We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best restaurants in the Yarra Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bella Vedere Cucina - CLOSED

Bella Vedere Cucina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in the Yarra Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This lovely restaurant situated in a winery on a hill with lovely views and its own established garden has been a favourite of ours for a long time. We went there today again and were not disappointed. My partner had the Nicoise salad as an entree and that was followed by a Parmesan custard which was to die for! I had sardines on beans as an entree and an excellent T- Bone steak followed by the Frangipani and Rhubarb tart. This restaurant bakes everything on the premises and makes its own beautiful bread which has to be some of the best bread we have ever tasted. In particular their olive bread is the best we have ever had anywhere. The menu varies each day according to the produce that they have available and the views are lovely any time of the year. We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    25
    17
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We first came here about a year ago in the middle of summer and it was great. So I booked for lunch for my husbands birthday a few weeks ago.

I had requested a quiet table and explained it was for a birthday but we found ourselves right next to the biggest table in the room (12) and were told that there was no room to move us when we asked.

Wait staff were pleasant but we had to call them over on multiple occasions - perhaps 1 more person would have been better.

Food was okay not great. By the time we ordered (it was only 12.30) one of the 5 mains was already not available but they did have a replacement for it. The only dish I would order again was the caramel tart which was really good. The rest of the meals were okay but nothing to come back for sadly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L0rna_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“On the skids”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Sad to say, but since my review in July, breakfast at this venue has gone from inspired to insipid. While the breakfasts here were formerly thoughtful and well crafted, we visited again in mid October and ... Oh, dear. The first slightly disconcerting sign was the one just inside the front door announcing that the business is for sale. What would that portend? The second omen was to be presented with a new, short and bland menu. The ’sides' available extended to precisely two. If you feel like sausage or spinach with your eggs, forget it. Not available. The repertoire of sides begins with tomato and ends at bacon. The egg-based meals themselves were distinctly basic. Frugal, even. Add a cob of corn bread, a coffee before and a coffee after and you're up for $60. We are big fans of the Yarra Valley, but in our honest opinion, this place no longer provides an experience that justifies the visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Impressive Country charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stopped in here for lunch on a recommendation and were surprised by the idyllic quaint cottage style restaurant that overlooks the winery. Beautiful spot to spend an afternoon. Menu is interesting and changes daily, devised from local produce available. Meals were nice but the standout for ya was the olive bread! Oh my, bread has never tasted so good!! Baked fresh daily, it's available for purchase too! Lovely waiter we had was very knowledgeable on wine and the area - and had good recommendations of where to stop next.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffytins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilydale, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Complete disappointment for a Wedding Anniversary Celebration”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

After carefully selecting and ringing to book a special meal for our wedding anniversary, we arrived to Bella Vedere to no kitchen open and two people sitting in a darkened room. Upon announcement of our booking, the staff had written it on the wrong date and wondered why we hadn't arrived the evening before. They didn't ring us, offer us any service. We were told that "we can serve you if you like but it won't be a very nice ambience if it is just the two of you. Sorry about that. Good luck finding somewhere else." There was no consideration for our special occasion and no suggestion to rectify their incompetence. Very disappointed. Luckily the Healesville Hotel Dining Room were so spectacularly accommodating for us on one of their busiest evenings, and we were provided with an exceptional experience there. We won't be attempting to visit Bella Vedere again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Vedere Cucina also viewed

Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing