We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star rating too generous” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbots Thorn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbots Thorn
Ranked #2 of 4 Carlton B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Star rating too generous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

The owner of this B&B was very friendly and helpful, but the room (we stayed in the Lilac room) was disappointing. The decoration of the room was rather tired and old fashioned, but not in a quaint Yorkshire B&B way. There were white dog hairs from the previous occupant still all over the carpet, and cobwebs complete with resident spider adorning our en-suite. We brought our dog with us as the website stated they were dog-friendly, but on being asked to leave my dog in the car (this was July) instead of in our room when we came down for breakfast or if we went out, I would not consider it to be 'friendly' but simply tolerant of dogs.
Overall this was a pleasant stay but the price of £70 per night was not money well spent, and I wouldn't pay that price to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witten, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Abbots thorne is a very nice bed & breakfast. John & Pat maked my holiday so great. I was very warmed welcomed and the breakfast is fantastic! Carlton is centrale, so you're allways near to many places to go. The Yorkshire Dales are a wonderful place. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

John and Pat provide excellent traditional Dales accommodation and lovely breakfasts. My wife and I are extrmely fussy about where we stay and would recommend Abbots Thorn to anyonr wanting to visit the Dales. John and Pat make you feel at home and are happy to help in any way they can.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

My son and I were visiting a friend in the area and had never been in the Yorkshire Dales before. John and Pat made us feel very welcome it was like a home away from home. John was a wealth of information about the area and getting around. The room was very comfortable and clean we even got a flask of fresh milk for the tea and coffee tray, the breakfast was delicious with a good choice of different items. There's a local Pub close by that does good evening meals, it's an ideal location for exploring the Dales. I'm looking forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hockley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Perfect place to stay if you want a very quiet & comfortable B&B with marvelous breakfast and hosts that were incredibly accommodating. John & Pat were very happy to meet any needs that we had and very flexible about everything - for example letting us store cheese in their fridge and take doggy bags when we couldn't finish the delicious and huge breakfasts!
Very clean and comfortable place to stay. I can thoroughly recommend this place as a perfect home while on holiday walking in the Dales.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skippyp2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

What a lovely place to stay. Lot's of very sensible concepts like his'n'hers coathangers, jars of coffee in the bedroom so that you don't have to fiddle around with little sachets, fresh milk in a flask, clear instructions on how to get the shower to work etc. Little things, but all help to make one feel welcome & at home. Great breakfast too, with tasty fresh eggs & homemade savoury duck. Very good value & hard to think of any faults or suggested improvements - which is rare for me! John is a very welcoming host too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alantheyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

The hosts, Pat and John were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them.

We were in the Honeysuckle room, with ensuite and a very comfortable super kingsize bed. Everything was spotless and the tea/coffee in the room, included fresh milk.

The breakfast choice was excellent and freshly baked bread was a big plus.

There was a large guest lounge, but we did not need to make use of it.

The local community Forresters pub is now open for food and a very good evening meal was had there.

Coverdale is perhaps the Dales, hidden gem and we particularly liked the walk from Carlton to West Grafton via Caygill Footbridge.

I would definitely recommend Abbots Thorn, its hosts and the area around Carlton-in-Coverdale.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHullTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
4.2 mi away
The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast
4.6 mi away
Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
The Foresters Arms
The Foresters Arms
#1 of 4 in Carlton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Abbots Thorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbots Thorn

Property: Abbots Thorn
Address: Carlton in Coverdale | Leyburn, Carlton, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Carlton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbots Thorn is a 200 year old Dales house situated in Carlton in the Yorkshire Dales National Park with stunning views over Coverdale. We offer a lovely place to stay convenient to so many places of interest including Middleham Castle, Bolton Castle Leyburn, Aysgarth, Reeth, Hawes to name but a few.You can play golf, fish, go bird watching, tour or just relax, a walk from the door for a 2 mile stroll to 12 mile hike. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing