We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Abbots Thorn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbots Thorn
Ranked #2 of 4 Carlton B&B and Inns
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have just returned from our short break at Abbots Thorn and we miss it and John and Pat of course! Chicks outside the window running free, sheep on the hillsides amid fields of golden buttercups. Just beautiful.. Factor in Pat's legendary breakfasts and no wonder we didn't want to leave! We had many a laugh at breakfast which is probably why we sat so long over it. They are a lovely couple and go out of their way to help and advise. Chocolates and biscuits replaced daily and toiletries in the bathroom oh, and lovely big fluffy towels. A huge plus for us was being able to take our little dog Tom which we were so grateful for. We only wish that we lived closer so that we could visit more often. There is the delightful Foresters Arms a few yards away, a lovely, friendly pub with loads of atmosphere and they serve food too! Thanks Pat and John for everything. We enjoyed every minute of our stay with the pair of you and may you always be as busy as you want to be! Love and good memories. Carol and Ade

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolemmmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsthorn, Owner at Abbots Thorn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you both for your fantastic review, we do try to make everything home from home and are so glad we succeeded. It was great to meet you too. Enjoy yourselves, you only have one life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
46
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Thank you John and Pat for a lovely stay in your beautiful B&B in Carlton. It is the first time we have been and it will not be the last, You could not have been more hospitable and your accommodation is first class. Delicious breakfasts, comfortable rooms, fabulous views and it was great to have the Forresters Arms on the doorstep serving such lovely meals.
We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsthorn, Owner at Abbots Thorn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your review, Pat and I just try to be friendly and informative, we enjoyed having you with us and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

It is so difficult to find a B&B that takes dogs. Our little Jack Russell enjoyed his stay, along with his owners in this delightful B&B set in the Yorkshire Dales. This was our first visit to this beautiful part of the country and the visit was made even better by that 'personal' touch from Pat and John who were exceptional hosts in their lovely home. The breakfasts really set us up for the day! We will definitely be back and will highly recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsthorn, Owner at Abbots Thorn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Well, we have to say that it looks like we are paying you for your review, Pat and I just like to treat people as we would like to be treated, we try to be happy and friendly.Thank you very much for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have recently got back from a weekend away at Abbots Thorn. We can in no way fault it. Perfection all round. Pat and John are a breath of fresh air. So friendly and will do anything to please. The room was beautiful, bed so comfy and lots of room. The breakfast was to die for. Can not wait to go back. Added bonus is the Forresters Arms across the road who do amazing meals. Its so relaxing and it was a hoot listening to the farmers and their banter. Well done Pat and John for all your hard work. Its a B and B that can not be faulted x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnmcdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsthorn, Owner at Abbots Thorn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we do try to go out of our way to "go that extra mile, inch?" We look forward to seeing you again soon, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We've been to many places in England and in Yorkshire in particular, but nowhere else feels as much like home as Abbots Thorn. Pat and John are wonderful hosts. The breakfasts are ample and wonderful. The Foresters Arms serves very nice food; pub grub plus some more ambitious dishes. Flat screen TVs are a nice addition to the rooms. There are great walks in every direction out the front door, and Carlton is well placed for exploring the rest of the Dales. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Lilac and Honeysuckle are en-suite, while Jasmine has use of the house bath. All are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ispahan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsthorn, Owner at Abbots Thorn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review, we do try to be the best we can possibly be, this is helped by being in a wonderful part of the world. Our new en-suites should be up and running within a few days so it will be even better when you return! Pat and I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Thank you John and Pat for a fabulous stay in Carlton. It was wonderful to be back in Coverdale after 40 years. You could not have been more hospitable and your accommodation is first class. Delicious breakfasts, comfortable rooms, fabulous views and with The Forresters Arms just over the road we were more than happy. Hope to be back again one day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsthorn, Owner at Abbots Thorn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Pat and I were hoping that you would be able to rekindle fond memories of Carlton and are very pleased that you did, we're sure things had changed but are glad that they were for the better. The Foresters Arms, being a community owned pub, is going from strength to strength and many an enjoyable evening is spent there. We look forward to seeing you again as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We went for another stay and were glad to find it as we left it: comfy, homely, excellent breakfasts and witty hosts. Pat & John have what it takes to run a B&B and will do whatever they can to make your stay as nice as possible. The pub across the road is worth a visit for some great food or just for a pint (or more).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank super_koala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
4.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
411 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
0.0 mi away
The Foresters Arms
The Foresters Arms
#1 of 4 in Carlton
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
261 reviews
3.4 mi away
Temple Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
2.4 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 4 in West Witton
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbots Thorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbots Thorn

Property: Abbots Thorn
Address: Carlton in Coverdale | Leyburn, Carlton, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Carlton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbots Thorn is a 200 year old Dales house situated in Carlton in the Yorkshire Dales National Park with stunning views over Coverdale. We offer a lovely place to stay convenient to so many places of interest including Middleham Castle, Bolton Castle Leyburn, Aysgarth, Reeth, Hawes to name but a few. You can play golf, fish, go bird watching, tour or just relax, a walk from the door for a 2 mile stroll to 12 mile hike. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing