceful,cosy cottage”
Reviewed March 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my partner stayed here for 1 night, for a little short but sweet weekend getaway. We had a lovely warm welcoming from juliet, we absolutely loved our stay if your looking for a peaceful cosy time away this is for you! The cottage is beautiful and so clean inside with a gorgeous log fire!!! I was over the moon to know they had animals baby lamb and sheep and féw other's they where at the front gate on our way out think it was a sign from them saying for us not to go haha!!.. also we got talking to juliets son very down to earth and passionet about the country, thankyou to him for spending time with us we enjoyed talking to you
This time away has made me réalise why i love thé country side & wildlife.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2016
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We love it when people leave feeling the world is a better place and reconnecting with nature. Francis loved meeting you . Please come back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing