We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of East Ayton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Ayton Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Ayton
Consett, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for one night as we were meeting friends from Ireland there before they headed back home. The room is ok, a bit dated maybe (especially at £95 b&b) but it was ok. We booked in for evening meal for 8pm and we were the only people eating. There were only two staff covering both the restaraunt and the bar area. The young lad that took our order (at least three times as he wrote it down wrong twice) had about 8 of those charity wristbands on and a large lobe expanding ear ring thingy in. I'm not a prude or anything, but this was not the appearance you expect from hotel staff. Even after the retaking of our orders several times, the other staff member came and stated that two of our meals were not on the meu any more....
To be fair the meal itself was excellent we all had steak and three different tastes, and they were all cooked to perfection. At the end of the meal, we went to the bar area for a few more drinks. At 2220hrs we asked for Liquer coffees. The sole remaining staffmember said "Coffee? At this time?" and made excuses that the kitchen was locked and he could not get in, AND he did not know how to make it. He then proceded to pull the shutters down around the bar intonating that it was closed. To be honest we felt as if we were in the way. We simply retired to bed. Breakfast was very nice as were the different staff that were on. It is a shame the staff we faced in the evening were not as welcoming as the ones in the morning as this would have been a much better review for East Ayton Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    77
    53
    45
    38
See reviews for
84
111
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Why didn't I take notice of the reviews? We booked this hotel as a last minute break and to fair it did only cost £45 for a Family Room, although having said that we had just left a Premier Inn in York costing £45 which had been immaculate.

On arrival we were given keys to room 3, a Family Room in the eaves of the main building. Our first impression was a narrow,dark and tired staircase up to our room. The room size was actually quite spacious and the beds were clean and comfortable.Unfortunately when we looked closely it was badly decorated with paper peeling off the walls and was quite dusty,with cobwebs all over.

The bathroom was also spacious although also not very clean.I was unable to shower as it was a shower head with a rubber attachment that fitted over the bath taps(I didn't know you could even get them anymore?) and there was no shower curtain.

On a positive note the dining and lounge areas of the hotel on the whole were very comfortable and welcoming.Breakfast was very nice and the staff at breakfast were lovely.

The only reason I didn't complain at the time was because of the cheap price and the fact that I felt it was partly my own fault as i had read the reviews! I would not have stayed here had the room cost the full asking price of £100.

I probably wouldn't stay here again although the location is ideal unless i here about improvements being made.

It is a shame because the staff were friendly and the hotel does have great potential.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 3(Family Room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolae604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Ayton hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

First of all the positive,food good,staff friendly,bed clean and comfy.
The negatives,I was warned by previous reviews about the lack of water pressure from the shower,but there was no water at all from the shower and the bath tap,only from the wash basin.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suemenn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Let's start with the positive. Evening meal in the main great. A chef clearly trying hard to deliver food to a very good standard and presentation. Pea Soup (which at first we were told by the waitress was possibly Pig soup) was a little bland and iridescent in colour was palatable but the main courses and desserts were lovely. The Hotel has lot's of potential but needs some TLC to address some of the décor issues (paper not quite meeting at the joins, paint drips etc) Check in was amusing - We were greeted with 'are you eating? what time are you eating? we are going to be busy tonight! Busy? The whole evening, we saw 14 guests eating !! Bar did not have tomatoe juice or pineapple juice and no Hot chocolate. But the service was friendly, unusual but extremely friendly. Would we return - yes.

Room Tip: Stayed in outer Lodge rooms which were clean and sizeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sayitasitis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Reading previous reviews warned me not to expect a pristine hotel, they were correct. Staff were friendly though and they seemed to have an honest desire to improve the hotel. They had just employed a handyman to help address some of the maintenance jobs. The room (no12) we had was clean and the bed comfortable, the room also had plenty of storage space. Hot water pressure was poor so the shower barely worked and the bath took an age to fill.
I would book again though as it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20milerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the cottage which is situated in the grounds of the lodge. We found the cottage to be very comfortable and met our needs precisely. Some small attention to detail in some areas would help but it would be very petty of me to pick holes. The cottage was warm and cosy with three large bedrooms and a large open plan loungs and kitchen and separate dining room.
The cottage was cleaned daily and we could either eat in the cottage or in the hotel.
The Bar/Restaurant was a little dark and lacked some atmoshere. The restaurant menu was limited and overpriced but the bar snacks were very tasty and plentiful.
The gardens of the hotel were well tended and looked after. We very much looked after ourselves during our stay but we were happy to do this as we wanted to stay in a cottage and had the advantage of a cottage with the hotel next door.
I would recommend the cottage to anyone looking for a base to visit this area of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macthevoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The purpose of my trip to East Ayton Lodge was to go to the Whitby Goth Weekend with my Dad and Sister. We wanted a family room and this hotel was the only hotel in the area with availability. Our first impressions of East Ayton Lodge were very good. The exterior was nice and the decor downstairs was very tasteful. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We were given the keys to our room which slept 4, 1 double bed and 2 singles. Again, our first impressions were good. However, as we got settled in to our room we noticed wall paper hanging off the walls, cobwebs in the corner of the room, and large lumps of dust on some furniture. The washing facilities were also very basic for a family room. There was a bath, with a shower head that fitted on to the bath taps. There was no shower curtain and the pressure of the water was not substantial enough to have a good shower and wash hair thoroughly.
Apart fron this the beds were comfy, and the sheets were clean. We had a meal in the hotel and this was very good, and so was the breakfast choice.
Apart from our room needing some attention the hotel was ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Ayton
3.5 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,641 reviews
3.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
17.6 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Ayton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Ayton Lodge

Property: East Ayton Lodge
Address: 3 Moor Lane, East Ayton YO13 9EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > East Ayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Ayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — East Ayton Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your East Ayton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Ayton Hotel East Ayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing