We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay in room 24 unless you like very early mornings and old smells!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge de la Scierie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aix-en-Othe
doncaster
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dont stay in room 24 unless you like very early mornings and old smells!”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We had booked to stay for 2 nights at this Auberge but only managed one. On arrival the hotel looks a little tired and the elderly owners seem to have let things slip a little. Cracked and uneven paving slabs around the pool (dangerous for small children), a wasps nest in the trees near the enterance, weeds not attended to, dirty outdoor furniture.

Our room was small but perfectly formed. The light in the toilet didnt work and there was an old musty smell. Other than this the room was fine.

At around 4am a cockeral started crowing literally right outside the room. This continued (every 10 seconds) until 8am when we went for breakfast.

Breakfast was pretty basic but ok - no fruit or cereal (I would have expected this for 8 euros each)

I mentioned the cockeral to the owner (it was hers) and asked to move to another room so I could get some sleep but she refused stating 'thats the countryside!' I don't mind animals noises but surely you would have the brains to not put poultry right outside someones window! Because of this we decided to leave.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jonige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaqui h, Owner at Auberge de la Scierie, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
I agree, the cockerels can be loud sometimes , but I would like to point out they do not belong to the auberge and are not on our property, I do not own them and by choice I would not have them near us, but it is the countryside and unfortunately we have to live with them as with all the other creatures that make life what it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    22
    15
    11
See reviews for
3
43
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Very comfortable rooms. Quiet location and we had a good sleep. Swimming pool was great.
The only downside was the restaurant where it was "nouvelle cuisine". We were very hungry, having travelled all day and whilst the meal on the plates looked beautiful, there was very little of it. Isnt it time that the nouvelle cuisine disappeared for good? Lets have fresh good quality ingredients , well prepared and enough to satisfy all appetites.
Good wine and breakfast was fine

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 444westie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

To declare an interest first, we returned last week exactly 25 years after we first visited on our honeymoon. We chose it then for its romance and food from Arthur Eperon's guide and have had treasured memories ever since. Therefore La Scierie had a great deal to live up to and we are delighted to say it did. The present owners took over about 8 years ago and have followed the spirit of the place which is essentially a country auberge, a restaurant with rooms. Without doubt we had the best meal of many stays in France at this restaurant and at a really reasonable price. This is what it is about. The room we had is charming with a 6ft bed and tasteful decor and we were very happy revisiting our memories there.

Others have commented that the bathrooms are outdated but we found it serviceable if not luxurious and certainly refitted since our last stay. Stay here if food, atmosphere and character are what you appreciate. The owners (chef and his wife) are friendly and we really felt very welcomed. Also the other guests on the day of our stay were engaging and we really enjoyed the atmosphere at dinner and breakfast.

Aix en Othe is not a tourist area but undoubtedly quiet and rural. We had a two hour walk before dinner and the last time we stayed we explored the Champagne route.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lading, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My wife and I visited this little hotel for 2 nights and we fell in love with this place - and the owners. Yes the rooms could use a makeover but it was nice and clean. The Wi-Fi internet worked fine and they have 50+ TV channels to choose from. Our room was faced towards the nice and warm pool so we only had like 5 meters to dip ourselves. The owners were very helpful in any way - even when we came home from Lake Orient with a dog that had rolled itself in a rotten fish and kindly borrowed us their garden hose so we could wash the little devil. The restaurant is top class. It is very cozy and you just like to be there. The service is good and not posh like I have experienced with many french waiters. The food is simply amazing and even if you dont sleep there, then visit them and try their food.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sRonberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This hotel represents excellent value for money in a character setting with all the modern amenties you need. The owners, Jackie and Eddie were the ideal hosts and Johhny, one of the employees was extremely helpful with any information we requested in both French and English. The pool was very welcoming after a long hot drive and the restaurant served excellent food at a reasonable price. We have travelled alot and certainly would recommend this historic hotel in the most peaceful setting to any level of traveller and we definitely hope to return for longer next time. Thank you for a truely great stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clariecjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westsussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

what can i say everything was perfect had 5 days in this very peacefull hotel, food is second to none. lovelly area but you do need a car.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patsmithWestsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We arrived in pouring rain which slightly affected our first impression. The hotel is quite charming, the bedroom was fine if a little dated. But ... the dinner was amazing. We've been lucky enough to eat at some really good places and this was up there with the best. Interesting menu, beautfiully prepared and presented. A good place to stay on the way South especially for the restaurant if it keeps up this standard.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LHRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aix-en-Othe
9.3 mi away
Le Carre Long
Le Carre Long
#1 of 1 in Eaux Puiseaux
96 reviews
8.8 mi away
Auberge des Vieux Moulins Banaux
Auberge des Vieux Moulins Banaux
#1 of 1 in Villeneuve l'Archeveque
168 reviews
15.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Troyes
Golden Tulip Troyes
#1 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant le Rive Gauche
19.9 mi away
Havana
Havana
#5 of 7 in Sens
42 reviews
21.0 mi away
Logis Auberge de Nicey
Logis Auberge de Nicey
#1 of 2 in Romilly-sur-Seine
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Scierie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Scierie

Property: Auberge de la Scierie
Address: 3 route de Druisy - La Vove, 10160 Aix-en-Othe, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Aube > Aix-en-Othe
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aix-en-Othe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de la Scierie 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge de la Scierie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Scierie Aix-En-Othe, Aube, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing