We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The peace in SW Saskatchewan”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val Marie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Convent Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Val Marie B&B and Inns
Cahors, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The peace in SW Saskatchewan”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Staying at this Convent Country Inn, in Vasl Marie ,even for one night, was a really unique experience. It is a place to which I hope to return from my retirement here in SW France. Always great to be back home in Canada and find such typical Canadian hospitality

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petrou46310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
17
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay for one night, very much. The convent is so unique, makes for a pleasant change. We were the only guests at the time, so it was very quiet. Our very clean room had a sink right inside which was convenient. The toilet and shower was just down the hall. Owners were very accommodating and the breakfast included was amazing. You won't leave there hungry.
I hope to come back again soon.

Room Tip: Sorry, no pool or fitness room. Didn't miss them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This former convent has been converted to a quite unique B and B. The place is clean and charming, the breakfast was terrific and the owner/hostess Mette was very efficient and pleasant.

Our room was large with two queen beds at right angles to each other, The big drawback is the lack of a private bathroom -- there was only a sink in the room. The toilet was across the hall and the shower was upstairs, so you might want to bring a robe.

There is a large common room where one can read, watch videos (there is no TV reception) or read the pithy maxims on the backboard.

So this is a place with charm and character, and a perfect location and if the absence of an ensuite bathroom doesn't faze you, you will love this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I selected this B and B from the Sask Tourism website because we wanted to visit the park. The place is a good location but we didn't have a restful night. The room was clean enough, but the atmosphere was stuffy, stale and very close, though the temperature outside was admittedly very warm. The windows were very old and the screens let in small flies that were buzzing in the room all night. The attention to detail just was not there (like the outside furniture was dirty and dusty and there was a garbage bag right there). We won't stay again.

The lounge for evening in a really nice room. TV is VCR and Internet is spotty throughout the establishment.

Breakfast was a highlight as the food was plentiful and tasted great. The breakfast room is very nice. Service was polite.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify if you want one bed or two. We had two beds on the main floor and it was quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Convent is really more of a bed and breakfast lately than an Inn, but the breakfast is excellent, and the atmosphere is unique. Once a combination of school and convent, it was run by an Order of Nuns, until closed in the 60's. The rooms are generally small but comfortable, and washrooms are shared but immaculate. The former classrooms have become large airy sitting and dining areas, where visitors are free to use the old blackboards to enter their favourite quotations. Besides the main attraction, Grasslands National Park, with its superb vistas, wandering bison, and outstanding wildlife - including the vanishing prairie dogs, and a population of Grassland birds, Val Marie boasts an excellent new restaurant, and a wonderful museum that serves lattes on those occasional rainy days. This stay is highly recommended for birders, photographers, and anyone with an interest in our nation's history.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are closer to the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Macleod, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Convent is nice enough but was honestly a bit lacking in the hospitality that you usually find at small town inn's/B&B's. They just check you in and leave the property.

My real complaint is that there is no cutlery, bowls or glasses available to guests. (I had to eat my supper out of a plastic cup!) There is a fridge, microwave and kettle.

The room I was in was really small but I think it might have been one of the smaller rooms. I could see some bigger rooms (I don't know why I didn't get one of them since I was the only guest at the time). The small rooms are because it is a historical building.

Interesting building and a nice sitting area. Glad to stay here once to see it. Having the sitting area helped make up for the small room.

Internet connection is spotty but I did get it to work better by finding a good spot in one of the hallways. I think they could improve their signal by moving their router.

Grasslands National Park really is worth the visit. Next time I would probably stay at "The Crossing" just for more space and a private bathroom. But if it was full, I'd stay at the Convent again too - just packing my kitchen supplies!

Room Tip: Staircase was narrow and tricky with luggage so if you can't manouver that on your own, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt spring island,bc
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very unique accommodation and interesting hosts-real prairie experience and chance to see wildlife plus history.Well worth the trip off the Trans Canada.I plan to go back and hike the park trail next time.
Also there are some unique art/gift shops in town

Room Tip: Stay on first floor if it is hot out
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cornerduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Convent Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Country Inn

Property: The Convent Country Inn
Address: Box 209, Val Marie, Saskatchewan S0N 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Val Marie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Val Marie
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Convent Country Inn Val Marie, Saskatchewan, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing