We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveler rating
60
95
69
54
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
95
69
54
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed honeymoon suite small hotel quiet location short break breakfast was excellent warm welcome mushrooms daniella
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 329 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night only, booking 5 rooms. Due to the nature of our business we were going to arrive very late (11.30pm) but this was not an issue for the Hotel and its staff, they stayed up late for us, kept the bar and kitchen open so we were fed and watered. All the staff were very friendly and very helpful and still very cheerful even when we ordered deserts and another round of drinks at around 1am! The room I personally stayed in was very comfortable, nice large bed, tv, tea & coffee etc etc. Plenty of toiletries which is great as I always forget something! Sadly it was dark when we arrived and dark when we left at 6am so didn't get to see the place in its full glory but what we saw was true the website pictures. I would happily book again when next in the area. Sarah, the new owner, was so very helpful and was a credit to the venue with her helpful & 'Not a problem' attitude. We stay away most weekends with our business and often go hungry or get locked out due to the hours we keep so East Ayton Lodge was a breathe of fresh air.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rally4Real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is an attractive property set in a secluded area. Arrived a bit late on Saturday afternoon to get into the room. Only later at night did one realise that the window did not shut properly. Also, the shower didnt work, and the toilet seat was loose! Otherwise the room was fairly comfortable with the usual faclities. Staff at the desk ordered a taxi for me to go into Scarborough, and served an enjoyable breakfast, cooked to order.It appeared from some of the letters on the wall, that the present owners had only taken over in recent months, but the issue of the bedroom fittings had not come to their attention.

Room tip: Check the basics before accepting the room.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Once again we finished our annual Coast to Coast event at the East Ayton Lodge. Despite an ongoing change of ownership we were made most welcome.
The staff was laregely unchanged and remained most accomodating to our somewhat special needs. They permitted the partking of our cars on the front lawn for example and had cut the grass in access areas but left it longer where the cars parked. Smart thinking!
It all helps in making the entrants feel welcome and adds to the event.
Will we be going back for uor 21st event well it is already booked.

Chris Lee
Lancashire Automobile Club

Room tip: Rooms in the main building have more character but the other rooms are quieter - take your cjhoice
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisLee1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have just had our 20th year's stay at the East Ayton Lodge Country Hotel (in July 2012) and have booked again 6th October for 30 rooms & 55 people on a charity car run; EAL is just superb as a venue for such events - (especially weddings); and now the Lodge is under new ownership, it has only got better, and Sarah & Lincoln say they have great plans for this fantastic place in a wonderful location - for me = Highly Recommended , for location, accommodation, wines, food, breakfast too and ambience. Just do It !!

Room tip: If you are a party of 4 or 6 - go for the Coach House !!! Its the tops.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David WG U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We booked into East Ayton Lodge as a treat for the weekend and after scouring the internet all week decided that it suited our needs. The internet showed it being a very beautiful hotel and the rooms looked perfect. The grounds and downstairs of the hotel are very nice but when we entered our room we were so disappointed. There were dirty towels on the floor from the previous guests and the bedding was dirty. The staff apologised and explained that the previous guests had booked in for two nights but had left early and no-one had been to clean the room as yet. The room itself beyond the cleaning was very tired and was in much need of refurbishment. We accepted the reasons for not being clean but we could not justify paying all that money for a very small and shabby room. We did not stay as we felt we could find better accomodation for our £95. Disappointed :-(

Room tip: don't expect the same standards of rooms as on the internet guide
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Owner at East Ayton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

I'm so sorry you were disappointed. As I recall your booking came through on one of the booking sites and had been booked on the same day as your arrival date. Unfortunately we had a wedding and the better rooms in the hotel were occupied. Having only taken over the hotel some 5 weeks ago, I sympathise, as I am only too aware of the rooms that need attention.

I hope you will try us again sometime, when we will have made some improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews