We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complete disappointment for a Wedding Anniversary Celebration”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bella Vedere Cucina - CLOSED

Bella Vedere Cucina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lilydale, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Complete disappointment for a Wedding Anniversary Celebration”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

After carefully selecting and ringing to book a special meal for our wedding anniversary, we arrived to Bella Vedere to no kitchen open and two people sitting in a darkened room. Upon announcement of our booking, the staff had written it on the wrong date and wondered why we hadn't arrived the evening before. They didn't ring us, offer us any service. We were told that "we can serve you if you like but it won't be a very nice ambience if it is just the two of you. Sorry about that. Good luck finding somewhere else." There was no consideration for our special occasion and no suggestion to rectify their incompetence. Very disappointed. Luckily the Healesville Hotel Dining Room were so spectacularly accommodating for us on one of their busiest evenings, and we were provided with an exceptional experience there. We won't be attempting to visit Bella Vedere again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    25
    17
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bairnsdale
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had dinner last night and it was superb. I have been before and have also attended the cooking school. I have raved about this restaurant to my husband and last night I was able to take him and we loved it

Great food,. Great service

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juju2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hmmm not happy!
We have been before and the food was amazing so we were very disappointed this visit.
Lots of room for improvement in the quality of the meals as were very poor.
Not going to go and on about the negatives as life is just too short and maybe it was just a bad day in the kitchen or restaurant has changed hands?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank balichick47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

After a trusted source recommended Bella Vedere to us, my husband and I were quite excited to try it as we consider ourselves to be foodies. The Yarra Valley offers up some fantastic restaurants and wineries, unfortunately this is not one of them. For starters the restaurant staff don't seem to care to much if you want a tasting of the wineries offerings as they perhaps are not affiliated with them. (The tasting room incidentally, had no one in attendance, so we couldn't taste their wine). The menu was small and not that interesting the day we dined for lunch and for the price we could have done better at home, $95 for 2 main dishes, 1 glass of wine and 1 beer, a bit steep considering 1 of the meals was a gnocchi. Drive a little further out for a better experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicki a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lunch at Bella Verdere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful to be able to call in to see Gary, Tim et al for lunch today. This (daily) menu is surely unsurpassed in the Yarra Valley.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank robgell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Vedere Cucina also viewed

Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing