We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable in a cloud forest reserve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Bastilla Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The property is in a beautiful location literally in the wilderness and you need a 4x4 to get there. The hosts were warm, not all speak English; the youth managing the lodge however do. The food was delicious; the rooms clean albeit some visitors like insects - make sure you have repellent. No plugs in the room as energy is through solar power; a common area near the reception has both wifi and plug points. Washrooms were clean but hot water was missing at times. The views from the balcony of the cloud forest were amazing. For safety there is only a watchman and more guards should be there.

Room Tip: Cottages overseeing the valley have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaviDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineMosi, Former Tourism Officer at La Bastilla Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words, we are glad to read you enjoyed your stay at La Bastilla Ecolodge.
Regarding your worries about safety: La Bastilla Coffee Estates has 5 security guards on duty at all times, stationed in different parts of the Estate, just to make sure that the already safe area will stay safe. In the unlikely case of something happening these guards, including police officers could be summoned in a very short time.
We hope that felt safe despite there only being one guard at the Ecolodge and would be very happy to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 109 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

You cannot miss this place is in the middle of the pristine and beautiful nature. The service is incredible, great attention and nice people all around. There are several paths to walk in the morning at the sunrise to see all kind of monkeys and birds. Do not forget to try the great coffee they produce.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugenio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineMosi, Former Tourism Officer at La Bastilla Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you very much for this kind review! The whole Ecolodge team is looking forward to welcoming you here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Thank you Escarlet and the Bastilla Ecolodge staff!! Very friendly and kind attention, typical food served was excellent!! Cabins, mountains, coffee plantation, howler monkeys waking you up in the morning, trails, tucan sightings, bird singing, cool weather!!! It cannot get better than that!!! We are a family of five and we recommend to all that love nature, tranquility and friendly people, thank you again for the wonderful moments!!!!

Gracias Escarlet y todo el personal de La Bastilla Ecolodge!!! La atencion es muy amable y acogedora, la comida tipica fabulosa!! Las Cabañas, el cafetal, los monos aulladores, tucanes, pajaros cantando, los fresco...!!! Mejor no pudo estar!!!! Somos una familia de cinco y les recomendamos a todos aquellos que les gusta la naturaleza, el descanso y personas amables, gracias nuevamentes por los momentos agradables que pasamos!!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, i suggest you write a mail to them letting them know how many you are traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BePacMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineMosi, Former Tourism Officer at La Bastilla Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias a todos ustedes por haber visitado La Bastilla Ecolodge y por compartir su experiencia aquí. Todo el equipo y los alumnos esperan poder darles la bienvenida de nuevo.
Saludos cordiales!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Visited during rainy July and had a great stay with my 15 y/o daughter. Warm, personable staff including hospitality students from the vocational school. Good food and great day hikes of 10, 20, or 40 km if you find the trails through fincas, small communities, and forests. Lots of birds, including tucans and tucanettes right outside the dining area. Toured the school and farm operation and met extremely kind and knowledgeable young people. Would be a fine place for solo travelers, couples, families and small groups of adventurers. If you drive, high clearance 4x4 with muscle highly recommended. The lodge is east (not west of the lakes) - we got very lost and had fun all the way up to Pantasma and around the lake. Met lots of nice folks and offered lifts in our pickup. Also had a very pleasant visit with the National Police who guided us back to the landmark Puente -- thanks Officer Martinez! Support the school and community by visiting. (p.s. we felt very secure).

Room Tip: West facing room, down valley for lightning shows and sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WarrenTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineMosi, Gerente at La Bastilla Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words and for having visited La Bastilla. La Bastilla is indeed a very safe place, and you can meet very interesting characters here. Thank you as well for having given our students from the La Bastilla Agricultural Technical High School the opportunity to show you their service skills. We hope to welcome you and your daughter again soon. Best regards from the entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A wonderful location to stay for a couple of days. Paradise for relaxing and hiking if one is not afraid of steep climbs. That includes the car if one drives in by oneself, 4WD with a powerful engine is a must.
Views are breathtaking, the lodge is off the grid but their solar hot water and power works fine.
The location is at the very edge of cell phone range, for internet one can go down the road to the coffee plantation or the school for that.
The cooking was about the best we have enjoyed in Nicaragua.

Room Tip: The cabins are charming, semi-detached built from wood. Only minor point is the sound damping betwee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbrahamPotappel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineMosi, General Manager at La Bastilla Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Abraham,

thank you very much for your kind words and we are glad that you liked it. Also, extremely well done on making your way up to the Ecolodge!
We hope to be able to welcome you again soon and wish you all the best!
Kind regards from the whole Ecolodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I just stayed at the Bastilla Ecolodge for two nights, and it was a wonderful experience from start to finish. The views are breathtaking - you really have to see it to believe it. We found a number of very good hiking trails, but we also very much enjoyed relaxing on the porch to our room (which had one of the best views you could ever ask for). The rooms themselves were well kept, though sparse - but at such a low price, you're getting well more than you pay for. On top of that, the staff was just great - very friendly, very accommodating, and often very funny. Plus they made some really excellent food (again, at low prices - you definitely get more than you pay for). I really can't say enough good things about the Bastilla Ecolodge. It's a great place to stay. If ever I find myself in Nicaragua again, I will most certainly try and visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineMosi, General Manager at La Bastilla Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you so much for this great review! We certainly try our best to make our guests leave with exactly this impression, and to hopefully come back and see how our students are doing.
Thank you also for having supported the educational program La Bastilla with your stay at the Ecolodge.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I really liked staying in La bastilla. It's lovely weather and beautiful landscapes will make you come back.

Security is not that much, La bastilla should have a dog or more to take care of it.

It's a place not only for couples, but for families or business or friends or solo. either way, it's a great place to stay.

Come and enjoy staying in La bastilla where u can pay with credit card.

Room Tip: Just a quick review. If u are staying in camping desk, it will be a little noisy at night while wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrei R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jinotega
8.6 mi away
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
#1 of 2 in Jinotega
87 reviews
15.2 mi away
La Buena Onda
La Buena Onda
#2 of 6 in Matagalpa
231 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
#4 of 6 in Matagalpa
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Museo - La Casa de los Rizo
8.4 mi away
Hotel Neblina
Hotel Neblina
#8 of 10 in Jinotega
2 reviews
16.1 mi away
Finca Esperanza Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastilla Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastilla Ecolodge

Address: La Bastilla Coffee Estates | Las Colinas, Jinotega, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Jinotega Department > Jinotega
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Jinotega
Price Range: $38 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a coffee estate within the stunning Datanli El Diablo nature reserve, La Bastilla Ecolodge offers beautiful eco-friendly accommodation, with all profits supporting our educational project.We are a not-for-profit Ecolodge set in the mountains of northern Nicaragua, enjoying stunning panoramic views over the forested valleys and Apanás Lake. In this breathtaking atmosphere with limited mobile phone connection we invite you to disconnect from the worries of daily life and unwind.We offer cosy wooden cabins with all the creature comforts, including private balconies with rocking chairs to enjoy the sunset, solar hot water showers and fluffy towels. Those travelling on a budget can choose to stay in one of our comfortable dormitories and deck-camping platforms, which offer you the same amenities as the private rooms. (Please be advised that there are no sockets in the rooms, but you can charge any equipment on our events’ platform.)All room rates include continental breakfast, but for a small charge we also offer the traditional Nicaraguan breakfast, Pancakes, Omelettes etc. All delicious meals are made from local produce (where possible directly at La Bastilla Technical Agricultural High School) and freshly prepared in our onsite restaurant, where you can enjoy a variety of meals between 6am and 9pm. Apart from relaxing in a hammock on our platform common area or enjoying the views and breathtaking sunsets, we invite you to take one of our several guided tours (hikes in the nature reserve, or tours through the coffee farm, including a tasting session, tour of the High School’s production areas), or walk our trails by yourselves.We offer the highest standards of environmental sustainability including our own system of solar electricity and solar-powered hot water, recycling, composting and bio-digestors.Please note:Cancellation Policy: 24 hours before the arrivalCheck in time: please contact us to arrange your arrival timeCheck out time: 11.00 amMethod of Payment upon arrival: both credit cards and cash (US$ or cordobas)Breakfast is included.Taxes are included.We offer discounts for children under 12, under 6's go freeIf coming in your own vehicle, a high 4x4 is highly recommended as roads are steep and rocky. Any other vehicle can get to the High School (10 minutes walk up the steep hill to the Ecolodge)We are a social enterprise; your stay contributes directly to supporting La Bastilla Agricultural High School which provides a comprehensive technical education for young people from impoverished backgrounds: 100% of our profits go towards the operating costs of the school ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Bastilla Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing