We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of Fox & Hounds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fox & Hounds Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 West Burton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights with friends. Booked especially to see the bonfire on the village green. We were not disappointed. The accomodation was clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was well presented and tasty. Andy does a marvelous job of running this establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillDyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 115 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

In my view the location of this Yorkshire pub is second to none, overlooking a very pretty village and it's green with the rolling dales countryside as a backdrop. We stayed at the fox and hounds for 2 nights as a family of four plus one dog. The accomodation was clean and comfortable with multi channel satellite tv in each room. The shower wasn't the most powerful in the world but it did the job. Breakfast was excellent and the owner takes personal overview of the beakfast service, only a small window of time though 9-9.30 which could do with being extended. All the staff in the bar were very pleasant and the beer selection and quality very good (3 real ales). We found the evening meals to be hit and miss, the gammon very good, not much positive to say about the other meals we had I am afraid and for an evening meal would recommend the excellent George Inn at Thoralby 5 minutes drive away or the Aysgarth falls hotel (formerly Palmer flatt) 10 minutes away. Overall very good value and only the evening meals prevents us giving a 5 rating.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UriPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This sadly seems to be an example of a pub with alarmingly poor standards in food. We ordered fish and chips and soup. The fish was horrible. It seemed more like it had been artexed and painted rather than battered and fried. It was rock hard and looked more like an overcooked preprepared 'catering' portion rather than anything cooked by human hand. I think most motorway service stations would have been reluctant to send out anyting like this. This was not honest or i suspect locally produced. I have never reviewed before, but this experience has moved me off the fence. The soup was bland, but just satisfactory.
Their seemed to be an issue with people using the toilets and not buying food and drink. I peronally cannot blame them. Good food, drink and service perhaps would bring people in rather than these petty notes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kenaleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

During my last two walking holidays in The Dales we have visited this Inn. The staff, on the whole, are welcoming but, I am afraid, one of the staff does come across as having an attitude problem although when she relaxes and smiles then all can be forgiven. We have eaten twice and have no complaints. I had the lamb and mint suet pudding with new potatoes and vegetables - excellent. My partner's toasted sandwich did what it said on the tin and was exactly what she wanted. Beer is good especially the Skipton Copper Kettle and the wines seem reasonably priced. We intend to go back for a Twixmas break and should then be able to give a more thorough review.

I think it is important to remember this is a village local not a 5 star hotel! The beer and food reflect this ethos and It is a good value, friendly pub with a very relaxed atmosphere. I saw a sign outside a pub in Malham that read Walkers, Muddy Boots and dogs welcome which can easily be applied to this pub.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

cant understand the other reviews about the food here, perhaps they are wanting silver service! this is good honest locally produced hot pub food, nothing posh but hearty and VALUE FOR MONEY! pizzas are made to order and are great as is the McBurton burger which is large with chips and salad a rteal plateful, and the staff are very kind and helpful. The people that were staying here at the same time had no complaints and the breakfast is just enough to set you up for the day. The breaks of £165 per couple for 3 nights is value for money and the rooms are not 5 stars but what do you expect at a traditional village Inn. They are clean, comfortable and in the courtyard away from the pub. As the other guests at the time said 'We will be back, and so indeed shall we!'

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jshand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in West burton in a holiday cottage and ate at this pub. The food was ok nothing spectacular and pricey compared to the service and location and quality of produce used at the Aysgarth falls hotel which we found later on in our stay. I agree with a previous reviewer some of the bar staff were very abrupt to customers.It is handy if you dont want to drive but the beer and wine prices were more expensive than the Aysgarth Falls

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerrada5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Only stopped in for a pint, very nice beer but very rude staff.

As an ale drinker I've never had to argue previously to have my pint topped up when the beer doesn't settle well! Was told that you are not meant to get beer to the top of the glass - perhaps this is officially true but obviously most pubs who are happy to take the sparklers off pumps if requested are getting this wrong. it seems silly to have argued given the tiny extra amount of beer!

Add this to a patronising notice about customers only using the toilets and it amounts to a rude pub.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Bristol_SMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fox & Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Hounds Inn

Address: West burton Yorks, West Burton DL8 4JY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > West Burton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Burton
Price Range: $73 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fox & Hounds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fox & Hounds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing