We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet get away!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val Marie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crossing at Grasslands
Ranked #3 of 4 Val Marie B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had a 2 night get away in April. Wonderful accommodations. The hosts are very helpful, right down to which way to travel and where to stop to eat, etc. It was a great help.We requested the breakfast basket which you prepare yourself. Great home made loaf of bread! If you don't take your food there is not too many places to eat at this time of year. Summer would be better for open facilities. However we drove through the park and saw lots of wildlife, hiked and did some bird watching. It was a bit cool but the snow was gone and we found plenty to do.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 50somethingscanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 39 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had a very comfortable, relaxing and quiet stay at the Crossing Resort! We stayed in the deluxe suite which is over their garage which had a nice deck and view of the pond and grasslands national park). The suite is well equipped with a full kitchen and wireless internet. We enjoyed watching the barn swallows attempt to make their nests, the cows chasing away the coyotes and the birds in the pond.
Very reasonable prices and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mango01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at The Crossing. The resort is right on the boundary of Grasslands National Park and our suite had a wonderful view of that. Johanna and Ken were great hosts and the suite was very clean and modern with great attention to detail. We recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Unfortunately, I barely got to do more than sleep and shower before my stay was over, but the room certainly exceeded my expectations for Val Marie, a town of 137. Lovely views of Grasslands National Park, great birding at the nearby pond. Room looked very nice with a kitchen, table, and lounging area that I never had a chance to enjoy.

The walls are quite thin between the adjoining room, so it may sound like the person next door is right in the room with you, but that was my only complaint, aside from not getting to stay longer. Hot water, internet, and beds all worked great!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XploreNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Cozy, clean and well appointed with quality bedding and towels. Home away from home. Attentive and knowledgeable hosts. Complete kitchen facilities. We stayed in the north suite and feel it was an excellent value. You can hike into a corner of the park from the resort but the Ecotour route is a 20km drive away (Val Marie is 5km away). Sit on the balcony and listen to the coyotes yip and howl in the evening, till the vast array of stars come out. Go hiking and wild Bison viewing during the day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bitemeguiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We loved camping at The Crossing Resort. Nice shelter for tenters to use to cook in bad weather. Great showers and location. The grasslands were beautiful. Saw many amazing birds and heard coyotes at night.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Crossing Resort because we wanted to visit Grasslands National Park but did not want to camp. One night, there was a tremendous electrical storm so I'm really glad we weren't camping! We stayed in the separate, deluxe suite. It was clean and cozy. The kitchen was a great size. The fridge was large enough to store all the food we'd picked up in Swift Current. (The nearby grocery store is small and has a limited suggestion so I do suggest you bring food with you in a cooler.) The couple who run the place, Ken and Johanna were very professional and quick to answer any questions I had. It was sure great to come back from a 15 km hike and be able to shower and cook a meal. There is a small propane-powered grill on the spacious balcony, so, you could grill up some burgers, etc. They ship their water in. It is safe to drink and tastes fine. Don't hog it, though. If the power goes out, in that particular suite, you will not be able to use the water. There is a generator at the main house so they are fine in that regard. On the night of the electrical storm, our power did go out for about half an hour.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cutecaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crossing at Grasslands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossing at Grasslands

Address: Val Marie, Saskatchewan S0N 2T0, Canada (Formerly The Crossing Resort)
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Val Marie
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Val Marie
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Crossing At Grasslands Val Marie, Saskatchewan, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing